We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful , we will be back in future.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gasthof Mitteregger
Ranked #6 of 44 Kaprun B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful , we will be back in future.”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel is very good for a quiet family holiday. The village of Kaprun is lovely and quiet, and has stunning views in all directions.
The hotel is family run , and all are happy to help , we only a little german but our attempts were acknowledged and we improved by the end of two weeks.
The food was very good and lots of it , children could either have choice from their menu or smaller portions from our menu. Lots of variety and good size portions . You will not go hungry here !!!
The room was of good size with seperate sleeping areas for us and children , both with balconies.
The advantage of the zell am see card was massive , as a family of 4 we saved at least 500 euros .
Lots to see and do , we need to go back to complete all of the day trips.

Even had free ice cream and drinks from the owner whilst we were waiting for our coach to the airport.

Thanks very much for a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 105charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was our second hiking trip to the Alps and naturally, after a great time at this hotel, we had no hesitation in booking again.

Main Advantages:
Kaprun card (free access to cables cars, buses, and entrance to attractions)
Great location
Great staff
Family run
Excellent food and very flexible chefs
Clean and tidy
Traditional building

Rooms:
There is a great disparity between the size, quality, views and convenience of the rooms. Simply put, you get what you pay for! We spent the first night in a room that was 1 star above a tent, it was down to a number of valid reasons, the first being that we arrived last that evening; the second being we got a very cheap deal through our travel agent which usually means that you can expect what we got.
I must stress that it was clean, tidy, and featured a bath which my wife required. It did not have a balcony and was medium size rather than large.

WE RECEIVED A PHONE CALL ON THE FIRST EVENING FROM THE OWNER. due to a cancellation (my cousin) For a mere 75EUR, he was able to upgrade us to better room. (with a bath, shower, large balcony, and living room with fridge, TV, finished to a high standard.
We naturally snapped his hand off.

When we first entered the Apartment Room, I couldn't believe we still in the same hotel. It was very well finished with oak flooring, good lighting, and quality fixtures and fittings, the living room was lovely, with sofa, dinner table and chairs. The bedroom and bathroom were excellent with lots of space and quality furnishings. The Grohe shower was great and very powerful, and the bath was of good size for my wife.
If you want a great room, book the apartment.

Food:
Being a vegetarian, it was imperative that the hotel we chose catered for me whilst still catering for my animal murdering wife. The food was excellent for both of us, on the odd occasion we were not enamored with the choices on offer, the chef was more than happy to make something else for us.

Value:
The value was our main criteria for this holiday. This hotel is one of the cheapest that feature the Kaprun Card inclusive in the price. The card allowed us free access on most if not all of the cable cars, buses in Kaprun, and Zel Am See, It also gave us free access to many attractions and at worst, reduced rates to others. This card saved us more than 300Eur each during our stay. The Kaprun Card cannot be purchased elsewhere, your hotel must be part of the promotion for you to receive it. Please note, it is only for the summer and does NOT include the winter skiing season.

General:
The hotel is not new, and looks tired in places, some rooms need modernizing as they look dated now. It is NOT a 5 star hotel so don't expect it. If you are looking for a modern hotel with bells and whistles, look elsewhere and dig deep as it will cost you.
If you want a clean, tidy and friendly hotel and don't care if the bathroom has not been refurbished since 1973 (because it still works) then this is the place for you.

I am not going to dwell on the negatives but I will point them out below.
No fitness Centre
No Pool
Disparity between each room
Tired in places
Parking can sometimes be a problem
All rooms don't feature a balcony

In conclusion,
If money is no object, there are hundreds of hotels in Kaprun of which at least half will be better than this one. If money is a consideration, then I really can't be negative about this hotel. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR and this hotel tries to cater for as many different budgets as possible. The food is great and after a hard days hiking, this is always something we looked forward to. I have read other reports suggesting the food is not good, I think people have mistaken good for British. The food is not everyone's taste all the time, but, the staff and chef will do everything to accommodate for even the fussiest of guest.

I will definitely go again to make it a hat trick of visits. The hotel is family run and all the staff try there very best to accommodate you, this in itself makes it a place that is deserves my money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank czechmate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Did we stay in the same hotel?????
Family run hotel with staff who couldnt be any more helpful. Booked family room which was suprisingly big, usually falling over each other on other ski holidays. Large balcony with views of the slopes and village. As mentioned in brochure this is a hotel in the centre of the village so naturally there is traffic!! nothing that kept us awake after a busy days skking though. Short 4/5 min walk to main slope although a bus stops outside the hotel which takes you there also. Prefer the runs in Kaprun to the glacier or Zell. Although a trip up the Glacier to see the panorama platform and Volvo Ice cave/bar is worth the trip. Head up there around 10am and leave about 2.30 and you miss the bus queues. Get off bus half way and ride the cable car which lets you ski the pleasent blue runs back into the village. nice end to the day.
Bathroom with large deep bath to soak away the aches and pains. Large double room with plently of storage space, LCD cable TV. seperate bedroom with two single beds. Spotlessly cleaned daily. Two small issues with the room reported to reception and dealt with straight away. Food was excellant. 5 course meal with a choice of three main courses which you choose in advance at breakfast( chef always willing to cook something else if you dont like that days choice). fresh salads, breads, small starter followed by soup, unlimited salad bar, main course followed by desert. Totally disagree with previous comment of mass produced food.....fresh cooked, beautifully presented local dishes with two buffet style evenings per week. Yes you do walk alongside (not through) the kitchen to the dining room but it was nice to see the chefs at work and the spotlessly clean preperation areas. Breakfast continental style - cheeses, jams, pate, hams,nutella, bread rolls, yoghurt, cereals x4, tea/coffee, fruit juices, bacon, various style eggs....what more do you need? didnt use the sauna as traditional Austrian style - no clothes allowed !!!! Locals did use the restaurant and bar whch to me only shows how good a reputation the hotel has..only suggestion to improve would be tea/coffe facilities in rooms but other than that fantastic hotel...Will definatley return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbabe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I booked the Mitteregger as part of a Crystal Ski holiday, and I should have guessed when Crystal did not rate the food in the hotel that we were not in for a treat! The hotel caters for two types of guest, us lowly package holiday types who spend £2200 for a 7 day half board holiday between 3 of us (me and my 2 sons) and the al a carte guests. Us menial types were shepherded into a back dining room accessed through the kitchen to be served a 4 course treat! The al a carte guests had the choice of 2 nice dining rooms with lovely menus. One of the good things about skiing in Austria is the local food, which having skied there for years has always been great after a day on the slope. Not here, a typical 4 course meal was; Course 1 - A 2 inch round squirt of what looked like Primula Cheese, Course 2 - Soup which was lovely, Course 3 Chicken and Chips, Course 4 Half an apple made to look exciting. Basically, mass produced food with limited taste and even more limited appeal. Breakfast was sparse to say the least in comparison to other experiences, so a trip to the bakery on the way to the slopes was a must! According to the Crystal brochure, we could however look forward to the usual Apres Ski Snack, if a huge bowl of peanuts on the bar constitutes as an Apres Ski Snack, I'm Jimmy Carter

To be honest, we were made to feel like second class citizens, and with most of the bar and seating areas occupied by the East European guests smoking themselves to death, we spent no time in the hotel other than to sleep, which was by the way difficult given that the pillow were very short of feathers (folded ski trousers under the pillows helped).

Crystal rate this hotel as a 3 'C', in my opinion it was -3C

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianntaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We booked the mitteregger hotel through crystal ski for a four day ski trip and struggle to fault the hotel for the price we paid.
We booked an eaves room as this was a bit cheaper but we ended up in a 2nd floor bedroom for no extras charge so it was a good start.
The rooms are spacious,warm and comfortable with no frills but a large bathroom and a large bath for soaking was a nice extra you dont often get.As previous comments made the food is a hot/cold buffet in the morning and a three course meal for dinner.The food is very good with a bit of choice and the staff are friendly and helpful.
I can recommend the excellent mexican restaraunt two doors down and there are some nice bars around the town.Didnt stay out late so cant comment on the night clubs!
There is also a large seperate bar area where you can drink the nice beers on offer with the only drawback being the smokers, including the staff.Wine is very good but expensive and can add up at the end of the week.
The hotel have a very modern solarium downstairs with three saunas and a big heated bed to lounge on.You can also use this on travel day with showers/towels etc available to use
There is a supermarket with a ski hire shop two mins walk away.
On the slopes we had the first day on the mountain just at the bottom of the street and half a day on the glacier.It was -20 degc so may have spoilt our experience up there.The views are fantastic but we didnt rate the skiing much with the blues feeling quiet narrow and very busy and chopped up.We did enjoyed the reds at the top of the drag lifts and def worth a ski.Watch out for cross overs at the drags as they can get dangerous with people swapping lanes etc.
The next three days we picked up the the ski bus five mins from the hotel to shuttdorf (10mins)and up the cable car to zell am zee.The 8.23 bus gets you on top of the mountain for about quarter past nine but the later bus about 8.43 led to big queues at the cable car and you can add another 15/20 mins at the bottom.
A previous review said the slopes were very crowded the first week in jan due to the russian holidays. There were lots of eastern europeans there but we didnt queue for any lifts all week apart from the shuttdorf cable(twenty mins) and it felt fairly quiet on most of the runs.
The runs in zell are excellent but not extensive and we skied the same runs a few times so not sure we would want to come here every year.We missed skiiing across the valley and over to other areas and back like you can in saalbach/hinterglemm.
All in all,we had a great trip and if you are coming to kaprun we can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We were traveling with 2 kids and ordered a family apartment, which we found to be very spatious and convenient. The main room had a big double bed and a separate family sitting corner, and there was a separate bedroom with two more beds. There also was a nice balcony, but it was "hanging" right over a local street which happened to be surprisingly busy. We never expected such a inconvenience of hearing and breathing traffic in the middle of the Austrian countryside, while we were trying to escape to the mountains and nature.
Breakfast was good, served in a big restauant room. Unfortunately, each morning we found most of the empty tables reserved for the guests who ordered half board (unlike us taking only B&B). It is a stupid feeling looking for an available table in a half empty restaurant... But the stuff was willing to help, efficient and friendly.
Internet was free, but available only in the lobby.
A huge advantage was Zell am See - Kaprun Summer Card which we used for free entrance to a lot of sites in the area.
Due to the weather we could not really enjoy neither the view, nor the facilities of the place, but one can't blame the hotel for that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

A last minute booking and therefore unable to research the resort and hotel as much as I would have liked. Also the first trip to Austria and a change to the Greek Islands and previous holidays such as Crete (Candia Park Village) Rhodes (Lindos Mare Hotel).
However any concerns were unfounded and this holiday will be remembered as one of the best enjoyed by children 13 & 15 as well as parents.
The hotel Mitteregger is full of Austrian charm and hospitality, its run by a family and all generations are seen working in the hotel. What it lacks in modern facilities is more than made up for with a willingness to help and please its guests.
The quality of the food was good and probably too much at times.
Breakfast is a typical continental offering, you help yourself with a good selection of Hams, meats, cheeses, pastries as well as cereals, fruit juices and a cooked selection. Often the warm food was not replenished but the staff are always happy to cook a fresh batch on request.
Evening meals are - 1st course a starter, 2nd course - soup - 3rd course - salad bar (help yourself) 4th - a choice of three(one vegetarian) selected at breakfast followed by desert. all very enjoyable and typically Austrian. Some chipped crockery and odd cutlery but this all adds to the appeal and this is not a 5 star hotel lacking in character. Drinks are reasonably priced - beer Eur 3.40, wine, 3.40, coke Eur 2.
The hotel is located close to the village centre but with a working dairy farm to the rear, 100 yards from the main bus stop, 100 yards from the shops and supermarket and 50 yards from the village indoor/outdoor swimming pool. Opposite the hotel you will find the hotel garden where you will find a small pool , childrens swings and slide and plenty of sun loungers to relax and enjoy the mountain views.
Kaprun and the surrounding area has lots to do and I list a selection.
Day 1 - bus to The Kitzsteinhorn mountain - enjoy the ride up on the ski lifts and enjoy the view at the top, perhaps enjoy a drink in the mountain restaurant, try skiing or sledging (in August).
Day 2 - bus into Zell am See - wander around the shops, enjoy a boat trip around the lake - perhaps hire a kayak. Enjoy the open air swimming pools and swim in the lake.
Day 3 - Catch a bus to the Krimmler falls (EUR 9.40 )and admire the largest warterfall in Austria - enjoy the heated indoor pool on your return and perhaps try the steam room.
Day 4 - Try White water rafting in the morning (EUR 48) and visit the Sigmund Thun gorge in the afternoon - enjoy the hotel gardens - sunbathe and enjoy the view.
Day 5 - Bus into Zell and catch the Ski Lift to the top of the Schmittenhohe - enjoy a picnic watch the paragliders and enjoy a mountain walk.
Day 6 - Bus to the Mooserboden reservoir, enjoy the exhibitions, walk the dam, have a trip on a funicular railway all above the clouds
Day 7 - Catch the bus to Saltzburg.
The hotel provides a summer card which provides free bus trips, all ski lifts, free boat trips and entrance to all swimming pools. All the above is free unless marked and provides outstanding value.
Enjoy the scenery, the clear lakes and air, sun bathe in the morning and play in the snow in the afternoon. An outstanding adventure with a good base being the Mitteregger.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfamatbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.1 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
0.3 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenparks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
0.7 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#4 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Mitteregger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Mitteregger

Property: Hotel Gasthof Mitteregger
Address: Schlossstrasse 9, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gasthof Mitteregger 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming - traditional – Austrian in Mitteregger`s HotelThe oldest part of the traditional “Mitteregger” goes back to the 15th Century and so it is the oldest Guest house in Kaprun. The family run hotel has always been a central meeting place and represents the typical Austrian hospitality. We are glad to welcome many regular guests, local Clubs and friends of the family Hainzer. Your advantages at the Mitteregger`s in wintet:· Traditional hotel with typical Austrian architectural style· Embellished rooms· Historical wine cellar Kellerbar „Wirtskeller“ · A-la-carte Restaurant with typical Austrian specialities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Mitteregger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing