We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Spa!”
Review of Hotel Tauernhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tauernhof
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stunning Spa!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in early Feb for a week's ski trip with family and friends The hotel was lovely and had some great facilities. The pool and luxury spa are stunning - particularly the swinging beds. Great after a day of skiing. The rooms we had were a bit in the small side compared with similar hotels we have stayed in in Austria. Moreover they were at the front of the hotel which meant a lot if noise at times meaning a bit up and down opening/shutting window (room very hot!) which was surprising as it's not a resort known for nightlife yet we heard a few smashing bottles and shouting late on. Also in the morning listen out for the church bells!

On a positive note the food in the hotel was fantastic - quality! One downside was that the salad buffet and breakfast was not replenished quick enough. We had to ask and wait a few times and which appeared to upset the owner for some reason. We were quite annoyed by this. On the upside the rest of the staff were charming - especially Patrick. Would recommend this hotel though would request a back room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge G, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Tauernhof, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear GFergie,

thank you for your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday at the Tauernhof in Kaprun.
Due to our central location in the heart of Kaprun it can happen at times, that guests can hear people on the street. The rooms on the front side of the hotel are bookable to the best available rate. If guests want to stay in a room on the back side of our house, we are happy to offer an upgrade (surcharge) to our junior suites and suites.

Thank you also for your remark concerning the salad and breakfast buffet. We prepare every dish freshly, so it might happen that it takes some minutes in order to refill the buffet. In our next team meeting we’ll discuss this issue.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Tauernhof and we send our best regards,

The Gschwandtner family and the entire hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    64
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
115
64
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic family ski holiday staying at the Hotel Tauernhof in Kaprun.
Our room was a family junior suite which was clean, spacious and ideally located at the back of the hotel so it was quiet and had lovely views of the teaching ski area. There were a few extras too including a fridge, bathrobes, towels for the pool, rucksack and umbrella and plenty space to put clothing & suitcases for 4.
We were half board at the hotel and the variety of food was fantastic and all of a very good quality. We enjoyed a mixture of buffet, choices and a gala dinner. There was also a separate menu for the children every night. There was a selection of snacks and cakes available with hot drinks every afternoon which was perfect after the skiing.
There is a ski room for keeping skis and boots, a small gym and a very nice swimming pool/sauna area. There is also a games room with table football and snooker to keep the children amused. The staff were efficient, helpful and we were made to feel welcome with young children (age 4 and 5).
The hotel is also in the ideal position in the village of Kaprun because it is close to the ski school, ski rental shops, ski bus stops for the Glacier and Zell am See, supermarket, bakery, bars and restaurants.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Family rooms are all at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GHill15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Three generations went to Austria. I agree the whole thing evolves around a ski week but the Hotel was great and to make it even better the staff were really FANTASTIC. Our grandchild was just a bit too young to ski with the ski school at the back of the hotel but the town was delightful and with the easy short trip to the spa he was in his element. Mum & Dad got a 5 day pass and went skiing up the glacier via a short bus trip, Nan & Granddad 'voluntarily' looked after the grandchild swimming, walking, lunching and just enjoying the clean Austrian air.
I'm not going to lie to you, I'm not sure who got the most worn out (the skiers, child-minders or grandchild) but what an experience, great for us all.
If its simply skiing go as a couple, As a relaxing Spa go alone or as a couple, but if your a family is like us (who need a rest now were back but with wonderful memories)..............go for it,

Room Tip: road side can get a bit of noise with departures etc. along with the odd late revellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our family stayed in the hotel from dec.29, 2013 till jan.10, 2014. Everything was excellent. The hotel stay near children ski school so it's very comfortably. We leave our children at school at 9:30 and take them away on mountain or in the school at 2 or 2:30 pm. Near Kaprun
located 2 ski zone, nearest is Maiscogel it's good and we can walk there 10 minutes. Maiskogel is not so large as Kitzsteinhorn. We need 15 minutes at the city bus to get Kitzsteinhorn. This ski zone is very big and perfect. The trip at bus is not tiring, and bus stop is near ski lift. You can drive at your car, but car parking is more that bus stop.
Cuisine in our hotel is very tasty. All wait staff is very friendly. Patrick is very funny. We prefer to speak english or deutsch to have some practice. 2 last days of our staying Waitress begins to learn russian words because new guests from Russia. These guests don't know any words except russian :-). The hotel has pool and spa zone with different sauna, so it was very comfortable to swim after skiing. Spa zone- is a nude zone, so it's only for adults. Near the pool is locate small sauna near 60 C, so children can visit it. Our holidays was very comfortable, I highly recommend this hotel. Many thanks to Tauernhof-Team.

Alexey.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have just returned today from this great hotel !

We booked a ski holiday to Kaprun , and I choose the Tauernhof after reading the reviews . This hotel was the right choice , they exceeded my expectations . My flight was delayed by 6 hrs and after not arriving until 01.30 am , I was exhausted and tired . We was met by a lady in reception who in no time was taking us to our room . She also said the hotel had laid some sandwiches and sparkling water on , which was waiting in our room !
We then saw the room , it was spotlessly clean , a comfortable Austrian twin bed , fridge , safe and free internet , also which was a nice touch they had bath robes , and slippers for use in the wellness area . They even have a rucksack , and umbrella hanging up in your room for your use . In the morning we went down for breakfast , wow what a great buffet , fresh fruit , yogurts , cooked food as we'll , filter coffee , all in all a great start to my stay . The staff were fantastic , and the hosts were fabulous . Frau Gschwandtner was very polite , and helpful full of Austrian hospitality . In the afternoon they provide , soup , cake and coffee , at no extra charge ! So after a day skiing it was like a warm welcome home . Also which is a must try the Wellness area , lovely swimming pool , and clothed sauna . But if you are more adventurous you could try the over 16 nude saunas , steam rooms , solarium , ice rub , a great way to unwind after a hard ski day !
The evening meal was normally 5 courses , and the chef would make great tasting meals . As a party of 5 people , no one was let down , they all said amazing ! I mentioned to a staff member that my wife was celebrating her birthday so I would not be in to eat that night as I was taking her out , and they gave her a champagne breakfast !!! Just outstanding .
Anyway do not hesitate in booking this hotel , would love to visit them again soon . To Gerald and Inge Gschwandtner thank you for a superb holiday , and the staff so helpful , polite ,....

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are more quieter , My daughter had a single occupancy room and it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 7 inc adults & teenage kids & this hotel exceeded all our expectations. Staff, food, service and facilities were top notch. Our late arrival and early departure all catered for and we will book direct with hotel for our next stay to avoid crystal's transfer debacle! New Year's Eve was fabulous and the gala dinner was a real success. The sauna and pool area provided much needed relief for ski aches and pains and is state of the art... We have skied all over the world and this is a definite return to hotel for us! Well done & thank you taurnehof team.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We'd like to thank the staff at the Tauernhof for a memorable stay over Christmas 2013.

This a hotel where nothing is too much trouble and the only place we have ever stayed where the staff are always smiling and cheerful !

The rooms are lovely with very comfy beds, a few nice touches such as bath robes, slippers, brolly and rucksacks.

The food was outstanding and plentiful, with plenty of traditional Austrian cuisine on offer and all served by delightful staff in traditional dress (we thought this was a really nice touch).

The pool and spa facilities were fantastic, the boot room cosy, warm and well organised and the additional games rooms very welcome and provided fun especially for the kids, but must say we enjoyed the table tennis too !

We planned this holiday as treat to ourselves after a tough year and the Tauernhof did not disappoint in any way.

Room Tip: If you are easily irritated by late night street noise, chose a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.9 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
0.2 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#4 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Der Kapruner Hof
Der Kapruner Hof
#6 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tauernhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tauernhof

Property: Hotel Tauernhof
Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Strasse 9, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Family Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tauernhof 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The secret behind your holiday enjoyment 4-star Hotel Tauernhof in Kaprun unites high-class service with a personal atmosphere. Our highest goal is to make your vacation in SalzburgerLand an unforgettable experience. Our secret for your perfect vacation experience? A relaxing family atmosphere, the wonderful mountain world of the Pinzgau and a whole range of marvelous extras make your vacation an experience to remember. Summer and winter, our guests can expect the best of the best - and even a little bit more. Not least because, in our family-run hotel you immediately feel the friendly atmosphere that comes from our joy in providing outstanding service. Unwind in our spacious rooms, experience the soothing tranquility of our modern wellness area, and in our restaurant enjoy exquisite palate pleasers from our kitchen and cellars. Every step of the way, you are accompanied by tasteful Alpine style and a brand of sincerity that quickly turns guests into friends. Location It doesn't get any better than this... Hotel Tauernhof enjoys a quiet yet central location in the town center of Kaprun. Our house serves as an ideal base for hikes, water sports on the Zeller See, sightseeing trips, as well as wintery skiing enjoyment on the nearby pistes of the Zell am See-Kaprun ski area. Kaprun Kaprun lies in the Pinzgau district, surrounded by the wonderful mountain world of the Hohe Tauern range as well as the Zell am See-Kaprun region. This small mountain village of barely 3.000 residents charmingly combines tradition and modernity. Guests from around the world treasure the breathtaking nature all around us and the sincere brand of hospitality for which SalzburgerLand is renowned. But don't just take our word for it - experience it all for yourself, during your vacation at Hotel Tauernhof. A 60-year tradition of hospitality unites the Gschwandtner family with the Tauernhof. From the time this place was opened back in 1953, the mother of Gerald Gschwandtner ran the inn with her three sisters. Over the years, the family business was steadily expanded, most recently in 2012 with the building of a new, 500 m² wellness oasis christened the "Tauernreich". And so it was that, over the course of time, an inn was transformed into a hotel, one that more than does justice to the high expectations of modern hospitality. Tradition tried-and-true Today it is Gerald Gschwandtner and wife Inge who run the Tauernhof, constantly keeping a close eye on the wellbeing of their guests. With their children Rudi and Christina, the next generation is already standing right there at their side in order to continue a time-tested tradition on into the future. We look forward to having the privilege of welcoming you here in person! Family Gschwandtner & the Tauernhof Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tauernhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauernhof Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing