We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
bucharest
1 review
“we love it”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

5 stars services and excellent meal.

We really plan to be back next summer holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis13Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    20
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
44
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2010

I spent 4 days in Barbarahof hotel and I surely recomend it as a perfect place after skiing.
The food was delicious (!) and the spa was adequate for me. Staff was very professional and pleasent as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojciech_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Location is very good and the staff is very kindful

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohamedAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We went for a ski-package (4 nights + 3 days ski pass). We reserved double de Luxe room, but got a complementary upgrade to Junior suite. There is plenty of space in the rooms, and a big balcony.
The location is very good, its 10-15min by car to the glacier. It is in the centre of Kaprun, so you can walk to the caffes, supermarket, sport shops, etc.
The hotel offers free bike renting, which we used to discover surrounding countryside.
Stuff is extremely nice, helpful and polite, especially the 3 ladies serving during the dinner and the ones working on the reception, including Ms Barbara, so we felt very welcomed all the time.
Spa area with a pool is very nice, and as this was end of season, there were not many people using it which was also great.
Food is delicious - buffet breakfast with big food variety, dinner with 4 main meals to choose from, but the soups were really delicious (every evening there are 2 to choose from), only sweets could be better. We also appreciated cheese selection after the dinner.
Wine is a bit expensive, but they have a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takilaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow.
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2010

A most welcoming hotel from the moment we arrived when mine host cut off the dodgy pad lock on my suitcase. The views from my well appointed room were stunning with the Kitsteinhorn Summit covered with snow. The dining room was lovely and the food excellent. The lounges and sitting rooms were superbly decorated as was the 'Satellite Bar' The bar was very quiet in the evening possibly due to the expensive drinks (my only complaint). Very attentive and helpful staff kept the place spotless. If the weather should be inclement stay indoors and try out the stunning pool,sauna and solarium. Chilled from the moment we arrived.
William & Rita Byrne
Glasgow.

Billy & Rita Byrne
Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williambyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

The hotel is really nice, food is fantastic, good choice of food for breakfast - hot food as well as continental. Evening meals were really good (5 courses). You need to choose your evening meal at breakfast time. The salad buffet is fantastic.

Staff are very polite and friendly. A special mention and thanks to Stephanie on reception and Victor in the restaurant. The spa is an added bonus.

There is a short walk to the bus stop (and when carrying skis seems like hard work). There is a bus to the local ski area which is good for beginners and good to find your ski legs on day 1. We caught the bus to the glacier and Zell am Zee most days. Bus service is very good.

After dinner we only managed to get to the hotel bar which is a bit pricey compared to local bars. Night life seemed quiet compared to say Soll. Apres Ski recommended at the Pavillion - try Jagermeister and Schnaps but not too many as they are very potent and you might not remember getting back to the hotel!

Crystal reps do not visit hotels anymore, they visit the local ski shop regularly though and if you need the rep you have to call him on his mobile, which obviously costs you money. The reception staff are very informative if you need any information (far better than one of the reps). They speak excellent English.

This hotel has all the amenities of a large chain but is much more personal. It is definitely 4* superior (not 3* superior as mentioned in another review). I think it is the best 4* hotel in the centre of Kaprun.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiffys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tg-mures
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The hotel is rated 4 stars superior, I would say is 3 stars superior. Excellent location, right in the centre of Kaprun. Food is ok, especially at breakfast. Dinner could be better, especially the soups. Furniture in the rooms looks like 80s. The staff is ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.9 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenparks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#4 of 30 in Kaprun
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tauernhof
Hotel Tauernhof
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof

Property: Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Strasse 11, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#7 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Barbarahof Enjoy your days to the fullest. During the day, the attractions of the region Zell am See - Kaprun will attract you and in the evening you can enjoy peace and relaxation at the Wellness Hotel Barbarahof, your hotel in Kaprun. Stylishly furnished rooms, spacious suites and Austrian hospitality await you. The Barbarahof combines high standards and quality at reasonable prices. Whether a family holiday, hiking or golf package - choose from our wide range of summer offers or grab the early bird bonus. The current winter packages include the right activity for every ski and pleasure holidaymaker. Passionate Porsche and car fans are also well catered for. In the immediate vicinity of the Barbarahof are several scenic roads on which you can enjoy the unparalleled scenery on a leisurely ride around the hotel in Kaprun and the entire region. In winter, there are two training ski lifts directly behind the hotel in Kaprun and the Maiskogelbahn family paradise nearby. The summit world on the Kitzsteinhorn and the Schmittenhohe ski area are within a few minutes. You can enjoy numerous hiking and daytrip destinations in the summer for free with the Zell am See-Kaprun Card. At the two 18-hole golf courses just five minutes away, you tee off with up to a discount on green fees and views from the 3,000 m peaks of the Hohe Tauern. Picturesque landscapes and an impressive mountain panorama: Already on your arrival, there is a lot to discover. Just arrived at the Barbarahof, the hosts will guide you personally through their tastefully decorated 4-star superior hotel in Kaprun - valuable leisure tips included. TOP-CLASS ENJOYMENT AT YOUR HOTEL IN KAPRUN The superior standard is always perceptible and tangible: Unique bed quality Sensational kitchen Outstanding wine and bar offer Seminars of different sizes (your hotel in Kaprun can be booked completely and exclusively for groups) Family run and personally supervised by the owners No laundry for hire: Our guests feel particularly at ease with our select hotel laundry and high-quality terry products, which are carefully cleaned and pressed by our staff in house. Gourmets, take note: culinary delights are waiting for you. Local suppliers coupled with authentic creations - the family run Barbarahof in Zell am See - Kaprun offers sensational food and the best wines at the highest international level. Everything to make you feel completely comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbarahof Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing