We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Der Kapruner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Der Kapruner Hof
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Kaprunerhof In September this year and were sadly disappointed. We had expected a four star experience but the proud boasts of the hotel's website about the quality of the rooms and food did not meet our expectations.
We booked the grandly named Panoramic suite and we did have an excellent view of the Kitzsteinhorn but also the local sports field, supermarket and a neighbours back garden needless to say the hotel's location is nothing special just an average suburban backwater.
The suite itself was tired and in need of updating. The carpet and sofa were stained and the bedding was polycotton not what we expect in a 4 star hotel. The spar bath did not work!
However, we could have overlooked all of the above if the FOOD had been anywhere near 4 star quality. The restaurant is beautifully presented and staffed by friendly and attentive staff but the food although presented well was mostly remarkably poor in taste and quality.
Jus’ were simply made from a commercial stock concentrate and cream mousses were similarly made from commercial preparations. The food was presented in a series of courses; thankfully the portions were small so my plate was never returned too embarrassingly full. An Austrian Buffett was hosted on Saturday night and the main course was somewhat better but the meal was again let down by the poor dessert that was just a piece of cake from the local budget supermarket covered in custard made from a packet!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter7902013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 161 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

This small Kaprun Hotel is very nicely located. From my suit room I had the view of the Kithsteinhorn Glazer, the river and beautiful green gardens. Silent to rest for pare ski. Renewed every year, nice and clean. Compered to its price it deserves mud better rating. Had a early 13/14 season 5 day ski trip and was very happy. All the employees are friendly and smiling. The food was excellent. Will come back soon.

Room Tip: Sky view suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haluk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very warm welcome to a very nice family run hotel. From the minute we arrived made to feel welcome, food great, could not fault the service. On the first night struggled to read the menu, the next day the menu had been translated to English for us. I would most defiantly use this hotel again should I return to Kaprun.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Family hotel. Modern, comfortable, very good cusine ( I do not recommend to order fish dishes in Austria, better take something they REALLY know to cook, like beef). Excellent service. In the room, bathroom and toilets everything not only new, but most important clean and shining. Good veiw from the balcony, what else do we need? Good SPA, I loved third sauna outside of SPA. Parking place, free Wi-Fi. Good place to spend ski vacation at Sell am zee - Kaprun. Don't forget to ask the owner to recommend good shnaps)))

Room Tip: HUNTING SUITE is best option quality/money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felshyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our second visit to the Kaprunerhof was even better than our first! Our room had recently been refurbished to a very high standard and had lovely views of the Kitzsteinhorn; the food was even better than we remembered; and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful including dealing with my wife's special dietary requirements. Stefan's advice on walking options, particularly after the first snowfall of the year was much appreciated and we enjoyed a guided walk to the hydro scheme reservoirs. We greatly enjoyed the spa facilities!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susandavid206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as a base for a walking holiday.There were magnificent views of the Kitzteinhorn from our room which was clean and a decent size (deluxe romantic). The half-board option is very good value and the chef produced a consistently high standard every night. Service is very efficient. What was particularly useful was that the hotel participates in the Summer Card scheme which proved invaluable when using cable cars, buses, etc. We worked out that the savings on the card paid our bar bill at the end of the week!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

the Kaprunerhof got off to a very good start by offering us two rooms as singles for the price of a double as they could not split the Austrian double beds. This meant we were in the basement in the Komfort style rooms - but it was great to be offered the option. These were not as up to date as the others on higher floors appeared to be - but they suited us very well.

the service in the hotel was excellent - despite catering for quite a large number of people, often in big groups. Breakfast was great and their gala dinner - offered on the Sunday - was really brilliant food.

we also got very good advice from Stefan on where to go walking on our last day. he warned us off one route which we thought we might do - but recommended another excellent one which was one of the highlights of our trip.

like other reviewers, we were put off the spa by the warning that this was a "nacktbereich"

Room Tip: rooms are priced for what you get - am sure the upper floor rooms are better - but ours were perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pansymclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
1.0 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
0.1 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
0.6 mi away
Das Falkenstein
Das Falkenstein
#10 of 30 in Kaprun
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Kapruner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Kapruner Hof

Address: Schulstrasse 21, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Price Range: $216 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Kapruner Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Der Kapruner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing