We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Nearby Hotels
$149
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Martini(Kaprun)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auhof(Kaprun)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Abendruh(Kaprun)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
88
25
12
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
25
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupsvery nice experienceevening mealwill return for sureski holidayhotel is perfectgala dinnerrecommend this hotelhigh levelfamily run hotelski busspa areapetracoursesaustriaglaciersauna
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 133 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2010

The hotel is really nice, food is fantastic, good choice of food for breakfast - hot food as well as continental. Evening meals were really good (5 courses). You need to choose your evening meal at breakfast time. The salad buffet is fantastic.

Staff are very polite and friendly. A special mention and thanks to Stephanie on reception and Victor in the restaurant. The spa is an added bonus.

There is a short walk to the bus stop (and when carrying skis seems like hard work). There is a bus to the local ski area which is good for beginners and good to find your ski legs on day 1. We caught the bus to the glacier and Zell am Zee most days. Bus service is very good.

After dinner we only managed to get to the hotel bar which is a bit pricey compared to local bars. Night life seemed quiet compared to say Soll. Apres Ski recommended at the Pavillion - try Jagermeister and Schnaps but not too many as they are very potent and you might not remember getting back to the hotel!

Crystal reps do not visit hotels anymore, they visit the local ski shop regularly though and if you need the rep you have to call him on his mobile, which obviously costs you money. The reception staff are very informative if you need any information (far better than one of the reps). They speak excellent English.

This hotel has all the amenities of a large chain but is much more personal. It is definitely 4* superior (not 3* superior as mentioned in another review). I think it is the best 4* hotel in the centre of Kaprun.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiffys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The hotel is rated 4 stars superior, I would say is 3 stars superior. Excellent location, right in the centre of Kaprun. Food is ok, especially at breakfast. Dinner could be better, especially the soups. Furniture in the rooms looks like 80s. The staff is ok.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

is a hotel with an excellent kitchen, both qualitatively as well as cantitativ.service are very good, perhaps the spa would be a jacuzzi.Ne I felt great.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marius41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

From the minute we opened the door the welcome we received from the staff, their friendliness and desire to please never wained. Not even at departure when we where wished well by all.
This lovely family hotel with excellent spa facilities and lovely food must not be missed by anyone travelling to Kaprun. We stayed here for Christmas 2009 and had a really good time. The christmas eve and christmas day gala dinners where beautifully presented and served with the food well worthy of its special restaurant awards. Our children aged 12 and 13 also enjoyed the culinary adventures and only on a couple of occassions participated in the childrens menus.
The rooms available are very spacious and well fitted out and in the new annexe there are some truly beautiful suites.
The location to the slopes was a selling point for us as the nursery slopes are located behind the hotel but just be careful as the snow in resort is not always reliable and a few days we travelled up to the glacier. This was not a major hardship as the bus stops outside the hotel but could be a little more challenging in peak season. We used the austrian ski school (ski and board Kaprun) next to the main supermarket in Kaprun (yellow jackets) and we could not faulty the instruction. Best ever and real focus on quality ski-ing.
The spa at the hotel is one of the best that I have ever experienced and the beauty of relaxing in the steam room and having a swim in the great pool area at the end of a days ski-ing should not be taken lightly.
Overall would truly recommend this hotel and resort and have to pass on thanks to all the staff for a truly memorable christmas.
The only thing we would say is a big hello to the Crystal rep if indeed we ever saw him. I think you can get the message there from my comment. Do it yourself in the internet would be my advice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newskierNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My partner and I booked a late deal to stay in this hotel in July. We paid £340 half board which we thought was excellent value for money.
When we arrived (8.30pm) we were greeted by a very nice receptionist who showed us to our rooms and took our evening meal order as we arrived late.
We paid for a small room, which was adequate. Very clean and plenty of room for 2 people. I think the new part of the building has the big posh rooms as seen in the hotel pictures.

The food was very good. There was a wide buffet spread for breakfast; bread, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cooked - sausages, bacon and scrambled egg and variety of juice. You choose you're main evening meal at breakfast each day. Starters were a buffet of salad, then you choose between two soups and evening meal between 3 or 4 options (always 1 vegetarian option available). I found puddings weren’t quite as varied but always very nice and tasty. We also saw separate meals being bought out for children.
The staff were excellent and provided great customer service and were always friendly. The receptionist was particularly friendly with children. All the staff speak excellent English; we tried our best with the odd bit of German though!

The hotel offers free bike hire. We used them once to cycle down to lake Zell.

The hotel also has an indoor pool and sauna, gym etc. I only used the pool once, but all looked very nice and worth using in the winter after skiing.

We went to kaprun for the activities and booked through crystal. We arrived on the Saturday evening and meet our Rep on the Sunday morning. He was very good, showed us round part of the village and gave us all the information we needed. The crystal office was just down the road from the hotel and can't be missed (says crystal/thomson at top). I advise pre booking activities as they are more expensive in resort mainly due to the £ to euro conversion.
We did river rafting which was very good, a lot tamer than we imagined so it's great for older children/teenagers. We also did canyoning which was so much fun - climbing and jumping off high rocks into rock pools and sliding down waterfalls. Highest jump we did was 30ft!
We also did a 3 hour guided mountain bike tour, which I fell off coming downhill. And did skiing for a morning - you have to pay for full day but it gets very slushy by lunch time as it warms up in summer.

A fantastic holiday staying in an excellent hotel with good service from hotel staff and Crystal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slac623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews