We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don,t book half board!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Garni Obermair
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
bognor regis
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don,t book half board!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. We were in the annex room 9. Room overlooked the petrol station and at times was noisy. Showers were no problem, plenty of hot water after a short runnning.
Soap and shower gel provided. We had a problem with a broken bed, when we reported it, Frau obermair came up and replace all the slats and said she would come back the next day to fix it. Thos did not happen and next night the bed broke again. After her son tying it with string, she came up and apologised that she did not have an extra bed of the correct size and she fixed our bed with a luggage strap. The bed held but the mattresses are sadly in need of replacing.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful.
Location was fine for us.
The half board option at the Krammerwirt was terrible. No choice of menu, cheapest of the cheap food , charged €2.30 for water, no coffee or tea offered. It was quite apparent that we were second class citizens in their eyes. Buffet one night was spaghetti bolognese, carbonara, pizza, tiny pieces of beef, some fish which we could not identify.
The salad bar was poor, pizza hut has more choice! It was the same each night except for one ingredient being changed.
Their guests had cloth serviettes, we had cheap paper ones and were seated out of site of their guests.
Portion sizes of the set menu were only just adequate, certainly not generous. The krammerwirt should be ashamed!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank happychaput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    62
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
46
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel is nice enough, spacious if a little dated rooms although large modern TV you can hook up your laptop into (take an HDMI) and location on edge of town is still an easy walk to Penken Gondola. The free spa facilities are of an unexpected high standard at this price range and the swimming pool is great after a day snowboarding. The delicious hot buffet breakfast sets you up perfectly for a day in the mountains. Although no in-house dinner options there are various excellent nearby restaurants a short stroll away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorring
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Obermair on his first, and my second visit to Mayrhofen, and I have to say we were both pretty impressed with only one minor complaint. We stayed in a double room with a balcony (number 18). Hotel itself was very clean and service was excellent. We had to run both shower and tap water for at least 5 minutes, or longer in order to have warm water to wash. Otherwise it is a well run family hotel, (we asked for extra pillows and it was no problem). Would recommend to all travelers.

Room Tip: Choose main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I booked 14 of us in here recently and in fairness it was a really great spot. We really enjoyed the spa, pool & delicious breakfast. It is a well run family business and it is in a handy location to get the bus up the town. There is a bit of a discrepancy in room sizes and ours was a tiny bit tight but fine. If you go with the half board option then you will have to have dinner in a restaurant up the road. However it is of a very high standard so it's a minor thing, having to walk the 3/4 minutes. In summary it is a really lovely, reasonably priced hotel. Mayrhofen is such a fantastic location for skiing and snowboarding!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DTMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Obermair on our first visit to Mayrhofen and I have to say we were both pretty impressed with only a couple of minor complaints. We stayed in a double bedroom with private bathroom in the annexe.

Now the first thing to mention is that the annexe sits in between the hotel and a petrol station (which our room faced onto) which we found meant it was noisier of a morning and evening with passing traffic-its also pretty clear that whilst the rest of the hotel has been renovated in the recent past, the annexe hasn't just yet. As a result our room felt a bit outdated, especially the bathroom. Our shower took quite a while to heat up-over 20 minutes-which was pretty irritating. That said the room was nice and big, perfectly comfortable and spotlessly clean. We also had a large radiator for drying kit and keeping us warm through the night.

The hotel itself is very traditional, very clean, with a nice bright breakfast room and garden area with a swing and some seats for collapsing apres ski! There is also a drying room in the basement with lockers for your skis and kit-the numbers have rubbed off some of the lockers but its not really a problem and the rooms have huge radiators if you want to dry your gloves or rinse through your thermals. The hosts were wonderfully welcoming and helpful-always smiling. They also served up a delicious buffet breakfast every morning. With hot options including scrambled eggs, continental meats and cheeses, breads, spreads, cereal and fruit we were well set up for a day of action on the slopes.

I've seen a lot of complaints about this hotel being far from the main lifts, but it is only a 15 minute walk (even with our kit) and the ski bus stops right outside. I don't mind walking, plus it gives you a chance to ogle the shops and grab a drink or ice cream along the way. This hotel is not apres party central so maybe not suited to those planning for that. The plus side of it being far away is that whilst our room was a bit noisy, it was serene compared to those in the centre.

The swimming pool is small-not really big or deep enough for an adult to swim in properly but enough for aching muscles. This hotel is hiding an ace card-its spa! Free to use and tucked away next to the drying room is a newly refitted spa with an aromatherapy steam room, swedish sauna and herbal sauna, plus a solarium, rainfall and jet showers. Absolutely amazing after a hard day out-it felt like a proper treat!

Good things - a fairly quiet location, spacious rooms, tasty breakfast, friendly hosts and an amazing spa

Bad things - some rooms need renovation, temperamental showers and a small pool

For what we paid we were very happy with it, we met some great people and we would certainly be happy to go back there!

Room Tip: Possibly avoid the annexe until it is renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amyce24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My partner and I (both 26) came back form a week's stay at the Obermair Hotel last week on a Ski trip. We were both very impressed!!

Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Balcony was a nice touch too. Also very quiet in the evening and i was not woken up in the night. Hotel itself was very clean and the Spa area is excellent, which we used most days. Ski locker area is also ideal and they have automatic doors for the way out (nice touch).

We did B&B as wanted to explore the restuarants for the evening which I'll come onto later. Breakfast was a vast selection and fresh eggs made each day. My only critical comment would be that they could be more efficient at bringing out the fresh eggs and also one toaster is a pain. Nonethless we were always presented with enough food and variety to set us up for a hard day of skiing.

Dont be put off if you think this hotel is too far away from the Gondola. Its only a 7-10 minute walk and the highstreet is beautiful with a bus stop also right next to the hotel itself. They also have lockers for 15EUR (for the week) each at the bottom of the Gondola which we chose to use. This made the walk to the Penken much easier :)

Restaurants in Mayrhofen which you must try:
1) Wald Cafe
2) Steakhouse Tirol Cafe
3) Tiroler Stuben
4) Gasser - butchers by the Penken Gondola, great sandwiches for lunch and very cheap.

I would definitely stay here again and would reccomend to others.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fulton911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great location near the train station - important when carrying big luggage and sports equipment + when you want to go to Hintertux Glacier since the bus leaves from there.

Far enough from the party area - important when you want to get a good night's sleep and wake up at 6.30 to go skiing.

10 minutes walk to the Mayrhofen gondola station (but there's also a bus station in front of the hotel that takes you there so you don't have to walk).

Room big and smelled like a carpenter's shop (in a good cozy way), ski room with individual lockers with safe codes, nice breakfast.

Friendlier staff, adequate quantity of toiletries and free wifi would have earned them 5 stars. Would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pietricele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Kristall
Hotel Alpenhof Kristall
#20 of 38 in Mayrhofen
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zillertalerhof
Zillertalerhof
#17 of 38 in Mayrhofen
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Strolz
Hotel Pension Strolz
#19 of 38 in Mayrhofen
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#18 of 38 in Mayrhofen
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Obermair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Obermair

Property: Hotel Garni Obermair
Address: Am Marktplatz 214, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Obermair 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Obermair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obermair Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing