We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a relaxing holiday”
Review of Hotel Seerose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Seerose
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Fuschl am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My mother and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Hotel Seerose in Fuschl, having booked through Inghams. We cannot praise this hotel, and its staff, highly enough. We paid extra for a room with Full Lake View, and it was worth every penny. The view was absolutely stunning - from the balcony it was like being on the deck of a ship, but without the movement! The bedroom itself was very clean and comfortable. The dining room also had wonderful views (especially at sunset), and the food was excellent - and very substantial. The breakfast buffet was superb. Breakfast and dinner times were relaxed (it wasn't a case of 'dinner is at 7'). We had half board, and each night there was a choice of three main courses (including a vegetarian option), and there were 4 courses plus salad buffet. The staff were unfailingly friendly, helpful and efficient, and the standard of cleaning was impeccable. We did not experience the slow service that some have mentioned, but - to be quite honest - we wouldn't have been bothered, as the whole holilday was so relaxing! This would not be the hotel, or village, for you if you are looking for nightlife. It is the place to go to for peace and quiet, and for a very relaxing holiday, with good walks abounding, for those so inclined. The village is quiet and peaceful, with 2 small supermarkets, 1 or 2 cafés, and several small shops. The hotel's setting is idyllic; literally right on the lake, with a private bathing area and beautiful small indoor pool, with lake views. There is plenty of walking in the area, including around the lake, and the bus stop is directly outside the hotel. The buses provide easy access to Salzburg, in one direction, and Bad Ischl and St Gilgen in the other. However, we found it difficult to tear ourselves away from the hotel! We will definitely be staying at the Seerose again. It provided us with an absolutely perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SiobhanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 146 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2010

I've visited Fushcl am See twice before and stayed in the Hotel Seerose on both occassions. It's located on the shore of Lake Fuschl which affords it amazing views from the rooms, dining room and beeches.
The hotel is well presented, well run and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. It makes a good base for exploring the local sites but is also an ideal place to relax and enjoy a day in the sun.

Fuschl am See makes an ideal base to explore the Sazkammergut and Salzburg with regular buses to Bad Ischl and Salzburg running past Hotel Seerose.

If you are going in this direction I would highly recommend you stay in Fuschl am See and in particular at the Hotel Seerose.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank supergers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Spectacular location on the lakeside. We had a full lake view room ( well worth the supplement ) which from the balcony gave the impression of being on a ship. The sunsets over the lake were superb.
We booked through Inghams and stayed for a week in the middle of August.
The room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel and the food was very good with plenty of choice.We had half board with wine included.
The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English
Walks from the hotel are varied and many. One we recommend is the 'Around the lake walk' ( 11km )
Buses stop outside the hotel, Salzburg is just 45 min. away and in the opposite direction is St. Gilgen ( 15 min.) where trips are available on the lake.
We are looking forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravellersDevon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We have just completed a week's stay at the Hotel Seerose in Fuschl. We travelled with Inghams and it has been a very comfortable week.
The hotel has come up to the level we were expecting from previous reviews, it is immaculate and everything is kept beautifully. The hotel has been completely rebuilt since 2007 so it is like a new hotel.
The Inghams deal was for half board with a free packed lunch and free wine or beer with dinner. This proved to work well, we had to order the packed lunch the night before and it was always the same, 2 ham rolls, 2 cheese sandwiches 2 pieces of fruit and a couple of choc bars. It took them a couple of days to realise that we did not eat meat, but eventually the message got through although then we just had cheese sandwiches!
Bit boring but never mind.
The breakfast buffet is very good, with hot dishes and a choice of meats and cheeses, plus cereal and juices. The staff serve coffee to you.
Dinner is a mammoth job in the evening, with a salad buffet, then a starter is served to you, followed by soup and then the main course. When you are feeling fit to burst, they then serve you with dessert. The courses are not really large, but I tend to tuck into the salad buffet and fill myself up too soon.
The food is of a good quality and the people who ate meat said that it was very good.
We do eat fish and managed to get that quite a few nights. It sometimes seemed a little difficult to get through to the different waiting staff that we did not eat meat no matter which way it was served. The serving could be quite slow at times as there is a large restaurant at the side of the dining room and they often seemed to have to work in there more than in the half-board dining room. However we cannot grumble in any way it has been fine.
The room we had had a lake view and 2 balconies so it had plenty of room. Hot water is plentiful and there is a heated towel rail in the bathroom which is good to get towels dry. That seems to go on each morning. The toiletries in the hotel are a little sparse, a Palmolive hand wash was not quite what I was expecting but there is nothing wrong with that, but there is only a wall-mounted shower gel, no shampoo etc so remember to bring your own. I must admit that I was expecting a little more froma 4 star hotel.
The hair dryer is wall mounted and very powerful so it blasts hair into strange shapes. I think it is best to bring your own, unless you like a flat hair do.
The beds are comfortable with large (very soft) pillows, so we asked to have a second one and then it was better.
The indoor pool is not large but perfectly adequate, with lounger chairs around the edge and a door out onto a tiny beach on the lake.
There is a lady who visits to do massage on certain days. We did not try the sauna.
The bus stop for either direction stops directly outside the hotel and it is about 15 minutes to St Gilgen for the cable car or boats on Wolfgangsee, or 40 minutes the other way to Salzburg. We went right to the end of the route into the main railway station with the bus so that we knew where to catch it on return. You can buy a return ticket to save time. The guest card that the hotel will give you will save you money on the cable cars. The Zwolferhorn in St Gilgen is a spectacular cable car and we were lucky and went up on a clear sunny warm day.
Fuschl itself is a pretty little place and there are lots of water based activities on the lake. The walk around is pretty easy and takes a few hours depending on your speed. However the castle at the end of the lake is worth a visit for the sheer splendour of the hotel within it. It takes your breath away it is so immaculate and opulent. Many dignitaries stay there apparently and you can see why as it would be an easy place to police for security for them.
Hope this review is helpful to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sheelagh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We spent a week at the Seerose Hotel at Fuschl am See in June. The accommodation was immaculate, the food marvelous and the service from staff impeccable. It was encouraging to see the hotel owners taking a daily interest in the running of the place ensuring that everything was provided at a first class standard. The hotel is located at the southern shore end of the lake and there are a host of well signposted walks starting from the area (all graded according to degree of difficulty). The Postbus route 150 that stops outside the hotel gives one a wide range of day trips - Salzburg in one direction and Bad Ischl the other with a host of locations in between). The village is quiet at night and there is a paucity of evening entertainment in the resort. But, early to bed, early to rise and really relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geezerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

My husband & I stayed here for a week & I have to say that the hotel & resort exceeded my expectations.
We booked a part lake view as the full lake view rooms weren't available. The hotel was quite busy when we arrived but much quieter after a couple of days.
The rooms are lovely - very modern, light & airy, The bathroom was the same. Apparently the hotel was pretty much rebuilt in 2006 & they have made an excellent job of it.
As mentioned in previous reviews, the resturant has wonderful views over the lake & we were lucky enough to be moved to a table by the window after a couple of days, though the views can be enjoyed from most of the restaurant.
We stayed on a half-board basis & the food was excellent. Five courses for dinner including a very good salad buffet, with a choice of 3 main course dishes which you choose at breakfast.
Although Fuschl is a small & quiet resort, it is an excellent base for getting around the area. Both bus stops are right outside the hotel entrance - one direction to Salzburg which takes about 40 minutes & the other to Bad Ischl which takes about an hour.

The staff are all very pleasant & helpful & helped to make our wedding anniversary extra special by decorating our room & table with rose petals & a glass of bubbly at dinner. We'd definately return to both Fuschl & the Seerose.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Our first visit to the Hotel Seerose exceeded all expectations. It is in a marvellous position right on the lake and the standards are very high, especially concerning the cleanliness, food and service. The hotel is beautifully decorated and big enough to feel very plush but small enough to also be cosy and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff , they seemed to anticipate your needs and were helpful and friendly at all times.
We feel we are now spoiled for anywhere else and are planning to return in 2009.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretLucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuschl am See
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seewinkel
Hotel Seewinkel
#2 of 12 in Fuschl am See
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mohrenwirt
Hotel Mohrenwirt
#4 of 12 in Fuschl am See
171 reviews
2.2 mi away
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fuschlsee-Salzburg
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fus...
#1 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hotel Jagdhof
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hote...
#2 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
374 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Schuetzenhof
Hotel Schuetzenhof
#5 of 12 in Fuschl am See
95 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Stefanihof
Hotel Stefanihof
#8 of 12 in Fuschl am See
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seerose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seerose

Address: Dorfstrasse 20, Fuschl am See 5330, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Fuschl am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fuschl am See
#3 Family Hotel in Fuschl am See
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fuschl am See
Price Range: $141 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seerose 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seerose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seerose Hotel Fuschl Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing