We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great choice in Mayrhofen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great choice in Mayrhofen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I spent 9 nights at Garni Glockenstuhl in January, 2014.
We are very glad we decided to stay at this place because on top of a nice but quiet location close both to the railway station and ski lifts, great breakfasts, amazing sauna on the ground floor, we received such a welcoming and warm attitude by the hosts that you will very rarely get at a hotel.
The only reason we don't give it 5 stars is because the view out of our room was largely obstructed by construction works of a new hotel. We booked the room before the construction started, when the view was very nice, and were quite disappointed on arrival.
At the same time, we understand that Garni can do nothing about it and we think that even despite this fact, it is definitely one of the best options in Mayrhofen.
Regards,
Anton

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view not obstructed by construction works
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
63
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl between 19th – 23rd December 2013. We loved our stay at this charming hotel, the hosts were fantastic and went out of their way to make our stay extremely comfortable. Our room was fantastic, extremely clean and very comfortable. The hotel spa was absolutely lovely, it completely exceeded our expectations, it was immaculately clean, and looked brand new and provided 2 saunas, a steam room, rainfall showers, a relaxation room…it was exactly what we needed after a long day skiing. The breakfast was equally great, providing a delicious buffet of cereals and cold meats with freshly cooked eggs and bacon available everyday.

The hotel is in a really central, but quiet location just off the main street in Mayrhofen, and no more than a 10 minute walk to the Penkenbahn ski lift in the centre of Mayrhofen.

If we return to Mayrhofen again we will definitely stay here, it is everything you would want in a traditional Austrian hotel, we really don’t have anything to fault it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Best service I have ever experienced - and I've been around. It all starts with a shot of schnapps and a very warm welcome from one of the owners. It is not very often that you would find a hotel where breakfast is served to you every day by the owners. We were treated like family and felt that the owners had no qualms about answering our silly questions and providing objective advice.

Our room was big and airy with access to a shared balcony. It also had a great bath/toilet which appeared to be recently refurbished.

The hotel's spa facilities are second to none. I think they have every type of sauna known to man.

The location is also great (3-5 min walk from Mayrhofen's train/bus station), although a ski bus to ski lifts, etc. stops almost right outside the hotel.

If I am in Mayrhofen ever again, I know where I'm going to staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GVSmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
181 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location. Near to the train/ bus station, only a few minutes walk. Yet it's not too noisy. Construction is just next door at the Elizabeth hotel, but it doesn't bother us. The owner offered a 10% discount due to the construction, which is greatly appreciated. The view is kind of dampen due to the construction.

Room is decent. There's a shared balcony. I believed the bathroom is newly renovated. Very modern. I loved the tub! I've used the sauna downstairs too.

Breakfast was really great. So homely and tasty. We couldn't make it for the rest of the days as we are heading out very early to catch buses. They packed a sandwich for us to eat on the way. Thank you :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cola480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wonderful location and the feeling of being taken good care of made our stay very pleasant. The room (a suite) had wonderful views on the mountains and sitting on the balcony in the evenings was one of our favourite pastimes. The hotel is ideally located - close to the main road (+bus stops and train station) spanning the villages in Zillertal, the Mayrhofen city center and Penken/Ahorn Bergbahnen, yet not too close, so the city noise remains unnoticeable.
The service is good, too. The family owning the pension takes care of the guests really nicely and is in person responsible for serving of the breakfast and providing any information possible, including maps and good tips on how to spend the day.
As for the "cons" - the room service, friendly and very efficient, sometimes left some surprises, like cigarette butts in the ashtray. This, together with a faint cigarette smell in the room (mentioned by one of the TripAdvisor reviewers) was a bit of a nuisance, as I am highly allergic to cigarette smoke.
However, the overall experience was very good and if I choose to visit Mayrhofen again, I will not be looking for any other place to stay.

Room Tip: Most of the hotels in Zillertal do not offer separate (twin) beds in their rooms, just queen/king si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlainTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in Room 102 for three nights in June. It was a small double room with a comfortable king-size bed, a small sofa, and a small desk and chair. It had a lovely (but not private) balcony overlooking the mountains and the town of Mayrhofen. The bathroom was small, but with a lovely, brand-new rain shower. Everything was very clean. The sisters who run the hotel are charming and helpful.

Where the hotel truly excelled was with breakfast. The breakfast room was beautiful and comfortable and airy. There was a gorgeous selection of fresh fruit every morning - strawberries, melon, pineapple, kiwi, cherries - probably whatever they found looking freshest at the market. There was also a nice selection of breads, croissants, jams, cereals, sliced cheeses and cold cuts. Each morning, they offered us eggs cooked to order. We got scrambled eggs each morning, cooked perfectly as we ordered them, with fresh speck delivered right from the butcher. We also watched as the sister doing the cooking would run out into the garden to snip fresh herbs to sprinkle in our eggs. Both sisters couldn't do enough to ensure that we were enjoying our breakfast.

The hotel was conveniently located just off the main road into Mayrhofen (but not close enough that we had any problems with road noise). Free, easy parking. It was also just a few minutes walk from the center of town, so was probably much quieter than one of the hotels right in the center.

We enjoyed the pretty 10-mile walk down the Zillertal Promenade to Zell am Ziller and back. We also took the Penkenbergbahn cable car up from the center of town and enjoyed hiking on the Penken with beautiful views over the valley and the snow-capped alps surrounding us. The location is also convenient for day trips to Kitzbuhel or Innsbruck.

We would definitely recommend the Glockenstuhl!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runningfromthelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brits in Austria
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading reviews and were not disappointed!
Elizabeth and Margarette were very welcoming. The breakfast was delicious with a good buffet selection and hot food cooked fresh to order. Elizabeth was very helpful with recommendations and advice.

The hotel is in a good position with free parking. The interior is very pleasant, clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed sitting on our balcony with lovely views.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl and would highly recommend it.

Having skiied here in the Winter we returned to walk in the area which was just as stunning in the Summer! We also did some Sumer skiing on The Hintertux. The skiing was great but best in the morning as the snow got heavier as the day went on.

As we drove here, we did not need public transport but were aware there were deals to be had for lift passes and transport.

We also got a free pass to use the outdoor and indoor pool complex which was a treat!

Great service and a great place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rose
Rose
#11 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apart Central
Apart Central
#8 of 38 in Mayrhofen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl

Property: Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl
Address: Einfahrt Mitte 431, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing