We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Fab Fab!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
N Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab Fab Fab!”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Steigenberger for midterm and it was wonderful. The service is personalised and the staff helpful and friendly from chambermaids to Manager.
We had wonderful views from our room of the mountains and village.
The hotel is ideally situated for skiing, lifts to slopes just across the road from the hotel.
The wellness centre is very relaxing.
The food is especially good, from freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast to a wide range of dishes for dinner, all excellently presented

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shintyNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    92
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
127
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I stayed here with my son for 2 nights as part of a cycling holiday across part of Austria. The hotel was great - clean, tidy, modern - all of the staff were positive, polite and very helpful (and thankfully all spoke English so that I didn't have to get by with my broken german lingo).

There is an outdoor and indoor pool and small gym (cardio and a little resistance eqpt but no freeweights).

The breakfast buffet was fantastic - great quality and variety including smoked salmon and just about everything else you'd want for breakfast.

We only had one evening meal but, as expected, it was great quality.

I'd be very happy recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBADevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

I spent there two nights from 23.- 25.03.2007
Kaprun itself is a little cosy village, perfectly for starting trips or for skiing.

The Steigenberger is just in the middle of the town, surrounded by other hotels, restaurants, pubs and shops. The rooms are very charming and typical decorated in the "mountain style" and big enough. Ask for a room with mountain view :o)
Everything was very clean, from the reception to the bathroom and back to the Wellness area. It is perfect to combine skiing or just a wellness weekend. We booked a massage right in the hotel and there are lots of other treatments you can enjoy.
The breakfast menu and also the other food in the restaurant was outstanding. Make sure you try the Käsespätzle :o)
Even if we spent only two nights there, I felt like in heaven! Would go back there any time.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looni78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2009

I went for skiing holidays with all family in early December 2008, beautiful hotel and superb assistance, very pleasent and helpful people. Nice surroundings with lots of funky bars and fantastic atosphere. Surely we will go back this year just before Xmas.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed at the Steigenberger for seven nights recently and we absolutely adored the hotel.

It seems an unusual place to have a summer holiday but we'd been skiing so many times and oftern discussed how lovely it would be to go to a Ski resort in the Summer months.

We decided to stay in Kaprun as the town looked so beautiful. we arrived at the train station in Zell Am See and were collected by the hotel. On arrival check in was very straight forward and were offered a glass on Champagne. Our room was comfortable and had a balcony with a view of the town. The staff were very efficient and friendly.

We were able to do a lot of walking and it is easy to hire mountain bikes. It was also possible to go summer skiing on the Glacier.

Our aim was to relax which we found incredibly easy at the hotel especially in the Spa and Sauna.

I would definitely recommend this as a summer holiday, there is so much to do. The staff surpass expectations and really are a credit to the company.

The town was incredibly quiet with hardly any tourists. We met a lot of locals who were really friendly and welcoming. (being quiet may not suit all but for a relaxing break it was fantastic)

We will definitely go back.....

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LOVE3TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We booked this hotel for a skiing holiday with another couple. One of our group was not a particularly keen skier and we chose the hotel for its facilities so that she would have other options on the holiday.

We were greeted with a glass of champagne in reception, which really set the tone for the whole holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and are a real credit to the hotel. Our rooms were spacious and well furnished and far more comfortable than any skiing accommodation that I have stayed in within Europe.

The spa and other facilities were fantastic and we ended up in the pool area every day after skiing. One warning - the spa is adults only and no clothes are allowed! Don't worry though, you can wear a towel if you don't want to bare all. Having said that it only seemed to be the Brits in the hotel who were not entirely comfortable with the nudity! Within the hotel there is also a therapy centre (offering massages etc), a ski shop with hire centre and various other bits and pieces. We only ate evening meals in the hotel a couple of times, but the food was always good.

When we were leaving the hotel we were told that the manager needed to see us. At first we panicked, thinking that there was a problem with our bill, but then the manager came out and personally thanked us for staying with them! This place could be a model of how customer service should work.

All in all, this is now a favourite place for us. One tip - we stayed Thurs to Weds and I'm sure that this worked in our favour since they hotel and ski resort were quiet when we arrived and when we left.

  • Liked — Staff & spa
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Perpetual_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed at the Steigenberger Kaprun for a February ski break. The staff provided excellent, efficient service in all aspects, and created a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The hotel combines traditional comforts with modern features - and the spa room is outstanding. We stayed half board, and the food was superb. The nearest ski lift is just a couple of minutes stroll away, and efficient buses get you to two further areas quickly. The ski hire shop in the hotel gave top quality service. Snow conditions and grooming on all three ski areas were fantastic. Go there - you'll love it!

  • Liked — The friendly, efficient service provided by all staff.
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.7 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
0.3 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Kapruner Hof
Der Kapruner Hof
#6 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tauernhof
Hotel Tauernhof
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Alpenhaus Kaprun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Alpenhaus Kaprun

Property: Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Address: Schlossstrasse 2, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kaprun
#2 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Alpenhaus Kaprun 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "ALPENHAUS KAPRUN" 4-star hotel is situated at the heart of Kaprun (Salzburg's Pinzgau) at an elevation of 786 m above sea level (near Zell Lake and Kitzsteinhorn). For many years, THE ALPENHAUS KAPRUN has been a popular destination for skiers, hikers, wellness holiday-makers and seminar organisers alike. This traditional 4-star hotel at the heart of Kaprun reinvented itself newly: Alpine flair is being introduced to the rooms and suites, to the generous Alp Lounge and to the rooms of the restaurant. One thing will certainly be remaining the same, and that is the cordial attentive hospitality, the compre-hensive service and the holiday packages which deserve best marks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Das Alpenhaus Kaprun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing