We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient”

Hotel Garni Pramstraller
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mayrhofen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Pramstraller
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed here for 1 weeks skiing from 13th March 2010. Our room was large, with nice table area, big balcony and good views. It was basic but clean and comfortable. The room keys are left in reception each day but this is pretty common in Austria and there was a secure access coded door.
The breakfast was also typical Austrian fare, I don't know what some people expect. There was an excellent selection of breads and the standard meat, cheese and cereal, only thing missing was the boiled eggs!
We took the half board option offered by Crystal and enjoyed really good Austrian 4 course meals in the Hotel Neuhaus each night which is a 2 minute walk. I would highly recommend taking this option there is a choice of main meal each night and the menu is very varied.
The location of Garni Pramstraller is great it was very quiet but close to everything. The Penken Gondola is 5-10 minute walk you can get free ski bus outside but we didn't bother as the walk is pleasant.
For a skiing holiday where you will
not be spending much time in the room and requiring extensive facilities I would definitely recommend the Garni Pramstraller.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 43 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

I would agree with the other reviews. Its a basic hotel centrally located. The breakfast is fairly poor but is typical of the country and this standard of hotel. The rooms seemed to be cleaned and towels changed on a daily basis. I'd recommend leaving your skis at a ski depot near the gondola, well worth the 15 Euros to not have to cart the skis up the hill to the lift.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday_boy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed here for one week. It is about a ten minute walk to the Gondola. Quiet location at night. No bar facilities. Breakfast was poor served 7-9a.m but the staff were friendly. Cleaners were fantastic, up bright and early. Towels changed twice/week. Bring your own toiletries nothing supplied. There is noone at reception from 18.00-06.00 so if there is a problem you are a bit stuck. Also we brought our keys with us daily as the area to leave your keys in reception is easy accessible this meant anyone could have access to your room key. The storage area for the ski/boards was also a bit unsecure. Probably best due to the location to leave your gear in the gondola lockers. Rooms were very clean, great shower for the aching muscles, nice airy room. We had a lovely view of the mountains from our balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Stayed here for 1 weeks ski-ing holiday and enjoyed it. Key points:

*Quite a mixed bunch of people staying at the hotel, ranging from groups of lads, families, couples.

*Breakfast very simple - meats, cheese, breads, tea/coffee/juice - all cold but all nice enough for a weeks stay.

*Rooms cleaned every day, towels replaced 2-3times a week. Rooms were furnished in a traditional style but looked reasonably modern.

* Located around 5mins from the penken it was no trouble getting to the slopes each day.

The best element of the holiday was the lady maintaining the breakfast who very friendly, and helpful in entertaining my 18month old nephew who stayed with us. She even let us have use of the breakfast room to let him nap after checkout when our coach didn't arrive until the afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

guesthaus pramstraller is a reasonable no frills hotel. the breakfast is very basic- cereals, toast, ham , cheese coffee. the rooms are clean but cramped for 4 people. the tv area is the entrance hall.
the staff were a bit painfull on check in as they blocked the lift with laundry and were laughing at us carrying the cases up 3 flights of stairs. no coincidence when they tried to block the lift again on the morning of departure.
the half price option is ok( taken at hotel across square) but it is a fixed menu (not same as main hotel guests) which gets a bit boring.
its location is quiet and 50 yards from ski bus stop. as a ski resort this goes on well into april with all lifts and pistes open.
security issues mentioned in other reviews sorted by coded entry system.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Despite poor security - no supervision of entrance (though opened after dark by code) and keys on easily accessed hooks around corner of reception - this is a clean, comfortable, reasonably quiet place. There is plenty available for breakfast - cereals, various breads, cold meats, cheese slices,butter, jams etc, coffee, tea and juice but no hot food, eggs or fruit.

Staff were pleasant and helpful though owner Georg not often seen because he owns and runs the ground floor shop. He was however extremely helpful and immediately dropped everything to run an injured member of our party 2km to the clinic in his car. The day of our departure (at 6.20 am) all usual breakfast options with staff member were available from 5.30 am at the latest.

Our half board option across the road at Hotel Kramerwirt provided excellent food (soup - choice of main course either meat or veggie, help yourself to various breads, butter and salad bar - dessert) and even the two large young men in our party of 6 were well satisfied.

Overall there were no hitches in our stay and I would happily stay there again.

Stayed: January 2009
3  Thank Old_HandDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Kaufhaus Pramstraller is a good basic hotel, centrally located with easy access to ski buses and nightlife. However, our stay was marred by three separate incidences of theft of items from three different rooms in our group during the week (phone, cash, ipod, psp and cameras). The manager Georg was not helpful in the slightest and more worryingly did not seem surprised by these incidents. The easy access through the front door, lack of anyone at the front desk, lack of cctv, basic key system and lack of safes is a real issue. Make sure you take all valuables outside the room with you if you do have to stay. Note, Kaufhaus Pramstraller, also known as Hotel Garni Pramstraller, is not the same hotel as "Hotel Pramstraller" (a larger hotel elsewhere in Mayrhofen).

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RWVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Pramstraller
Pramstraller
#11 of 38 in Mayrhofen
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Obermair
Hotel Garni Obermair
#23 of 38 in Mayrhofen
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maria Theresia
Hotel Maria Theresia
#35 of 38 in Mayrhofen
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Pramstraller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Pramstraller

Address: Hauptstrasse 404, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range: $73 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Pramstraller 3*
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing