We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family ski sensation”
Review of Das Falkenstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Das Falkenstein
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family ski sensation”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We are a young family with 2 kids and went to SF for 7 nights especially to learn ski riding.
The reservation process was smooth and the people there are very friendly and communicative. The hotel really tries to give you the best comfort possible. It has parking places, a specially designed ski deposit room with boots drying system, a large playroom for kids and for grownups (darts, table tenis and footbal, billard, etc). The pool is quite large and comfortable warm (water at 26-27 C), whirlpool and waterfall included. They serve a particular tasty tee (a secret melange which was not divulged to us by the owner) at the pool. I tell ya, relaxing at a cup of that tee with an Apflestrudel makes your day after a heavy moring on skis. The leisure area has several types of saunas (I'm not much of a connaisseur myself) and a separate shower, dryer, everything.
The restaurant gives you the best of local cooking styles but has also serbian influences. I would definitely recommend you to est there. Every day 5 different dishes, 3 of them at your choice. We ordered all of them every day, and all of them (even the daily vegetarian dish) were absolutely a delight. The mise en place and the care of the cook makes dining a wonderful event.
Breakfast is very diverse, you can eat every day something different for more than a week.
The rooms are large and the kids had a separate yet open sleeping area, with a double extended couch (very comfortable for sleeping). The beds are great, yet the pillows a bit soft (this being though a quite subjective matter). Bathroom had 2 lavatories and a full size tub, nothing to comment here. Storage room more than sufficient.
One thing was for me particularly annoying, the wireless range did not cover our room, and I had to go to the lobby for a better connection. But in the end we were there for other reasons than staying in touch with the office, right? So thank you Falkenstein for not having a wireless in our room!
What is most important when going skiing, Falkenstein has it:
50m away from the busstop, which is a bliss.
5 minutes away from all major ski slopes
+! a wonderful 20% discount for skis and courses with they partner ski rental shop (we could buy a skipass only from this discount)
What else? SH also arranged our transfer from Salzburg Airport at a fair price (we could not find a better price) on a VIP shuttle bus (just us 4) - for almost the price of the standard bus (but no one's carrying your luggage...)
I hope this review gives you some insights in our week in Kaprun at Falkenstein Sportshotel. Thank you all, and have a nice ski trip there!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed here for three nights to ski and had a great time. Staff were all really helpful and friendly. Booked a ski package including half-board and ski passes.

When we checked in we were given a choice of rooms and offered help with our luggage. Comfortable clean rooms with plenty of space for our ski clothes, plus a boot room downstairs.

Breakfast was good with a really wide choice of everything from cereal and 'boil your own' eggs, yoghurts to breads and cakes. Dinner was four or five course and was always different and equally tasty after a day on the slopes. Great soups!

Good location just on the edge of town but near a ski bus stop if you don't have a car. We did and it was 2 minutes drive to the lifts or 5 minutes the the Kitsteinhorn cable car. On our last day the hotel allowed us to check out late afternoon because we had a late flight. This meant we could ski all day and was really impressive service from such a nice family-run hotel. Would definately stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed there for a week on a ski holiday.
Pro-s: excellent breakfast and dinner, very variate, fresh and tasty food. Extremely clean. Friendly staff, good location (steps away from ski-bus), although not quite central. Nice wellness area, especially the saunas. Plenty of parking space. Spacious ski room.
Con-s: design not really up to 4 stars (but maybe just my taste). No double-bed (uncomfy sleep in 2 unified twins). We had to ask for shower gel at the reception (totally no-go for a 4**** hotel, please).
Overall, good value for money, but probably I'd try other places as well next time in that area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciprian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warschau, Polen
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2011

That hotel is very comfortably situated - mostly for skiers or snowboarders (who I am) beaucause of skibus stop just next to. Groovy communication with all skislopes around: 1 min. to Maiskogel, at one side, 10 min. also to Maiskogel to other side, or 10 min. to Kitzsteinhorn, 20 min. to Schmittenhohe - great variety of slopes and skilifts. Snowboard conditions I had wonderful.
They have a very good offer as "after ski": swimming pool at the hotel and a big variety of saunas. Tasty breakfasts and amazing dinners / suppers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrzegorzPaszta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
1.2 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
1.6 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#4 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zur Burg
Hotel Zur Burg
#12 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Falkenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Falkenstein

Property: Das Falkenstein
Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Strasse 79 | 5710 Kaprun, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Falkenstein 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Das Falkenstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing