We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Photo Op”

Ranked #6 of 12 things to do in Plains
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A giant statue of a peanut with Jimmy Carter's grin.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
318 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great Photo Op”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We enjoy finding roadside oddities and "the biggest.........". Our grandchildren enjoyed having their picture made with the peanut and just another fun must do in Plains!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachGrandmax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
404 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Funny”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great photo opportunity, and kids loved it! Very cool!

Helpful?
Thank summervacation27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware of peanuts of weevils”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you happen to be visiting Plains, GA. and go by the Carter Peanut Statue, then visit the specialty Plain Peanut Store that sells all sorts of peanuts products including ice cream, etc. Do NOT buy the raw (unroasted) peanuts. They are full of weevils which penetrate the peanut hulls and leave little web-like things inside the peanuts. We bought an approximate 3 lb. bag of them on May 6, 2012, brought them home, roasted them and then have gone through about a half bag so far. We have found that more than five dozen peanuts infested with these tiny weevils. Don't waste your money buying them! I did! BIG MISTAKE!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alabamasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Explains everything”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

The home and library were as bland as the presidents administration was. However, the statue explained everything without using words. Forever malaise!

Helpful?
Thank WAW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take your pic”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just plain fun. Again more than we expected. Plains was a delightful surprise

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Carter Peanut of Plains Statue also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Carter Peanut of Plains Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing