We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place”
Review of Haus Patricia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haus Patricia
Ranked #9 of 45 Kaprun B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This place was one of the most inexpensive that we stayed in but one of the best in our trip through Austria. It was a nice place on a very quiet street. We used this as a stop over for our trip to the Grossglockner road. I'm glad we read the reviews and stayed here instead of Zelem See. We had a room for two with a private bath. The owners were really nice and very welcoming. I would definately come back

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rolling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was our first time snowboarding in Austria and we loved it. Not only did we have great snow and some perfect blue skies but staying at Haus Patricia made the whole experience one we will remember forever.

Room
- Our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable with plenty of storage for clothes and kit. It was also really quiet with no road or other guest noise, so we slept brilliantly.

Breakfast
- This properly set us up for a day on the slopes, with a selection of cereal, breads, homemade preserves, meat, cheese plus eggs of any variety cooked to order.

Around the house
- The heated boot room was the best we have encountered on any trip away.
- There was always plenty of hot water for showers/baths and when we mentioned a problem with our shower it was fixed for our return from the slopes.
- It was lovely to get to know the other guests, who'd come from a wide range of countries, when sat in the bar area or at meal times.

Kaprun
- The resort and slopes really make an effort to entertain. The Monday night freestyle show on the learner slope was great fun and we loved the icebar igloo up on the glacier.
- Even if you don't want to ski/board then there's plenty of shops, the walk to the castle is nice and you can get all the way to and from the glacier summit by gondola just for a meal or to take photos.
- For pizzas definately go to Paletti's, the bar may look closed but inside it's really welcoming and the wood fired pizzas are extremely tasty.

To be honest we're both now disappointed to be back in the UK as we had started to feel right at home in Kaprun and at Haus Patricia - thanks Trish and Steve for a great week.

Lyndsey & Chris

Room Tip: The house is on a quiet residential road so none of the rooms are noisy. We liked our first floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffievelluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Haus Patricia is in the middle of the town, very nice decorated, the owners very friendly and helpfull. And the highlight was Jack, the dog's owners!! The rooms are big and nice, with balcony, although a little bit cold inside and the light also poor because of the eco-lights. The breakfast a little bit poor. There are 2-3 room on the half-basement of the building. In the description you will never find this detail!!!(small windows and half in to the ground)!!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lizy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Another wonderful week was had by us at Haus Patricia. Steve and Trish make the whole experience easy with great advice about skiing and help with hiring all the ski equipment. The lovely breakfast set us up for a full day of activity. The evenings were spent sat around in their cosy bar having a few drinks and laughs chating about the day. We're looking forward to our next visit in the near future. Chris and Steve, Berkshire

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We've just got back from another holiday at Haus Patricia. Yet again Trish and Steve were the perfect, friendly, helpful hosts (Jack was pretty good too). The Haus was as pristine as always, the breakfast set us up for great days (best eggs ever) and the relaxing beer and wine or 2 at their bar in the evening was just great. To cap it all, the snow was great and we got to do a bit of langlaufing as well as walking and skiing. Definitely back soon for more of the same.
S&R Berkshire

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuandRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

In all of our years of travel, this was the best run B & B .... great floor plan, spotless, nice area for hanging out, substantial breakfast. Steve and Trish are very kind and accomodating. We are non-skiers and still found plenty to do in this beautiful area. Hope to return in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StorminNormans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at Haus Patricia Kaprun for a week, at the beginning of February 2011.

Even though we didn’t reached Kaprun at the pre-established time, after a long journey of over 1200 km, Trish and Steve waited for us with dinner and their hospitality made us regain the holiday spirit very quickly. The days that followed were for us a real treat in terms of relaxation.

The hosts, Trish and Steve are absolutely wonderful people. They are native English speakers, which for a non native can generate many instances when one has to raise his eyebrows :). Trish is an excellent cook and Steve, among other things, set the music during meals and it was such a lovely, well selected mix.

The whole establishment is a happy mixture of Austrian style with an added British touch. Everything is clean and smells very good inside. The rooms aren’t very generous, but they are efficiently organized. And there is no waste of space here. Which, I must admit, is a big quality.

As a skiing resort, Kaprun is ideal for families with children, but not exclusively. The skiing school is only 250 meters walking distance from Haus Patricia, and for grownups or for older children there are 3 main skiing options: on the glacier, at Zell am See and closeby, though I didn’t catch the name. The slopes are of all sorts, from the extreme ones to the “strolling ones”, but what I liked best was the glacier, where the inclination of the slopes and their width guarantees maximum pleasure to those that choose them.

That is why I consider that Haus Patricia Kaprun is the ideal choice for the skiing holiday.

Room Tip: Everything is clean and smells very good inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian Radu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpenparks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
0.4 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Der Kapruner Hof
Der Kapruner Hof
#4 of 30 in Kaprun
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toni
Hotel Toni
#11 of 30 in Kaprun
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Patricia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Patricia

Property: Haus Patricia
Address: Kellnerfeldstrasse 1, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haus Patricia 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haus Patricia, English owned and run B&B Guesthouse. Come and feel at home in the heart of Kaprun Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Haus Patricia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing