We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and outstanding, friendly service”
Review of Hotel Sonnblick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonnblick
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from the Hotel Sonnblick. We stayed for 7 nights as part of a Crystal package deal between 14th and 21st December 2013. We were absolutely delighted with this hotel, its facilities and the very friendly and excellent service provided by the owners and staff. Our bedroom was warm, clean and comfortable. We used the spa and swimming pool most evenings after skiing and it was fantastic. The food at breakfast and dinner was of a very high standard and the wine list extensive and reasonably priced. The hotel is conveniently situated within easy walking distance for the skiing in Kaprun and the bus stop for the glacier and Zell am See. We have stayed in Kaprun before but not at the Sonnblick. For future visits we will definitely consider the Sonnblick before any other hotels. Many thanks for your hospitality.

Simon and Gail

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel has a good location and at the first glance it looks modern and fresh. It has an indoor garage, which was one of the main reasons we chose it, as we were travelling by motorbike.
Minus: they messed up our reservation and we ended up not having enough rooms for all our friends. The good thing was that they managed to get a single room for our friend in the hotel on the other side of the street, so the night was saved. In order to apologise for the inconvenience the reservation manager gave us a free dinner at a nice restaurant near the hotel.
Plus: The staff was very friendly and helpful even before we arrived. we had some problems with the motorbike and they searched for a workshop and offered to cancel the reservation for free if we could not manage to reach the hotel due to our problems (according to the reservation policy we had to pay in case of no show).
Overall we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sonnblick Hotel in Kaprun from 28th August to 4th September. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by Chris who made us feel very welcome. It was well past dinner-time so we were provided with a cold platter of breads, cheeses and meats as well as a complimentary welcome drink of our choice.

Our room was on the first floor and was on the pool side of the hotel and also faced the road. We had a lovely long balcony which got the sun in the afternoon and had a magnificent view of the Kitzsteinhorn Mountain. The room was very comfortable and clean. It was a reasonable size as was the bathroom though the shower might seem a little cramped to some. There was a hairdryer and shower gel and handwash but no showercap or other toiletries.
The beds were very comfortable with comfy duvets and pillows and I got an excellent night's sleep throughout the holiday. The road is not a problem as Kaprun is a small village and very little traffic goes through at night and very few people used the pool during our stay so there was no noise from that either

For those who enjoy TV there are very few English speaking channels and mainly they are news channels but there is so much to do in the area you'll hardly need to watch much TV!

We had the half-board option in the hotel and the food was excellent. The breakfast buffet was superb and had a wonderful array of choices. It included something to suit every taste. There was fresh and dried fruit, yoghurts, salads, meats and cheeses, juices, cereals, a huge selection of rolls and breads as well as pastries and jams of every flavour. Eggs were also available and bacon, if requested, as well as a variety of teas and coffees. You certainly didn't set out on your day's travels feeling hungry! The dining-room was beautifully decorated and was divided into four sections each with its own ambience and character. The girls who were serving were always cheerful and attentive and looked after our needs very well. Each morning a newsletter was placed on the breakfast table with information about the weather for that day and suggestions of activities and places of interest to visit in the area. This was very helpful.

Dinner choices had to be selected at breakfast time and there was a five course menu and a three course one. There was usually one choice of starter, a meat choice, a fish choice and a vegetarian choice followed by a choice of five desserts one of which was a cheese-board. The meals were excellent and beautifully presented. It was delightful to be served by our lovely waitresses dressed in Austrian national costume. They always looked so pretty and fresh.

The pool is not large but is a reasonable size and of the same depth for the full length. There are plenty of sunloungers around the pool for those who just want to relax. The wellness area is beautifully fitted out with sauna, jacuzzi and steam rooms and is an oasis of relaxation.Towels are provided for the pool and wellness area.

Afternoon cake and savouries are provided at no extra charge for guests and it's a very welcome custom for those returning from a day out.

If you are trying to decide whether to choose between Kaprun and Zell am See it really depends on your own preference. Kaprun is a quiet village surrounded by mountains with a limited amount of shops and restaurants though there is a supermarket which can supply most of your needs. It was very quiet at night with very litlle in the way of entertainment. You can, however, take the bus into Zell am See for 1 euro with your Kaprun/Zell am See summer card. The last bus, however, comes back at 19:50 so you may need to get a taxi back and this costs 15-20 euros. Zell am See is much busier and more bustling with many shops, bars and restaurants. It would be noisier at night but there would be more to do in the evenings.
Kaprun, however, is well-placed for visiting the Kitzsteinhorn Glacier, Sigmund-Thun Gorge and the Alpine Reservoirs which are all well worth a visit and if you use your Kaprun/Zell am See summer card all travel on the cable cars, entrance to the gorge and the ascent and descent to the reservoirs is free! It is amazingly good value and saves you a lot of money.

Finally, the thing that really made the holiday for me was the friendliness of the staff at the Sonnblick Hotel. They really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and do everything in their power to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. Nothing is too much trouble for them. So thank you very much to Yvonne, Chris, Michaela and all of the staff for their kind attention and care throughout our stay.

I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: As Kaprun is a small village there is not a lot of noise at night so most rooms would be fine. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just returned from our second visit and were not dissapointed. Food still great, staff still happy and helpfull, new wellness facility excellent and room comfortable. Showing typical attention to detail, the management spotted it was the wife's Birthday and produced a nice cake. The breakfast buffet is as good as you will find anywhere and the 5 course dinners excellent. The food is fresh, wholesome Austrian fare, no burgers or nuggets here - thankfully. I acknowledge the previous comment about the pool area looking a little tired, but i found it to be perfectly safe and sound. The only small dissapointment was when we chose to eat out one night. It would have been nice to have been offered a packed lunch instead of dinner.

Party animals should note that evenings in Kaprun are quiet in late summer. The Pavillion bar is the best evening venue for those below 50 in mind or body; otherwise, Zell-am-see may be a better option.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors to the rear are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThyristorTwister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel should add more facility in the room such as a minibar , coffee maker , provide iron and iron board , slippers. Then can reach to overall Excellent . The good thing about the place it's in the country side and near many tourist attraction .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abuferas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just returned from Kaprun 27/7/2013 and stayed at the Hotel Sonnblick. A very warm welcome awaited us with a handy information pack. All the staff were very polite and very helpful. Hotel was kept clean and tidy all the time. Food was of a high standard and very plentiful.
All the facilities in the hotel were working.
Hotel is situated in a good place only 300m away from the centre, Far enough away to not hear any noise from the town or river which flows through Kaprun. Rooms at the back over looking the swimming pool have great views looking up to the glacier.
Great Holiday and the Hotel played a part in that.
Thank you very much from the Beatson family

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Old fashioned and needs à good refreshing makeover compared to à couple of new hotels in kaprun. Bubbelbath does not work, lights in sauna are broke, shower at pool dnw, floor near the pool dnw, no play ground for kids, very small rooms etcetc.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patje01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonnblick2009, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnblick, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Patrick,
thank you very much for your customer review.
In year 2009 we renovated the rooms and the restaurant and in year 2011 we renovated the entrance area, reception, hotel bar and wellness area.

You booked through booking.com a family room with 26m2. On arrival day you received a free upgrade to 2 connected double rooms with each 18m2 = 36m2.

We feel sorry that the jaccuzzi was not working in the evening on one day. There was a technical problem.

For small children we don´t promote any playing facilities in our hotel. Not on our web site and not on booking.com.

Dear Mr. Patrick, we would be happy to welcome your family another time.

Sending our best regards

Michaela Muxel-Rexeisen
Owner of the Hotel Sonnblick in Kaprun
www.hotel-sonnblick.at

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.7 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
0.1 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Der Kapruner Hof
Der Kapruner Hof
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Toni
Hotel Toni
#10 of 30 in Kaprun
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnblick

Address: Schlossstrasse 14, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range: $165 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnblick 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome in the 4 star Hotel Sonnblick, which is a wonderful Alpine and ski hotel in Kaprun in Austria. The On the edge of the Kitzsteinhorn ski area and near the Hohe Tauern national park, this hotel in Kaprun is perfect for a hiking holiday in the summer and for a ski holiday in the Austrian Alps in the winter. After a day in the fresh air, a heated outdoor swimming pool, a nice spa area with saunas and hot tube, relaxation room and comfortable rooms with balcony await. In our restaurant you can enjoy the great breakfast buffet, full of variety and absolutely complete for a day on the slopes. In the evenings 3- or grand 5 course menu is available in traditional Austrian atmosphere. A bus stop is directly opposite the hotel. In summer, the Zell am See-Kaprun Summer Card is included in the rate. This card comprises many free benefits and discounts, including free use of local cable cars. Family Muxel-Rexeisen and the Sonnblick team are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sonnblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnblick Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing