We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plains Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Plains B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay! Miss Jan was so welcoming and helpful, she told us all about Plains, what to see, where to eat, and even shared some local history. The inn is comfortable and the rooms are all cute and comfy and clean. Also, the rooms were decorated for Christmas and that added to their charm. We stayed in the 1960's room and had everything we needed and a great nights sleep. There is a dining area is a nice place to eat the continental breakfast. There is a lovely little sitting area, and a balcony to sit out on and watch the goings on in town. President and Mrs. Carter helped renovate and decorate the Plains Historic Inn, their special touches make it even more memorable. I've stayed at some expensive hotels that weren't half as impressive as the Plains Historic Inn. The Southern hospitality makes it an unforgettable place to stay. Our stay at the Plains Historic Inn was one of the highlights of our trip, and definitely the BEST place we stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zobiehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Plains Historic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

We met Rose, who cares for the Inn and makes it sparkle. She was very helpful and answered many of our questions. Jan, wonderful Jan, was instrumental in seeing to our every need. The experience would not have been the same without her.
we stayed in the "1920'sRoom" and next time will be in the "1970's Room".
President Carter helped build all the rooms and Mrs .Carter did the decorating, We say excellent job to both. We will be back next year.


Jim and Connie St.Onge
Michigan

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michiganders42665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Never before in my life have I walked into a place and said 'I have to write a review about this place, it is AMAZING'. This is what I felt as soon as we entered and when we left we were still feeling the same way. My husband and I shared a room with our baby, and our friend shared another room with our other daughter (I think her highlight was having a bath in a freestanding tub in the middle of the bathroom). The rooms were HUGE for an Inn, and each was unique. We were glad that all the guestrooms were empty when we checked in, because we got to see in all of them. Each different and each very comfortable and clean. But by the evening it was completely full. What was really convenient was the spacious common area and kitchen sink/microwave/table etc. When traveling with an infant it is always huge to be able to get food things together with some extra room. The breakfast was help yourself and very generous. Reservationist was so friendly and attentive - she really helped us work out which rooms would work out for our family. All in all, a great place to take our 2nd grader, who was studying President Carter. Would HIGHLY recommend it for anyone visiting Plains/Americus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbb189bbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Plains Historic Inn was amazing. This is the best place I have ever stayed. I traveled with my parents and they went out of their way to accommodate us. It really felt as if I was stepping back in time in each of the rooms. Visit this place and you'll remember it for a lifetime!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Plains Inn twice, and both times the stay was wonderful. The rooms are large, very comfortably furnished, and each is decorated in the style of one of the decades from the 1920's through 1980's. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and mostly left us in peace and quiet to enjoy the inn.

Plains is the quintessential small town, and the inn fits the setting beautifully. Rooms are on the second floor above an antiques shop. A common area is available for lounging around or reading about the history of Plains and its most famous residents. The inn is conveniently located on the main street, so it is an easy walk to the various historical sites and shops in town.

Perks include a continental breakfast in the common room at your own pace and free high speed internet (wi-fi). I would highly recommend the Plains Inn over the more traditional chain hotels down the road in Americus for anybody who is visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlazMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

My husband's birthday was last Friday. I wanted to take him somewhere he'd never been...
that's how we found Plains GA, "Jimmy Carter Land". The Plains Historic Inn was by far one of the best places we've ever stayed! The rooms are huge, decorated beautifully, very
clean. The staff was amazing (sent a bottle of wine up the elevator to us for my husband's b-day). The kitchen is self service and fully stocked. Americus is 10 miles away with good resturants, a movie theater and some junk stores. Jimmy Carter even teaches Sunday school at a local church. Can't say enough good things about this small town & this wonderful little inn!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritaballou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This place is really just fantastic. The rooms are located above an antique store and are decorated according to the decades from 1920 to 1980. The rooms go for about $70 per night except for the 1970s room, which is the Presidential Suite (this is Jimmy Carter's hometown) and that goes for $89. We had a chance to view all of the rooms before making our pick. They are all huge compared to the hotel rooms you get used to - they were all really what passes as suites these days. We stayed in the 1950s room. Very comfy and cozy. There's a second-story porch that looks out over Plains' main street and reserved off-street parking.

The proprietors told us we were the only ones staying there that night so we could feel like we were in a 7-bedroom house with a kitchen and sitting room at our disposal. This is really a nice place! Easy walking access to all of Plains including the Jimmy Carter National Historic Site, Billy's Service Station, and the store with the largest collection of political memorabilia in all of Georgia!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plains
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel
8.6 mi away
Quality Inn Americus
Quality Inn Americus
#3 of 7 in Americus
138 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Americus
Hampton Inn Americus
#2 of 7 in Americus
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Days Inn Americus
Days Inn Americus
#4 of 7 in Americus
80 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Plains Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plains Historic Inn

Address: 106 Main Street, Plains, GA 31780
Location: United States > Georgia > Plains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plains
Price Range: $74 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jimmy & Rosalynn Carter have joined their hometown in developing an Historic Inn & Antiques Mall located on Main Street in Plains. Each suite is authentically furnished from the 1920s through the 1980s and includes a private bath, cable TV, a smoke-free environment, and meets accessibility standards. Guests enjoy exclusive use of the common room and balcony overlooking the historic square that provides a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plains Historic Hotel Plains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing