We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week in Kaprun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great week in Kaprun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is excellent. The staff are helpful, friendly and all speak good english. The hotel facilities are excellent including a swimming pool, sauna etc - and an in-house car museum! Our room was large and comfortable (great shower). The food is really good and well presented. This was our first visit to Austria and we were most impressed with the Kaprun area - great for Skiiing, snowboarding and sightseeing. We were a large party of family and friends for a wedding and the staff could not have been more helpful to us.
We would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin V, Manager at Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello from winterly Kaprun, thank you ever so much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor, which is highly appreciated - we will be very happy to pass on the comments to all our team and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sportkristall in Kaprun. We sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back. Once again, all the best and kind regards from lovely Kaprun, Family Vötter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    48
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
80
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My fiance and i stayed here for a few days as part of a large wedding party, and i must say its one of the best hotels ive ever stayed in.

The staff are all super friendly; we were given a tour on arrival and from then on all the staff always greeted us friendly and we had plenty of friendly conversations. They also speak very good english too. They were also impressively efficient when it came to the actual wedding day!

The food was amazing, venizon, fillet steak, catfish and some top notch soups for tea. The breakfast buffet had some nice variety; eggs,bacon,pastrys cereals and the rest. E had a large selection of drinks which were also very reasonably priced.

The hotel also had a nice spa and swimming pool area. We had a balcony in our room overlooking the picturesque views over kaprun and the mountains which was lovely.

Its very easy to get to from salzburg airport, and while the village itself is very quiet there are a couple of slopes a short distance from the hotel, and free transport along with discounted equipment rental is also available.

So to sum up, if your looking for a place to stay in austria, look no further :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyB1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A lovely Hotel, first impressions always count, the staff went out of their way to make us feel most welcome. We were staying over New Year, lovely food we just needed more English people to have more fun.
Rooms are a good size, and very quiet the only draw back is the bus to the slopes if you plan to ski, the stop is across the road and you should get a seat but on the way back only if you are lucky, we did stay at a peak time, so normally it might not be a problem, a couple of times we walked back not fun with ski boots on !!
Food was always good, you choose your main course the night before from a choice of about 4, soup, salad buffet and dessert/cheese area are always available.

The car museum is something not to be missed !!
Sauna and pool is lovely but for us English the nude sauna does not go down well !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were a party of two grown up families, and have just returned from a week's skiing booked through Crystal Ski, and we were very pleased with this family run hotel. The Sport Kristall is located on a residential road about a 7 minute walk from the centre of the village, and because it is not a through road it is a little quieter than some locations in Kaprun. The bedrooms were warm and comfortable. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. The dinners were typical of this standard of hotel - a salad, followed by soup, a choice of main course, and a choice of dessert or cheese. We were asked to make our selections from the menu the night before, and in general the food was delicious. The breakfast buffet had an excellent choice of cold and cooked food. Each afternoon a "ski snack" was laid on, mostly savoury, but sometimes there was cake. We all enjoyed the food.
The hotel had double booked one of our rooms, and half way through the week the receptionist very politely asked if we would mind moving. We happily agreed, and were given an upgrade to a very spacious suite with a bedroom and seperate large sitting area, which was beyond our expectations. They were really very nice about it. All the staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful.
The only thing we really didn't like about the hotel is that the cosy bar area is the one place in the hotel where smoking is permitted. This is very typical in Austria, but visitors from countries with smoking bans may find this strange and unpleasant. There is a smoke free area next to the bar, so we went in there when other folk started lighting up.
Lastly, the skiing - the hotel was very convenient for the K2 ski bus which goes up to the glacier. It leaves, and returns, every 30 minutes. If you want to ski on the slopes above Zell am See it is necessary to catch the K2 to the centre of Kaprun and change bus. It seems to work very well going out, but may mean a bit of a wait coming back after a day's skiing. The glacier and Zell am See ski areas are very different in character, but gave us plenty of variety for a mixed group of beginner, intermediate and advanced skiers. We booked a couple of private lessons, and one group lesson for adults with Ski Mit Uns ski school, and were very happy our instructors. We used the Glaser ski shop, where we were given a discount on equipment hire because we were Hotel Sport Kristall guests.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank anorthernlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed over New Year and had a fantastic time. All the staff especially Andrew in the restaurant were so friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The food in the restaurant is delicious! We are vegetarian and the chef cooked up special fish dishes for us when the menu options (selected the night before at the table). The room despite being described as small on the Thomson website was fine with separate toilet, sitting area and balcony. The spa, whirlpool and pool are clean and very relaxing. The only slight downside to this hotel is the journey up to the glaciers takes about 40minutes... so if you want guaranteed snow - that's where to go. On the plus side though the bus is across the road and you are first stop and most times get a seat on the very packed free ski bus. After years of skiing in Austria we would recommend this hotel 100% but the resort of Kaprun is very quiet with only a couple of quiet bars. We stayed in the hotel bar and watched the entertainment or just relaxed after dinner. But if you are looking for lively speed ski - you would be better in another resort perhaps Sell Am See...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Short trip enroute innsbruck-salzburg with an overnight halt at sportkristall kaprun. Very nice town. Beautiful hotel.. It was not snowing when i went.. Maybe will look all the more beautiful when it snows.. Nice, large rooms.. With balconies. Nice bar. Highlight is the vintage car museum which has a huge collection of cars, jeeps, motorcycles, old radios etc etc... Nice breakfast.. Overall a very pleasant stay at this hospitable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were touring Europe in kit cars as part of our annual trip and this Hotel was perfect. Everything was of a very high standard and the staff were amazing. The owner My Votters was a star. He loved our cars and we loved him. Had we known in advance we would have stayed longer here.

Room Tip: The hotel upgraded most of the group as we arrived, we did not even have to ask. The rooms were more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherdy595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.8 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#4 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tauernhof
Hotel Tauernhof
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Kapruner Hof
Der Kapruner Hof
#6 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall

Property: Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
Address: Schlossstrasse 32, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#6 Family Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall Hotel Kaprun
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing