We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly worth visiting”

Georgia Visitor Information Center - Plains
Ranked #7 of 12 things to do in Plains
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Official source for information on everything there is to do and see around Georgia.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Many so called visitors centres are in reality poorly staffed and just trying to extract money from the unwary traveller - not so this one at Plains

Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Plains, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to review our visitor information center! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We hope you'll come back and see us real soon.

Best,

The Plains Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Southern hospitality at its best! The individual at the center was extremely helpful in describing what and where things were in Plains. She also gave us information on other sites nearby such as the National Prisoner of War Museum in Andersonville, GA.

Plains, GA is a wonderful place to visit. It was a welcomed reminder that I live in a country where a boy can grow up in a small rural town in Georgia and truly can become president of the United States.

Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Plains, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Mike,

We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Georgia Visitor Information Center in Plains! We hope you'll come see us again real soon. We'd love to see you!

Best,

The Plains Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This centre was wonderful - so full of good advice and help and the lovely ladies were ever so helpful in personally finding out for us if Jimmy Carter was giving his Sunday School lesson at the Maranatha Baptist Church the next morning - and he was.

Thank MelbourneErena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Plains, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Georgia Visitor Information Center in Plains and we hope you'll come see us again very soon.

Best,

The Plains Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Penny Smith hosted the visitor center and was wonderfully hospitable and helpful! Very friendly and knowledgeable making you feel like you knew her and the town of Plains for a long time. Thanks to her direction we visited the many interesting sites to see in the town. Will visit again.

Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Plains, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Robert,

Thank you for visiting the Georgia Visitor Information Center in Plains! We're so happy that you found our manager, Penny, to be helpful and friendly. We hope you'll stop by again real soon.

Best,

The Plains Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Beautiful building full of resources to help you plan your visit to this area. The people who work here know what's going on and when, where, etc. They offer lots of free literature and even peanuts! We would have missed some of the best Carter sites if we had not stopped here first.

Thank random_reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Plains, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks for stopping by the Georgia Visitor Information Center in Plains, Georgia! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found our staff to be informative and helpful. We hope you enjoyed those famous Plains peanuts! Come back and visit us again real soon!

Best,

The Plains Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia Visitor Information Center - Plains also viewed

 

Been to Georgia Visitor Information Center - Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing