We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was a real treat the rooms were in a horse shoe shape with jaw dropping views all around. The rooms were a good size with a balcony. We were half board and really enjoyed the food breakfast and dinner. The staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel but didn't hear anything bad about the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice & has clean rooms, but the room lacks many things. There was no AC, no iron (nor was the hotel able to provide one for security reasons!), no complimentary in-room coffee/tea maker, and no English channels on TV. Also, the room cleaner didn't do a good job in many ways; the toiletries were provided only when we checked in. The cleaner didnt replace the toiletries at all! Nor did she replace the complimentary water or the laundry bag. As for the reception, some were not fluent in English, and we had to deal with an ill mannered receptionist when we came late and found the parking garage to be locked. The complimentary breakfast buffet was okay, but the waiters were not "happy" on the first day we were there. Once they found out we were actually nice people, they started to greet us nicely and not stereo type our ethnicity -which was a big problem that we faced in Austria. I'd only recommend this place for its location. What you pay here is way too much than what you should actually get. There are other better hotels near by. I suggest you try another hotel (make sure they have AC) since this town is small and everything is walking distance anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evilmisspolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed four nights on Riviera Lakes & Mountains tour. We had a room at side of hotel with view of hotel next door from our balcony. The weather was very hot, about 35C during the day. Because there is no air conditioning we needed to keep the bedroom windows open, but there a was a lot of noise outside: other gusts chatting loudly on their balconies until 1am, and then locals racing their cars along the street outside until 3am.
The room itself was good and the spa pools, indoor and outside, are excellent.
Breakfasts were self-service and good, with omelettes cooked to order. Dinner first course was self-service from excellent salad bar, or soup, then waitress served main course and sweet. The food is well presented, but with almost no vegetables. In one main course, in addition to a few potatoes, there was one mange tout and one slice of carrot! Also chef seems to think that a large dollop of cream is an essential part of every dish: so cream in the soup, cream sauce on the meat and cream on every sweet. That's OK once, but not every day.
Like other hotels in the area, the hotel is primarily there for skiers, but if they want guests in summer they should have air conditioning.
The hotel is privately owned, with new owners from May. So all towels, dressing gowns and everything else with the new hotel name on it are new.

Room Tip: Ask for room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As part of our Lakes and Mountains trip, the Das Alpenhaus was our hotel for the last 4 days of our tour. We loved our 3 day stay in Saltzburg which was charming and full of history. Kaprun was a complete contrast but it did not disappoint us. The Das Alpenhaus is a lovely hotel, the rooms light and airy. We were supplied with bathrobes and slippers and really comfy beds and best of all a balcony with fabulous views. Staff lovely and attentive. food great - a perfect end to our holiday tour.

Room Tip: our room was quite noisy at night which was located by the night club. But to be fair this was only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed there for four nights, the hotel is very good.with gr8 view of the alps.
the rooms are very nice, and the pool is very good,the food is very delicious,and the staff was very nice and hospitable. i dont have any cons on this hotel , it was an amzaing trip . i will definitly come again my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed_shalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice, clean and conducive to rest and relaxation. I find it frustrating that in this day and age, wifi is still not free in general. They provide 30 mins free access/day, but this is not really enough if you're staying there for business as I did. The breakfast is the best free (with the rate) breakfast buffet I have seen so far in my times in Germany/Austria area. Certainly my favorite meal of the day while staying here.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Jumbocano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've stayed here twice - once a week as a young couple in 2006, once as solo traveller going there for skiing in 2013. Its location is right in the center of Kaprun, close to everything. They have large underground parking (extra charge 8€/day). Rooms are large and well furnished, I particularly loved the bed linen. Most of them have balconies and view over the mountains. The bar area is very nice & cozy , with fireplace and large couches & armchairs - and the bartenders will prepare virtually anything you can think of - whether or not in the menu. There is a large, decent smoking area within the bar.
The hotel has also a nice spa area, with large inside pool (and an equaly large outside pool), jacuzzi , steambath, sauna (both bio & finnish) and relaxation areas.
The restaurant is decent, rich breakfast offer. For dinner however I opted often for the across the street italo-mexican restaurant Zuchinni , which offerred excelent food , great atmosphere and the most kind & friendly waiters I have ever met.
In my opinion, Steigenberger is a place to enjoy and return to. I will definatelly stay there again when in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: although I booked a single room on booking.com, I still got a large double (I don't think they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CameliaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.7 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
677 reviews
0 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
0.3 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Der Kapruner Hof
Der Kapruner Hof
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Active by Leitner's
Active by Leitner's
#7 of 30 in Kaprun
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Alpenhaus Kaprun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Alpenhaus Kaprun

Address: Schlossstrasse 2, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kaprun
#2 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range: $184 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Alpenhaus Kaprun 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "ALPENHAUS KAPRUN" 4-star hotel is situated at the heart of Kaprun (Salzburg's Pinzgau) at an elevation of 786 m above sea level (near Zell Lake and Kitzsteinhorn). For many years, THE ALPENHAUS KAPRUN has been a popular destination for skiers, hikers, wellness holiday-makers and seminar organisers alike. This traditional 4-star hotel at the heart of Kaprun reinvented itself newly: Alpine flair is being introduced to the rooms and suites, to the generous Alp Lounge and to the rooms of the restaurant. One thing will certainly be remaining the same, and that is the cordial attentive hospitality, the compre-hensive service and the holiday packages which deserve best marks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Das Alpenhaus Kaprun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing