We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot in town for comfort and entertainment”
Review of Sporthotel Strass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sporthotel Strass
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Four of us stayed in a suite for 3 days , Apart from being at the centre of everything from Lifts to entertainment,the staff were really helpfull and helped us with heaps if info about what to do and where to go.
Great breakfast and spa area, rooms clean and well looked after.
We are all looking forward to a return trip next season

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 830 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here in August 09. Had a lovely stay. Very comfortable rooms. Very good facilities and restaurant. A very good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank issybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was sold this hotel as a 4 star but while the hotel itself and the staff are of that standard, the rooms are very basic.

The hotel is great with a nice bar, lobby, lounge, spa and etc. Brilliant. But the Wi fi only worked in the lobby and was hard to get on to. In the bedrooms there was no access at all which was a very important thing for me.

So yes I would stay again but you should know these things about it. it is right in the middle of the main street and next to the ski lift which was very convenient.

Room Tip: In the main hotel not the ones further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rober11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariaantonette, Manager at Sporthotel Strass, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for selecting Mayrhofen and FUN & SPA HOTEL STRASS for your winter destination and holiday. Thank you also for your recommendation, kind words and praise of “ a nice bar, Lobby, Lounge, Spa and etc”, “middle of the main street and next to the ski lift which was very convenient”.
So sorry you did not successfully achieve Wi fi in your room. On the week of your visit the hotel’s system was under immense pressure from a large international press contingency – SNOWBOMBING WINTER FESTIVAL.

We would also very much like to bring to your attention, it has been the visionary proprietor of the FUN & SPA HOTEL STRASS that initially welcomed SNOWBOMBING winter festival in its infancy to Mayrhofen striving continuously with selfless sheer dedication and support for today’s hugely successful festival it has become – for YOU to enjoy.

The hotel/resort located centrally on the main street directly next to the village gondola caters daily for more than 1000 visiting guests, in guestrooms, dining rooms, spa/wellness area, live entertainment bars and disco. These facilities are promoted and offered on the website, brochures and all tour operator brochures – all clearly indicating a lively and fun hotel.
As a family managed hotel, we enjoy almost full capacity (very rare for any hotel) with continued requests from international tour-operators and private clients for further room allocations. Many, many returning guests, often three generation families holidaying together where each generation is accordingly catered for.

We endeavour to offer, meet and fulfill all our clients comforts and wishes.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again to Mayrhofen and FUN & SPA HOTEL STRASS and promise Wi fi in your room.
Family Roscher, Fun & Spa Hotel Strass

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Where to start with how bad this hotel .........., the fun police at the breakfast room perhaps?! or the everso not charming reception staff?!

Just one person manning the reception desk at all times, at peak season! all staff at this hotel were completely rude and went out of their way to be unhelpful wherever possible.

The only good thing to say about this hotel is the location but thats it.......dont bother going, there are other much better hotels or just get one of the apartments on the other side of the cable car station!

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rosie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariaantonette, Manager at Sporthotel Strass, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

We are not entirely convinced that this person was our guest at FUN & SPA HOTEL STRASS as we do not recognize or understand the Hotel description.

24 hour hotel Reception, manned by 4 – 7 professional, bilingual and much praised receptionists. Departmental heads and hotel manager in attendance daily. None received a complaint from anyone of any kind when here in Mayrhofen.

Lavish breakfast buffet is served daily where the guest is invited to enjoy as much food and for as long as they wish between 7 and 10am. WE DO NOT EMPLOY POLICE (fun or otherwise) on our premises. Sadly sometimes NON hotel guests some of which staying at quote “one of the apartments on the other side of the cable car station”, attempt to Breakfast or remove food from the dining room where they are reminded it is not allowed.

The Hotel/Resort located centrally on the main street directly next to the village gondola caters daily for more than 1000 visiting guests, in guestrooms, dining rooms, spa/wellness area, live entertainment bars and disco. These facilities are promoted and offered on the website, brochures and all tour operator brochures – all clearly indicating a lively and fun hotel.
Still a family managed hotel, we pride ourselves in sharing with you the hotel enjoys almost 12 months full capacity (very rare for any hotel) with continued requests from international tour-operators and private clients for further room allocations. We are also recipients of many BEST HOTEL AWARDS. You do not have to take our word for these facts and figures, please feel free to verify them with any British or international tour operators of your choice.

We would very much like to bring to hotel and non hotel guest’s attention, it has been the visionary proprietor of the FUN & SPA HOTEL STRASS that initially welcomed SNOWBOMBING winter festival in its infancy to Mayrhofen striving continuously with selfless sheer dedication and support for today’s hugely successful festival it has become.
Family Roscher, Fun & Spa Hotel Strass

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Had a fabulous break at the Sporthotel Strass with my son. Really enjoyed the food, location and general ambience of the hotel. I didn't manage to use the Wellness area but had a quick look and heard some good comments. All in all can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try and get a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed at the 4* Strass with my boyfriend at the beginning of March and we were shocked and disappointed by this hotel. How they can call it a 4* hotel is beyond comprehension. We are lucky to have travelled quite extensively and I have to say this is the worst example of a 4* hotel I have ever seen. I very much doubt there is much difference between the 4* and 3* sections of the hotel.

Check in was a complete shambles, the small reception area was overrun with fellow arrivals and it took at least 30 minutes. Waiting at the lift to go up to our room we were met by music as loud as a nightclub (The Ice Bar) and both said "hope we can't hear that in our room". 2 minutes later we were in our room and it felt like we were in the middle of The Ice Bar, out on our balcony we looked down to see the glass of roof of the The Ice Bar and knew we had to complain straight away. Unfortunately for us the man on reception didn't seem bothered and said the hotel was full. Our first night we hardly had any sleep, despite The Ice Bar closing at 10pm the hotel is on the main street and there were people screaming drunk until at least 3am.

Our room was a good size with a seating area but the decor is extremely tired: the carpet is wearing away and the bathroom could definitely do with a facelift. The furnishings appeared very cheap.

Breakfasts were good with the usual hot choices, breads, cereals etc. Dinner not so good. You could tell the chefs were trying to create mouth-watering dishes but unfortunately these fell well below the mark. There are 5 courses in total: salad buffet, starter, soup, main and dessert but we tended to skip a few courses each evening. You are given a choice of 3 main courses the night before (1 vegetarian option) which you are asked to choose from. The food was often luke warm. The restaurant is shared by those staying in the 3* section of the hotel and those in the 4*, so no distinction there between the food served to those paying for a supposedly better hotel. Melinda and her team though were very helpful and made our less than perfect stay more enjoyable.

On the third day we again went to reception to complain about the room - The Ice Bar is open from 3/4pm so when you get back after a hard day skiing it would be nice to relax but this wasn't possible. Luckily on this occasion there was a very helpful lady working and she showed us to the last available room in the hotel - half the size of our allocated room but at least we couldn't hear The Ice Bar. We slept much better after this, albeit still with ear plugs.

Apparently there is a lovely spa but we didn't use this as being British and prudish, we didn't fancy getting naked with a bunch of people we didn't know.

The ski room is a mess, they need new racks as most mornings you would come down to find skis all over the floor. I don't know why they make you pay for a locker, most hotels have a locker for each room that easily fits 2 pairs of skis and there is definitely room them to install these.

The common areas of the hotel aren't nice at all: the bar has a big screen TV which generally has sport on so you get big groups of guys milling around drinking beer and watching football.

The only plus point to the Strass is the proximity to the Penken gondola but if we were to stay in Mayrhofen again (unlikely) we would definitely stay in a hotel nearer the Ahorn lift and walk the 5 minutes to the Penken.

If you're used to quality and looking for a peaceful getaway, The Strass and Mayrhofen are not for you (as we found out to our detriment).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, nowhere near The Ice Bar. Or just don't stay here, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamarietay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here for a week beginning of Feb, family of 5 plus 1 friend, ages 17- 47, Had a great stay here, Locataion was fab right next to the ski lift, Food was really good Buffet b/fast with hot and cold options same every day but couldnt want any more, dinner was a 4 course set menu which was all very nice but if you didnt want that our waiter got us steak and chips or spag bol and they always had ice cream if you didnt fancy the desert, dont know our waiters name but he was the best , looked after us well. We had the suites in the Garni strass which were Big and warm and the beds very comfy. Hotel right in town so lots of bars near by, bars in hotel very good relaxing bar and music bars, We used the pool which was ok but didnt use the spa as it was nude, but did have a very nice massage on the last Day worth every penny.skiing was good here im a blue run easy red skier, while the rest of the group are much better and enjoy the harder reds ( Two were Boarders). The restaurant was cold the first two nights and everyone was putting there coats back on dont know if there was a problem but was fine the rest of the week. only moan is a really small one had an early morning flight out so was waiting to be picked up before breakfast was open, hotel layed on some b/fast of breads jams ect which was great but all we wanted was a drink at that time of morning and there was tea and coffee which was fine for me and husband but the boys dont drink it and just wanted an orange/apple juice but there wasnt any and told they couldnt get any so had to settle for milk, so if you read this at the Strass some juice please. Anyway a great holiday and we will defo go back and stay here in the future, but off to Val d Isere next Feb lets hope its as good. Thanks hotel strass and our Brill waiter and the poor maid that cleaned the boys room every Day omg you was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentCandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Manni
Sporthotel Manni
#16 of 38 in Mayrhofen
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edenlehen
Hotel Edenlehen
#5 of 38 in Mayrhofen
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#8 of 38 in Mayrhofen
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Strass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Strass

Address: Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mayrhofen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
#1 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range: $147 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Strass 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sporthotel Strass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Strass Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing