We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garni Obermair
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have read a lot of negative reviews for this place but I thought it was lovely. The hotel itself is beautiful, well decorated and maintained, and very typical of the area. The pool and spa area were fantastic and I spent a lot of time there as I had it pretty much to myself. It is definitely good, basic value, but if you want luxuries like bathrobes, room service, free toiletries and 5* dining then it is probably not for you. Breakfast was good and plentiful, but unimaginative. There were no evening meals available, but as there are many lovely restaurants within easy walking distance it wasn't a problem. It is just on the edge of town which was good as the views were amazing over the valley floor and the Alps. I wouldn't hesitate to go back there

Room Tip: I have heard that the rooms in the annex aren't very good, but I stayed in a room called "F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    59
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
43
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. The room was quite basic but suited our needs and we had a wonderful view from the balcony. I didn't sleep too well due to the pillows being full of air and nothing else!!
The room was cleaned every day which was a pleasant surprise as I thought they might have the Sunday off for church!
We used the indoor, heated pool - just my husband and I in it!
Breakfast was superb and all staff friendly and helpful.
The only disappointing part of the stay was a promise of breakfast for our early morning departure (6.10am) so we didn't bother buying food the night before for the transfer to the airport. However there was no breakfast bagged up for us or anyone around at that time in the morning. (Hence we were starving!)

Room Tip: Apparently the annexe isn't meant to be very nice but I don't know as I never went there. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in july good hotel for b&b as it does not do evening meals .
We were booked half board so had our evening meals in the kramerwirt hotel but put in a corner separately from the kramerwirt guest's the corner area is very hot and lighting is poor but the area for kramerwirt guests is fine also if you book the obermair and have your meals in kramerwirt you only have a choice of 2 meals the kramerwirt guest's have a choice of 3 course's
the meals we're lovely though and the staff were also
so to sum up if I ever went back half bostd I would make sure all my meals were in same hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiser5_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Mayrhofen. It is a truly beautiful place with a huge amount to see and do in the town and surrounding area. Do buy a Zillertal card as it saves you money if you want to use the gondolas, local trains or buses and the public swimming pools. We paid 110 euros for 2 adults and our 15 year old son was free and the pass was valid for 6 days.

The Obermair is at the right end of town for buses and trains but the wrong end for the gondolas. Not a problem for us walking but maybe not so good in the winter for skiing. The swimming pool and spa area is excellent, new and very clean. Our room was in the annexe, just beside the main hotel. Unfortunately we were in room 1... A decent sized room with good basic facilities but overlooking the garage. The view wasn't an issue but there is a small hut just outside the window which has a coffee machine that the locals use from 7.30am onward. The loud voices are not restful! We also heard someone using the car wash at 3.45am! I understand that the main hotel is much better and quieter as it is away from the garage. We didn't complain as our son had a room on the same floor and did not want to be separated from us.

As others have mentioned, the breakfasts are very good with a wide choice of food. However, you do need to be there quite early for the best choice. Service is from 7-10am but a lot of bread, cold meats, cheese and fruit have gone by 9am and don't get replenished. You won't starve but you won't have much choice either. The dining room itself is very traditional and very pleasant.

We opted for half board at the Krammerwirt as we didn't know the area and what restaurants were available. The staff at the Krammerwirt are pleasant but you are made aware that you are not one of THEIR guests. We ordered salmon off the menu one night, only to be told that we had been given the wrong menu and as we weren't THEIR guests we couldn't have it! My son and I ended up with salad as we didn't want the meat dish or a very creamy cheese dish, the only main course options. Obermair guests are also put in a dark corner away from the other guests. I didn't mind this as I like a more intimate setting for dinner but I can understand why some people would object.
You do not get the same choice as the Krammerwirt guests but equally they could be paying a much higher price. The food is fresh and there is a choice of a meat dish or vegetarian dish each night. There is no choice of soup or desert. On two evenings there was a buffet and everyone could help themselves. The choice was huge. The salad bar is extensive and very good and there is unlimited fresh bread. Water is freely available and you buy all other drinks. We were never offered coffee after the meal which was fine as we preferred to go out.

There are a wide range of bars, restaurants and shops in the town....and the ice cream and frozen yoghurt is very good indeed. 1euro buys you a big scoop which is very good value but some other food and drink is more expensive. We were lucky to be there when the town had its music festival...what a night! Brilliant. The locals love their music and love to party but without getting excessively drunk or needing to fight, as per certain sections of the UK populace. If you get a chance, do listen to Zillertaler-Mander. They are so energetic, compliment each other so well and play and sing flawlessly. They can also work the crowd to a dancing and singing frenzy. We loved every minute although understood very little of the lyrics!

We would love to go back and rent an apartment as there are some lovely ones in the town but we can't get flight only. The tour companies have the market to themselves and want to sell package holidays and not flights. Shame.

Room Tip: Try to have a room on the side facing away from the garage or in the main hotel. Don't know how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JCACNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from our third two week stay at the Obermair, Everything was brilliant again and Frau Obermair made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the annex and definitely again recommend rooms with a balcony. The rooms were kept very clean and the sheets changed every couple of days and towels changed everyday.The choice of food at breakfast was amazing from fresh fruit, yoghurt, cooked breakfast, cereals hams,cheeses, rolls and as much tea and coffee as you can drink. The sauna, steam room and swimming pool are excellant ways of relaxing after a day walking in the mountains.

We again had our evening meal at the Krammerwirt where again we were looked after very well by Christian, Tina and Verena and in three years we have always had excellant meals.

If you want a lovely excellant value for money holiday book now.

Room Tip: Always book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

2nd visit to the hotel. As previously the staff and family were very accomodating, in particular the hosts wife never stops and nothing is to small to be done. The towels are changed every day and if you use the sauna/steam room with showers on the ground floor use should find extra towels there. The sauna/steam room is put on by request allow about a half hour to warm up, but well worth it. The breakfast as before was excellent with lots of choices of both meats and cheeses. At least 3 fresh fruits a day, variety of breads/rolls/croissants, jams, pates and cereals along with cooked eggs and cooked ham/frankfurters. Think of taking up the half board option at the hotel Kramerwirt. Rooms are small, but I am told this is the norm for the area, we found them as before okay in the annexe and had a balcony. Definitely recommend, located 5 mins from the station for all busses and train in the valley.

Room Tip: Room 6, 8 in the annex for double/twin rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincoln_PETE7904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire,England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked this hotel for our last holiday before our baby is born. As a result we spent a lot of time looking at reviews online and decided to spend more than we usually do as we were expecting to need to use the room during the day a little more than usual. The reviews definitely seem to oversell this hotel, although we did meet many very loyal clients who return time and time again and were singing the praises for this place. Interestingly these were people who had not stayed elsewhere in the town.

This was the 5th time we were to stay in Mayrhofen and have never had a bad experience before this. As we mentioned, we had decided to spend more money this time and the accommodation did not even match any of the places we had stayed at almost half the cost. We booked through Crystal and had emailed them to explain that I was 6 months pregnant so would like to request that this was thought of for room allocation. We selected (and paid for) a room in the Annexe with a balcony. What we got was a room on the top floor - 3 flights of stairs with loose mats just waiting to be a trip hazard, the stairs were incredibly creaky and there is no lift. The room itself was tiny with a wardrobe and bed. There was about 12-18inches walkway around the bed. There was nowhere to put our luggage once unpacked either. The windows required me to stand on tip toe to see out of. The balcony was accessed via the ensuite (very tired and dated but clean) which had a slightly frosted full length window panel in it. The balcony was not large enough to do anything but stand and looked directly onto a wall. It was incredibly claustrophobic. The ensuite had a bath with a shower hose over it, but could not be used as a shower properly as the sloping ceiling was too low. Despite all these things that were wrong, the largest problem was how cold the room was. Getting no direct light it was freezing! This was something echoed by other guests in the Annexe too.

Fortunately we were able to pay an upgrade fee for a room in the main building, at a cost of 14euros per night. This was much larger, much warmer and had a slightly better balcony, albeit overlooking the petrol station. The room itself was very tired with threadbare carpets and seats and a tired bathroom. Again the shower was over the bath but this time it was possible to use it as a shower. There were a couple of maintenance issues (a blown light bulb and a broken mirror unit above the sink), but we were just relieved to be in a different room. The main building had a lift which was very welcome too.

The swimming pool was small but perfectly adequate. The gardens on the website look much bigger than they are and they are shared with many cars from residents (they park on the grass) so it was not the quiet area we were hoping for.

Despite the problems with the rooms, there were some good points to this hotel. The breakfast really is very good for such an establishment with plenty of choice of fresh fruit, cereal, hams, cheeses, bread and croissants. The coffee was lovely and strong too and the two ladies overseeing the buffet were really lovely. The location could give concern about noise but we found it to be a lovely quiet spot at the bottom end of town. The staff were polite and helpful.

When we were checking out we saw other people confused and upset by the accommodation level. One elderly gentleman was not going to manage the stairs in the Annexe at all. I do not believe this to be a problem of the Obermair but more likely the poor advertising of the Crystal, Thompson and Inghams groups.

We stayed half board on the recommendation of the reviews on our research. We were extremely disappointed. Dinner was taken in the Hotel Krammerwirt where we were made to feel very second-class citizens. Dinner is taken in a beautifully large and airy room banked with windows....unless you are an Obermair resident. We were all placed in a little area off the main room that was windowless, dark and felt like a cave. It was so dark that the waitresses needed torches to give us change when we settled our drinks bills. What was even worse was that we had booked our entire holiday as a couple and did not travel with anyone else. However, we were made to sit on a table with another couple for the duration of our stay. This was not what we expected and did not give us the time together that we were looking forward to. Please don't misunderstand me, the other couple were really lovely and we got on very well, but that was not what we had paid for. The food itself was not very good at all. Just outside the dining area is a noticeboard detailing the 2 soups for starters, 3 main courses and the desert. Again this was not applicable to us....we were given 1 soup choice (take it or leave it), 2 main courses (never with the 1 that you wanted to eat) and the same desert. Particularly frustrating when watching large numbers of organised parties (American orchestra, American teenage choir, Japanese tour group) swanning in for dinner making a LOT of noise and then having to listen to their group organiser clapping their hands to give them the itinerary for later that evening and the following day. It felt like we were not even good enough to be on the same scale as the canteen environment. In all we would definitely recommend going B&B and not half board at all. The food was not good.

Room Tip: Avoid the Annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose
Rose
#11 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#7 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pramstraller
Pramstraller
#13 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berghof
Berghof
#12 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Obermair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Obermair

Property: Hotel Garni Obermair
Address: Am Marktplatz 214, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Obermair 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Garni Obermair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obermair Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing