We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Tirol

Chalet Tirol
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Tirol
Ranked #36 of 90 Mayrhofen B&B and Inns
Leatherhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great holiday for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I read some negative comments about this place before travelling and was pleased to find that most of them were nonsense!

For the money this is a great value Chalet, good food, great staff (big thanks Natalie, Seb & George), very comfortable, ideal central location for bars and lift etc. etc.

Mayrhofen is a party town and some of the guests complained of 6 noisy lads who stayed at the chalet. You know the sort - out drinking every night, coming in very late that sort of thing. I've got to be honest, neither I or my five travelling companions even saw them!

Would recommend this place whole heartedly.

Room Tip: Room 3. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALMRICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Thanks to "george,zeb,and natalie".( the chalet staff)....We the party people ..... out of 20+ years of snowboarding, we entered the perfect utopia.... staff very good, and friendly, massive ski/board area .Good transport,if you needed it .(bus and train). "Chalet tirol" perfect location.very clean ,good food... WHAT MORE DO YOU NEED.....Sorry did i not mention the "apres ski"...every night "totally on it".... Everything from cheesey austrian pop....( you can't help letting yourself go!!!!!!) .To hardcore banging tune'ssss.There were eight in our group aged between 22-54.(only six stayed at the chalet) .and i speak for everyone - totally awesome..... this is going to be very hard to beat next year!!!!!! thanks again Gary (LMFAO),mike(tombstone) scott,(inflatable break-back cowboy) dan,(the monkey) al and rob (mario and luiggi)..... SPONSORED BY JAGERMEISTER......the only downside we were meant to have a ""CRYSTAL REP""... BUT NEVER EVER SAW THEM AT ALL. (I'm sure they did excist.... but who needs them anyway...)

Room Tip: We only stayed in rooms 3 ,4, and 5 apart from "rob "(that strayed into room 2 .."you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrgmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

just got back from chalet tirol. brilliant week. Natalie, seb and George were amazing. cooked cracking food, helped out when ever needed. they were really friendly and a great laugh. catered for all guests. just down to earth people who make you feel very welcome. the chalet was top notch! coffee and tea on tap! rooms were good enough. obviously a budget chalet but hard to tell at times! perfect location. bars and shops on your front door. gondola 2 minute walk. just don't go to mayrhofen if your wanting a peaceful enviroment because its youth friendly! mad nightlife with quality skiing. cheers for a cracking week Natalie seb and George! forever missing your afternoon cakes! hope your watering our roses ;) x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyguts125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an excellent chalet for those on a budget wanting clean, basic accommodation and good food. We stayed 22nd to 29th Dec 2012 and were superbly looked after by Natalie, Seb and George. This chalet is highly recommended if the couple of minor points don't concern you (none of these are about the staff who, as already mentioned were excellent)
Cons:
This is quite a noisy chalet especially for those rooms near the front which get street noise but the floors on the second floor are very creaky. Basically if you are a light sleeper other guests are quite likely to wake you up. There is also the noise from the bar on the ground floor- crockery, cutlery, glasses etc being stacked and sorted which just echoes up the stairs.
The "twin" beds are Austrian twins so not ideal if you're away with friends.
The rooms on the second floor were also cold at times, the radiators never got above barely-warm.
The pillows are absolutely rubbish and there were no extras/spares.

Pros (these are far more important to me):
The food was excellent including a top notch Christmas dinner. Really, really good.
The staff were polite, attentive, friendly and made everyone feel very welcome. We really couldn't have asked for more - full marks
Location is brilliant, right on the main street less than five minutes walk to the Penkenbahn and central to everything else.
Bathroom (room 10) was new, there was always hot water and the shower great- makes a difference after a day on the slopes. This is the separate bathroom but it wasn't an issue for me.
The chalet offers all the facilities you want simply and without any fuss at a (relatively) budget price.

I'd definitely stay here again, I'd possibly bring my own pillow :-)

Room Tip: Room 10 has the separate bathroom Front rooms do get street noise (rooms 9 and 10 on second floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed in the chalet in September 2012 with my partner.
With an ideal location and great staff the stay was very pleasant. Although the rooms are basic, lets face it, how much are you actually going to be inside? If for some unexplained reason you get lost in the alps and turn up 90 orso minutes late for dinner, the girls will have kept it aside for when you get back, which is more than I can say for the majority of hotels.

I would recommend renting bikes for the day and cycling down the valley. In each town stop and play a game of mini golf, perfect for building a tan and letting out some of that competitive energy!

Overall the holiday was great and I would definitely go back, which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We ( My wife, Daughter/ Son-in-Law and Family ) had a very enjoyable stay at this Family run Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, which made our holiday even better than expected. We can recommend Chalet Tirol, Mayrhofen to anyone.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MackemDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the chalet Haus Tirol for 1 week from the 22nd August 2012. Unfortunately we were given on arrival room 8 which was one of the 3 rooms not yet to be refurbished. On entering the room late in the evening we were confronted with a filthy carpet covered in black stains, it was beyond cleaning, it just needed ripping up and replaced. The bathroom was also grotty with lots of black mold around the shower cubicle. Steph - chalet manager appeared to try her best with the budget she was obviously given to prepare food for all of the guests however this was very average and the portions very small. We did ask if we could be moved from the room, however the chalet was fully booked so we had to just wear flip flops for the duration. The resort itself was great and the range of accommodation looked vast, so my advise would be to look for alternative accommodation, but would definitely recommend the resort to keen walkers and activity pursuers, this made up for the disappointment of the room thank goodness!!!

Room Tip: Avoid room numbers 6 7 and 8 - all have not been re furbished ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Strolz
Hotel Pension Strolz
#20 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gutshof Zillertal
Gutshof Zillertal
#10 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#6 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tirol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tirol

Property: Chalet Tirol
Address: Mayrhofen, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Mayrhofen
Also Known As:
Chalet Tirol Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing