We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Go There.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpin Hotel Garni Eder
Ranked #1 of 93 Mayrhofen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Go There.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been visitors to Mayrhofen twice before, staying once at the Elizabeth and once at Mannis Sport Hotel as part of a package holiday. We wanted to return as the previous visits had left us wanting to do so much more in terms of walking. It is a lovely town and the possibilities are endless. We wished for a bit more freedom this time from the routine of a package holiday so hired a car from Munich and looked for a B&B on the internet. The reviews said this hotel was number one so on the basis that so many people can't be wrong we booked a week at the Garni Eder. What can I say that hasn't been said already? You check in as a customer and by the time you leave you are waving goodbye to friends. Christine and Markus are so helpful, cheerful and friendly. You look forward to the lovely breakfast each morning and what they have to say. The Rooms are spotless and the atmosphere is homely. I could go on and on but the message is simple, if you don't stay there you will be staying somewhere else. Thank you once again Christine, Markus and Gretl.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
76
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister-in-law and I have just returned from a fantastic week's skiing here.

We loved Christine and Markus! They are wonderful hosts, such a bright and cheerful start to the day and extremely helpful.

The hotel is clean, modern and beautifully decorated. The rooms are a comfortable size, with a good sized bed with two single duvets, an ensuite bathroom with shower cubicle, a balcony and a flat screen tv. There is also wifi available.
Breakfast is a very good selection of cereal, hams, cheese, breads, cake, yoghurt, fruit, and delicious scrambled eggs or a soft boiled egg if requested. We loved the surprise item on our plates every morning!
There is a machine that you can get coffee and hot chocolate from after breakfast is finished for €1.

The Eder is in a lovely quiet location, beside the forest and it is only a 5 minute walk to the main street.
There is a ski/boot storage area, but after the first 2 days of lugging skis in ski boots up to the hotel, we chose to reserve our feeble energy and took the Crystal ski/boot storage offer of €15 for a week, right beside the Penkenbahn.

A fun, warm and super friendly experience, would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radishmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here the last week of February. Arguably one of the best places I have ever stayed at. Don't get me wrong,,, I have stayed at 4*-5* star hotels around the world but there is something special about this hotel.

At Eder you don't just get beautiful accommodation, you get a family too!! The owners, Marcus & Christina make this place so special! Their attitude to work and life as a whole has been so inspirational to us.

They would do anything to help! Wife & I got too carried away apres skiing one night that we ended up missing the last bus back to Mayrhofen. Christina had told us to call her with any problems. With some hesitation we called Christina ... no problem whatsoever.. she just asked us to wait outside the bar and Marcus was there in 15 minutes to pick us up. He was so cool about it that we didn't even feel guilty! It was their "little extra", as Marcus put it.

M & C are so nice you look forward to the morning to see them. The breakfasts are beautiful and the breakfast room and the tables are always so nicely decorated making the place so welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and our breakfast chats with Marcus & Christina. They can give you lots of tips about different things to do and places to go.

On the last day we had a few hours to kill and Marcus recommended we walked to the local cheese factory (about a 30min beautiful walk) to see how different cheeses are made and enjoy a local delicacy (Apparently Christina's most favourite snack). Of course we obeyed and we had such a lovely time.

The hotel is in a lovely place just 5 minutes walk from the centre and the lifts. Having previously stayed right in the centre, in Chamonix, having to cope with the noise of the bars till 3-4 AM I had sworn not to ever stay right in the centre again, so this place was a lovely solution. We didn't go for the Crystal ski lockers as the 5 min walk in the ski boots was not a problem to us plus the ski room at the hotel was so comfortable and had boots heaters making the boots perfectly dry and ready for your next day.

There is of course a big downside to the whole experience and that is that at the end of your holiday YOU DON'T WANT TO LEAVE THIS PLACE!!!

And of course you can't justly finish the review on Eder without mentioning Marcus's mum and the other also very friendly staff at the hotel.

Thanks to all at Eder for making our holiday so special. Can't wait to visit you again soon,,, hopefully in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soli6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have to agree with all the other reviews. If you want a nice, family run B&B, just off the beaten track, then I would recommend here. Christina and Markus certainly know how to make you feel welcome and at home. From good breakfasts to booking restuarants at night, nothing was too much trouble.
If you are skiing, we left our gear at the bottom of the Penken Gondola. Probably a good idea as the Eder is a (slight) uphill walk - didn't fancy the walk in ski boots.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteWEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have just returned from a week skiing and stayed for the first time in a pension, we were made so welcome as if they had known us for years, Marcus and Christina really go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished, very clean and if you dont want formal dining which you get with 4/5 star hotels, this is perfect and we will not be wasting any more money on 4/5 star hotels. Breakfast is excellent, Christina makes good scrambled egg to order. Nice and quiet but not too far from the lift. Well worth storing skiis at the Crystal office. Thanks again Marcus & Christina, see you again in December.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y2lmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wonderful little hotel,with wonderful hospitality.Christina and Markus and Grandmother Eder could not do enough for our family to make our ski hols in Mayrhofen as perfect as it could be.The rooms were spacious cleaned every day with fresh towels,lots of hot water,comfortable beds and fab breakfasts.Christina recommended places to eat which were just off the main street good food and reasonably priced.Nothing at all was a bother to them,we had to call them one evening and they were round within 20 minutes to help fix the problem,eager and willing with smiling faces.We left our skis and boots down by the lift in the crystal office, although Christina and Markus have a good boot room at the hotel,we felt the 5 minute walk at the end of a tired day with boots/skis on was made simple,get off the lift walk 100 yards and at 15 euros/week/per person was worth it.Thank you Christine and Markus

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowbuds1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We will keep this review short as everything said by the other reviews is true. The hotel is stunning, rooms are well appointed spacious and spotlessly clean. We had room one . Although the hotel is beautiful what makes this place so special are the hosts Christina & Marcus. Nothing is to much trouble, they recommended a place to eat and then gave us a lift, in the morning there is home baked bread and a different little treat to Start breakfast every day. We did not want to leave it felt so much like home. Do not hesitate to book this place it's fabulous.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbriancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gutshof Zillertal
Gutshof Zillertal
#10 of 38 in Mayrhofen
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel Manni
Sporthotel Manni
#16 of 38 in Mayrhofen
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Hotel Garni Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Hotel Garni Eder

Property: Alpin Hotel Garni Eder
Address: Zillergrundweg 572 | 6290 Mayrhofen, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpin Hotel Garni Eder 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpin Hotel Garni Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing