We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation, we regained our energy.”
Review of Hotel Zur Burg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zur Burg
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Zur Burg was without any doubt excellent. The staff is polite an helpful (advising us about directions and travel tips, let us enter the swimming pool early in the morning), the breakfast and dinner offered evertyhing we wanted and could think of, on our request they were able to prepare anything else we would desire for the breakfast. Everything delicious.
Very clean and tidy, nice swimming pool and perfect wellness area, excellent location in the middle of all the attractions that the region offers, very nice rooms and comfortable beds. We were very happy about staying in Kaprun where the nights were quiet and we could relaxed much more than in Zell am See which is bigger and more noisy. The region and its nature is beautiful. Our vacation was simply perfect, we did not have to care about anything, really enjoyed it, returned home relaxed and will definitely come back to Hotel Zur Burg.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent wornderful time in hotel Zur Burg. There are lot of opportunities to spend leisure time in Kaprun so we where looking around except our golf course time. Therefore we left the Hotel after breakfast and came back before dinner. It is located very close to the centre, provide good parking.
Our room was modern with wonderful bathroom I ever had in mountain hotel. Is probably unnecessary to write about that everywhere was 100% pure and clean - perfect service. Hotel spa is also well aesthetically equiped.
The breakfast food was varied and except this, Chef with waiters offered us every morning any meal we wish regardless the wide offer.
The food for dinner was very good, served imaginatively what meant a gastronomic experience with of course range of good wines.
There is habit to provide guests printed hotel news before breakfast - weather forecast, tips for trips and visits with description what where very usefull and inspirative. Opportunities for tourists in Kaprun area would be inspiration even for other regions, cooperation really works.
I think the most valuable assets in the Hotel is the staff, very professional, helpful and pleasant. Nice experience to spent some days in such Hotel, its very good value for the money. I can recommend and will return in the future.

Room Tip: If you looking for any special requirements, write in advance to Hotel reception, they managed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We are regular travellers to Kaprun and have stayed in the Hotel zur Burg on one previous occasion. The location is just out of the centre (10 minutes walk) and provides good facilities. The rooms are clean and modern with really nice and modern bathroom facilities. The spa/wellness centre is both large and well equiped - a good size swimming pool and various saunas - along with plenty of relaxation sun beds with great views. The food served at breakfast is both varied and plentiful although the set menu evening meal is sometimes a bit bland - although there is nothing at all wrong with it and it represents great value for the money. All in all we enjoyed our stay, would recommend and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I wanted to like this hotel very much. Zur Burg has a great location in Kaprun, and most rooms have a view. The rooms are well-appointed and have the best bathrooms I have ever seen in a mountain hotel. The futuristic-looking spa is big and well-equipped. The hotel is sparkling new. The personnel are kind, knowledgeable and eager to please. In short, it would have been a gem of a place -- possibly the best in Kaprun -- if not for 2 "buts".

First (little) problem is substandard food quality. Salads, cold cuts etc are ok, but anything that's been touched by the cook is inedible. Still, it wouldn't have ruined the impression of the hotel by itself -- breakfast is ok, and for dinner there are good restaurants within walking distance.

The second problem is much more serious. Everywhere we went -- the bar, the spa, the canteen -- we were met by a grotesquely drunk and very loud group of young male guests. They drank alcohol from glass vessels while sitting in a whirlpool, rudely commented on passing females (either thinking no-one understands Slovak or not caring at all), harassed other guests in a lobby bar and generally were a nuisance. My wife felt unsafe in their presence.

From our complaints we understood that these are "special regular guests" who are free to do whatever they want in this hotel. I understand from the earlier guest's review in German that they are indeed regulars.

If you happen to be at Hotel zur Burg at the same time as these "privileged guests", you would be sharing a hotel with about 10 very noisy young males, drunk out of their minds. You would not be able to use the spa, you would not be able to have a quiet drink or an uninterrupted conversation at the bar, and if you happen to be female you will probably attract some unwanted attention.

Because of that I'm afraid I would not be coming back to Hotel zur Burg. I'd rather stay at a less glamorous hotel where rules apply equally to all guests, and where my wife would feel safe using the spa unaccompanied.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alexkorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We are a family of 4 from Scotland who stayed at the Zur Burg in Kaprun, March 2009. Having been to many hotels in various resorts across Austria, I feel well qualified to offer this review.

Firstly, the hotel is out of the town centre, as stated, but it's only about a 10 minute walk, virtually all on the flat, and it's a pleasant walk past other hotels etc. It will take nearer 20 minutes if walking in ski-boots, so try not to miss the free ski-bus. This bus leaves from about 50m distant from the hotel, and comes every 30 minutes (15 and 45 past the hour - worth noting the time for your first day, especially if you have to meet the ski-school. This bus takes you to the local ski-ing area in Kaprun resort, or you can stay on the bus and go to the Kitzsteinhorn. Alternatively, get off at the local ski-area and catch another bus down to Zell am See (every 15 minutes or so, and only a matter of 10 minutes away - the bus drops you at the Areitbahn cable car station) Ski-ing convenience therefore is pretty good, when staying in this hotel.

The hotel facilities are extensive - great leisure area with 2 x saunas, steam-room and cold plunge bath located in the swimming pool area, which is separate, upstairs. Restaurant is very comfortable, and staff very pleasant and attentive - good choice of breakfast dishes - including hot scrambled egg & bacon rashers! Sparkling wine is also a nice touch if you dare! Dinners at night also great, the chef will provide children menu choice if the Austrian dishes are not to your liking, even for the adults!

Rooms are beautiful, ours had wooden beams & panels, on the second floor (rooms 107/108 - worth asking for if available!) - and the daily service is everything it should be. Only setback is that there are no lifts in the hotel, only an issue when arriving with large cases.

The biggest plus point for this hotel (if you care for the odd drink) is it's that it's ALL INCLUSIVE!! - We've never experienced this before in Austria - some hotels offer a complimentary drink, one, with dinner - at the Zur Burg, ALL your drinks are FREE, the only drawback being that this is only between 7am and 10pm, and includes only soft drinks, beer, whisky, vodka, every other spirit, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, wine, cognac, schnapps etc etc. !!!!!!!! In other words, EVERY DRINK IS FREE, even with Dinner, and Gabor, the waiter, will bring you as many as you want - excellent!! this really can save a huge amount of Euros over a week - only drawback being that with a free bar, you don't see many others of much of the town!! I reckon this represented a saving of about 100 euros for our family over the week.

Overall - great hotel, fantastic food, bar amazing! Don't be put off by the apparent distance from town-centre, it's well worth the trip. Try the sleigh ride, only Thursdays, at e70 for up to 6 people, organised at reception - rather than via the rep - it's a nice experience for all.

Overall review - highly recommended hotel !! Enjoy it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skidinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed at the Zur Burg as part of a Neilson ski package holiday. It is a typical family run Austrian hotel; everywhere was very clean and well cared for. Food was excellent, two choices of main courses for dinner (ordered at breakfast time), salad, soup and dessert, as a vegetarian I was given an additional choice of main course and soups. Breakfast was an extensive buffet of cereals, fruit, cheeses, cold meats, assorted bread as well as hot bacon, eggs etc. Tea, coffee and cake were available from 3:30pm to 5pm. Our package included alcoholic drinks to 10pm, which covered a wide range of spirits, house wine and beer. Don’t be misled this is not a binge drinker location as most of the guest are European, it’s a gentle relaxed continental atmosphere. The service is excellent we were well looked after by Kathleen, Rosie, Gabor and Sara in the bar and restaurant, all the customer facing staff we met all spoke English well.

The ski bus stop is less than 50m from the hotel and often dropped off at the door in the afternoon. The ski buses are every half hour and go direct to the Kitzsteinhorn glacier area as well Kaprun area and connect with the Zell am See service. If you ski until all the lifts close the last bus gets back in time for the coffee and cake, but only just.

The only down side is smoking is allowed in the bar area in the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

We have just returned from our stay in the Zur Burg hotel. The hotel is typically Austrian. The rooms were clean and spacious. The food was first class as was the service from all the staff. The owner was very welcoming and friendly. The spa and swimming pool facilities were excellent. The hotel itself is postioned just below the castle and is an ideal location for walkers of all levels throughout the year and skiers during the winter period. The scenery around the hotel is stunning. We will definately be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank calandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.8 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kuenstleralm
Hotel Kuenstleralm
#14 of 30 in Kaprun
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Burg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Burg

Address: Schlossstrasse 45, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Price Range: $126 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zur Burg 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zur Burg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing