We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dads and Daughters Ski trip”
Review of Chalet Abendruh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalet Abendruh
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Three Dads and their 8 year old daughters went on a group holiday for the first time. I was slightly concerned before we went as to the quality of the chalet, having read some poor reviews, however my concerns were unfounded.
We had two rooms booked, one had a two double beds in and the other had two seperate rooms each with double bed , wardrobe and drawers. There was a clean, shared bathroom with shower, this was more than adequate for two dads, Lily and Eloise. The room was clean, fairly recently decorated and the furniture was clean and again fairly new. We were close and on the same level to the dining room which was ideal.
The food was excellently prepared by Troy with help from Mel and Sam. They couldn't do enough for you and were happy to give alternative meals for the girls if needed. Unfortunately even skiing every day couldnt burn of the calories and the never ending supply of wine (not fine wine but drinkable) kept the most hardy of drinkers happy.
The location of the chalet was fine even though a bus rides is required - the bus will stop directly outside the chalet unless the grumpy driver is on and you have to walk 100 yards to the bus stop.
The resort was great for the girls who were on their second ski trip, the instructor was ecellent and as we went out of holiday time there was only 4 in the group. By day three they were up the mountain and by day 6 had carefully came down a red run.
One problem with the Chalet was the lack of wifi which we would have been happy to pay 5 or 10 euros for a week. You could get this free in one of the internet cafes in town.
Also very minor points with breakfast - bigger toaster required!
The ski storage room was a bit tight if a few of you are there at the same time.
As the chalet has tiled floors it can be noisy if people are coming back late at night, but this again was not a big issue.
I would go back to this resort with my wife Sandra and Lily and would stay in the Abendruh without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 38 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

Overall

Unsure what to expect with a package deal and catered chalet however we were pleasantly surprised. From start to finish it would be difficult to fault the overall experience, good transfers, the staff at the chalet could not have done more for you, good quality of food with cooked breakfast and three course dinner in the evening, always a smile and pleasant greeting. All of the guests we spoke to had nothing but praise. I think the chalet had been recently refurbished which obviously helped the overall experience. Remember your swimming costumes as there is a sauna and also a spa a short bus ride away.

We stayed on the top floor room 10 which was fine, sometimes you heard other guests come in but generally ok.

Negatives

The only negatives would be the buses to zell am zee can be few and far between during the day if you swap from the glacier to zell. The chalet is a walk to town but not bad and there is a bus back
Excursions

Did not try any ourselves but the bar crawl is supposed to be good and there is a free ski escort service from Joe and Geoff. I think there are quite a few activities which we missed especially the ice karting but Geoff is generally around and keen to help


Pistes

Pick up the glacier bus at the bottom of the road and the Zell bus in town opposite the local slope.

The skiing area is on the whole very good, i would not say it was a beginners paradise but good intermediate, if you ski the local slope stay a the top as the bottom can get a bit icy, brilliant snow park at the glacier, dont miss the ice bar or the panorama view at the top of the gondola. Zell is worth skiing and generally good, bottom slopes can be steep, if you do not like walking avoid the blue piste 12a which really isn't a piste but a walk. One of the guests said there is brilliant pizza at one of the piste bars at the bottom of schuttdorft lifts.

Eating/ drinking

Short walk to town but there is a bus which drops you at the bottom of the road. The restaurant opposite palletis bar is very good but cannot remember the name, Zuchinis did not get very good reviews from other guests, and the pizza at palletis were very good. Beer not too expensive in town at around 3.8 euros a pint. Zell is worth going to in the evening, local taxi 16 euros one way for a 7 seater, crazy daisy, b17's are worth visiting and there is an organized bar crawl early in the week which is supposed to be good fun but we missed because we were knackered.

For what we payed which included lift passes, flights, full board and wine we would certainly go again. I think you have to be a bit lucky with who your hosts are but we could not fault our three and one of the couples who had been hosts before in Tignes could not praise their professionalism enough. Thanks again to the staff at the chalet who seem to work very long hours but are still up for a laugh, big thanks to MEL, SAM AND TROY. And if you want to know anything about traveling around the world just ask MEL she has been everywhere and especially loves Australia.


Oh and please tip them as there wages are rubbish according to the host from TIGNES who ribbed them all week.

Graham Maidstone

Room Tip: top floor for less passing traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed as a family of 4 for 1 week beginning Christmas Eve 2011. After reading trip advisor the week before departure we became quite concerned regarding the property, but to be honest the fears were unfounded. I dont doubt the previous comments, but the Abendruh has had a facelift and was an excellent stay. We stayed in Room 2, this had two adjoining bedrooms and a good size shower room, it was exactly right for our family.
The food was fantastic. thanks to Troy the chalet Chef. His professionalism was excellent throughout and his experience was reflected in the restaurant standard of the meals. Jess was an excellent host as were Sam and Sam and briefly Nicola. The people made the difference between a good holdiay and an excellent one so thank you all. If I had to make a negative comment it would be the location was a couple of minutes outside the centre and thius can be uncomfortable in ski boots - we hired a locker onthe mountain and this problem disappeared

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank andy4718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Disappointed with the cleanliness. Black hairs all over the floor and bed. Dirty surfaces. Food was ok but have had better in other similar graded chalets. However, soup and cake was nice enough. Would not recommend the last week of the season as lads seemed to have ran out of money to stock up, ie. ran out of juice and yougurts midweek and there were no appertifs on last night as promised.

The chalet could be so much better if properly run and cleaned as the decor has been upgraded fairly recently. Also in a peaceful location not too far from town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derlor-matnels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Bad Points:- Main problem was lack of cleanliness. Room had not been swept/cleaned. Hairs all over floor and on beds. Pieces of broken roll on window sills. Hadn't been checked by chalet Manager?. Chalet run by two young student males who don't get paid much . No central heating. Small plug in electric heater. No where to hange wet ski wear.

Good Points:- Quite close to Kaprun town centre, yet in quiet area. Kaprun is a nice Austrian town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derlor-matnels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I have recently stayed at the Abendruh and this is my second visit to Kaprun.

Although it being low season and the buses running a limited service, If you can read bus time tables this is not a problem and all buses run on time. But during high session their is a local hopper bus service which stops right out side the Abendruh and runs very frequantly, if you dont catch this bus it is only a short walk down the road to catch the K2.

Hosts Lee and Owen made my party feel very welcome on arrival and through out the week. Nothing was to much trouble evan when catering for fussy diets. They even joined in after dinner games and where very pleasant to chat.

The chalet has recently been refurbished and was very comfortable. It is also well located and not to far from kaprun centre and the castle.

Thankyou chaps for an amazing week.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed here with a group for a late season break. The Chalet is very comfortable and warm, having been newly refurbished last summer. The bedrooms are large with leather sleigh beds in true Austrian twin style, making for a good nights sleep after strenuous days. Public rooms are equally well presented, with leather settees in the lounge/ dining area, and quaint wooden furniture in the stube. The Chalet sleeps up to about 20 people, and meals are served at large communal tables, ensuring there is lots of conversation about the day's skiing etc. This made the atmosphere very friendly and relaxed. The Chalet was staffed by Crystal holidays staff, so food is "English". Dishes were varied and well cooked. Wine was freely available, carafes being topped up as soon as they were empty. Staff asked about dietary requirements on the first day, and catered for these very well (2 of our party had special dietary needs, and this did not pose a problem). Breakfast was cold buffet style, with a hot option served as well (freshly cooked). Porridge was also available, so all in all you were set up for an active day on the slopes. Delicious home made cakes were available for afternoon tea (Owen's chocolate and Toblerone cake was a particular favourite!).The staff were friendly and helpful. All requests and questions were dealt with quickly and efficiently, and they shared their knowledge and experience of the area with enthusiasm- thanks Owen and Lee for making a good holiday great! The Chalet is located up a hill from the bus stop- about a 5 minute walk. Buses to the glacier are every half an hour, and as you get on at the second or third stop, it is easy to get a seat each morning. In the winter the local bus comes up past the Chalet, so the walk is less in bad weather. The walk into town takes about 10 minutes (strolling pace) and there is a supermarket, hotels and bars. The Maiskogel ski area is located at the back of the supermarket and ski rental shop, but was closed when we were there because of the time in the season. The glacier provides excellent snow conditions until late in the season, because of the height. The price we paid for this holiday was very good value. Don't go to a catered Chalet if you expect 5 star food or stuffy service. Do go, though, if you want a friendly relaxed atmosphere with like minded people, and hearty food prepared and served by enthusiastic helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#17 of 30 in Kaprun
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pension Eschenhof
Pension Eschenhof
#15 of 30 in Kaprun
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Active by Leitner's
Active by Leitner's
#7 of 30 in Kaprun
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Abendruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Abendruh

Address: Peter-Buchner-Strasse 17, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range: $92 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Abendruh 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely Chalet in Kaprun, Austria offers a warm welcome for all its guests. Close to the slopes of Kaprun and Zell am See. It is family friendly, sleeps up to 22 guests and offers half board accommodation. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and wine, offering breakfast, afternoon tea and cakes plus a superb 3 course evening meal with free wine. Find us on the web, facebook and twitter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet Abendruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Abendruh Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing