We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see!”

Hochgebirgsstauseen
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Must see! In mountains above Kaprun are built two water reservoirs for the surrounding area. You need to take a bus ride to the top, even this first part is attraction, because mountain roads are connected by many tunnels.
Close to the second dam is nice restaurant and some shops, but this should be just stopover as there are some really nice trails to take.
Tip: Lakes looks much better from one of the mountains around and reward for challenging climb will be awesome pictures.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank Stanislav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"inclined lift"
in 4 reviews
"zell am see"
in 11 reviews
"the bus"
in 15 reviews
"hiking options"
in 2 reviews
"cable car lift"
in 2 reviews
"visited this attraction"
in 2 reviews
"summer card"
in 8 reviews
"clear sunny day"
in 2 reviews
"nice restaurant"
in 3 reviews
"bright turquoise"
in 2 reviews
"dam reservoir"
in 2 reviews
"ticket office"
in 3 reviews
"amazing views"
in 2 reviews
"lakes"
in 13 reviews
"nature"
in 7 reviews
"engineering"
in 4 reviews
"funicular"
in 7 reviews
Filter

62 - 66 of 217 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Maybe it was the grey skies or the mists that materialised over the reservoirs, but if the Lady of the Lake had raised the sword Excalibur from the flat green-grey wates, you could have forgotten t you are in a man-made environment among the high, show-dredged mountains. Turn your back on the hospitality and technological areas, and the place exudes a silence that the tourists didn't seem to penetrate.
The construction of this series of dams began in the 1930s and was finally completed on a much larger scale as part of the the postwar reconstruction process. The huge walls curve away in a disorientating manner that is not easy to photograph and is best viewed without the lens.
Now to be prosaic. This trip is FREE if you have the Kaprun card from your hotel. Seriously.
You can't drive beyond the end of the Kaprun Valley, but the special bus will take you from the dedicated car park on a hairy 1000metre+ ascent. Well, I thought it was hairy, especially on the way down, but I am a contrary wimp who likes altitude but suffers from acrophobia. The road and tunnels were initially created for the building work and then for the maintainance, and you begin to comprehend what an incredible feat of engineering it was, even before you reach the dams themselves or go into the excellent information areas and see and read the displays. There is, by the way, a moving memorial to those who died on the site during the Nazi period, who were forced labour.
There are walks to be done in the high altitude but the weather that day, while it added to the atmosphere, would not have made it a safe undertaking even with the appropriate kit and provisions. Instead, we enjoyed the views and photographed the many alpine flowers that thrived in the cool, damp, gritty soil.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank frigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We used a Zell card given to us by our hotel so we had free entry to many places (You can not buy this card it is only supplied by the hotel to guests)
so we had bus for 1€ a trip one way each adult plus free entry . Took about 40 minutes from Zell. Then new ticket free with card up on special bus about 45 minutes through tunnel after tunnel till we got to the top what a view . You can eat, sleep and play on the mount walk if you must, on the way down we walked from the path for about 45 minutes through the meadows and paths not to steep ,(but must wear good foot wear )then waited at bus stop for next bus DOWN jumped on and away , Have special system for bus going up and down in the way of being controlled, so no slowing down ...
e had a good day at the weather was fine you can take a picture of your self at the top by the lake then download it from
WWW.verbund.com/tim/de/Kaprun ....... Note date and time you took photo as this helps when looking on web. Page.
Fantastic VEIW when we were there , beware of rain come quickly and at short notice but paces quickly through the mountains.
Very Very large multi storey car park at base , but make sure if you are using public bus to check last bus away or you might have a VERY LONG
Walk back to where you are staying. Evejoy the trip UP watch out for Marmets , cows and sheep !!!!!!

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a must do in Kaprun. There a two damns built high in the Alps, the second seems to be almost on top of the mountain. We took a bus through miles of endless tunnels and winding roads to finally reach the top. Once on top the view is spectacular. 360 degrees of snow capped mountains, the lakes, and the green pastures below. To make it even better, it's all free with the
ZellamSee Kaprun card you get with staying at most local hotels.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank Prindle150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is one of the most spectacular sights I’ve ever seen in Austria. High in the mountains (over 2,000m) above the village of Kaprun are two huge reservoir lakes both held back by dams. We have always promised ourselves a visit and this year we finally made it.

The approach by car or coach did not look promising. Apart from the lovely mountain scenery we were dismayed to see a grey concrete multi storey car park huddled in a gorge but having seen many photos of the astonishing scenery at the dams we parked the car and walked the short distance to the information centre and ticket off ice at Kesselfall-Alpenhaus. We thought €19 was quite a high price until we boarded the bus. Now we know it was worth every cent.

The bus takes over half an hour to reach the higher lake and dam. Most of this journey takes place inside the mountain. The bus climbs through the lengthy Lärchwand tunnel before emerging close to the lower dam then re-enters the mountain.When reaching the top and alighting from the bus the views are entirely breathtaking. Mountains peaks and glaciers of the high Tauern range enclose the lake on the southern side while the magnificent Mooser dam curves around the northern side. It takes quite a few minutes to drink in the views. The tranquillity of the scene is beautiful. Photo opportunities at are endless.

There is an organised tour, tickets for which are available at a kiosk beside the lake but we wanted to explore on our own. We had lunch in blazing sunshine outside a café (homecooked food) and walked out along the dam to the other side where there’s a tiny museum with information about the building of these immense structures and also about ice and meltwater.

The bus ride up and down was, for me, a little disconcerting at first. I had no idea it would take so long but once I got used to being in the tunnel I was fine. I certainly wouldn’t let it stop me going there again.

You can make this trip between 2 June - 14 October. These dates are for 2012. Next year dates may vary.

From Salzburg we took the A10 autobahn to Bischopshofen and then the B311 towards Zell am See. Kaprun is clearly signposted from Zell. It was an easy drive with fabulous scenery along the way.

Date of experience: September 2012
5  Thank LizR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hochgebirgsstauseen also viewed

Kaprun, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Kaprun, Salzburg Region
Kaprun, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Hochgebirgsstauseen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing