We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star hotel at 4 Star prices”
Review of Hotel Sonnblick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonnblick
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 Star hotel at 4 Star prices”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel is not 4 star at best it is 3 star. We stayed for a week and while the food is ok it is not at the standard of other 4 star hotels we have stayed at in Obergurgl, Seefeld and Zell am See. The Gala dinner was pitiful and the worst of the week. The cake buffet is made up of the previous night desserts. The rooms are small and you need to be a midget to have a shower. The team on reception are very good and would make up for the rest......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oakie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    61
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
84
101
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrava, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Every thing was like it was offered on the web. Cuisine was excellent. Very kind staff, nice wellness, clean room. Very reasonable price - nice surprise with discount for hotel drinks.

The best place for rest, walk, renewal soul and spirit.

We recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel greatly. We had two families, there were both teenagers and young children and everyone was glad. The service is great, the nature is great, the feelings are great! Advice to everyone :)

Room Tip: we had 303 and 302 rooms, both perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2011

nice place, helpfull staff, excellent cuisine, spa and skiarea nearby

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Early April 2011 Kaprun - warmer weather than a UK summer :-) Absolutely no snow in the town or below 2000m. The hotel though was excellent, clean and quiet generally.
It's virtually opposite the ski bus stop with very regular reliable buses. A very short walk to the main areas in town. Boot room also available, although rental with Intersport allows you to leave your equipment at 2000m station foc.
Room was a Saltzburg suite and very spacious and well equipped. Good LCD TV's with computer access, including free high speed wifi access.
Half board - Evening meals were not repetitive and mostly very good quality with a good choice.
The staff (especially in the bar) were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble, they were not grumpy and very attentive.
The hotel has nice sauna's, jacuzzi etc and an outdoor heated pool. All was clean and well stocked for towels and robes.
Very good experience overall hotel wise.

Room Tip: Go for a Saltzburg suite - top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Lovely family-run, family-friendly hotel ... at first. We loved the staff, the food, the sauna, the outdoor pool etc. and had a lovely time until a large corporate group of 35 took over.

This hotel needs to decide if it a small family-friendly hotel or one which takes large groups - it cannot be both. In a larger hotel a group of 35 people would be absorbed but in such a small, friendly hotel it completely changed the dynamic. We were moved from our lovely table in the restaurant to make room for the group and from then on we, and all the other guests not in this rowdy group, were second class citizens. 3 out of 7 nights sleep were ruined by them returning blind drunk at between 3 and 5 in the morning, hammering on doors, trying to get into our rooms, shouting and lying around in the corridoors. Not to mention the noises of them being ill. The hotel management do not sleep on site, and despite our concerns after the first night they did not come on to the premises, even when several guests rang them in the night for help. They just phoned the group organiser to ask them to quieten the group down. The guests were left to try and get the group to be quiet because they were scaring people and keeping everyone awake.

The group also took over the pool and sauna areas, smoking and drinking in them (this was late afternoon, at the time when kids were still allowed in the sauna). After glasses were taken into the sauna, a sign appeared saying plastic cups were to be used instead, thereby sanctioning drinking in the sauna This may be OK in some hotels, but not in one which markets itself as having a great family atmosphere.

We originally felt, like other reviewers, that the staff couldn't do enough to help. However we felt that in this case the management could and should have acted but chose not to.

The owner said that they do sometimes have large groups staying, especially in Spring. We would love to be able to return to this hotel but couldn't take the risk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakerSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We cannot recommend this hotel more highly starting at the beginning with the warm and friendly greeting from the Muxel family who own and run the hotel and who cannot do enough to ensure you enjoy your stay. The food is absolutely delightful. The outside swimming pool heated to 32 deg is so kind to the tired leg muscles from skiing (we were not brave enough to venture into the sauna as naked is the only way to go apparently!!) The bar staff who make all sorts of cocktails, the complimentary apres ski food provided is a real winner. The ski bus stops virtually outside the hotel which is also a god send. A good tip is to hire a locker at the top of the Kitzsteinhorn and then you dont have to lug your skis and poles around and you can wear comfy shoes to and from the slopes. We cannot say enough complimentary comments and can only suggest that you go and see for yourself how utterly lovely this hotel is.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonRutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.1 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenparks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
0.5 mi away
Der Kapruner Hof
Der Kapruner Hof
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnblick

Property: Hotel Sonnblick
Address: Schlossstrasse 14, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnblick 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonnblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnblick Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing