We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”
Review of Hotel Schuetzenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Schuetzenhof
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Fuschl am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2009

The hotel and the whole area surpassed expectations.  We very nearly cancelled our holiday due to reading a review by "Kahanamoku" as we were to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and the review made is sound horrendous.  It was, in fact, the exact opposite.  I think Fuschl is the most beautiful and very friendly village/small town I have ever stayed in.  The hotel was excellent and all you imagine an Austrian hotel to be like.  Food very good, rooms clean, position that cannot be bettered and the service whilst not up to British 4 star standard was perfectly good and acceptable.I have stayed in all classes of hotels and can honestly say that anyone finding fault with this hotel or location  possibly needs to get back to reality.Not for young, loud, hard drinking partygoers or posers which makes it all the more idyllic.  Thank goodness we ignored the soured grapes review and didn't cancel.'  This was actually one of the most relaxing, beautiful holidays we have enjoyed throughout our marriage and would highly recommend it for those like minded people who proiritise exceedingly natural beauty, friendliness and charm above the noisy hustle and bustle of today's over the top business hotels.  Very close to Salzburg and with an excellent bus service it makes it an ideal location for sightseeing and can be made as quiet or as busy as you wish it to be.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorriegTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2008

We have just returned from a fantastic 14 nights in this hotel. The staff were absolutely fabulous and couldn't do enough for you, service was always friendly and efficient. Food was always different we did not have the same menu on any of the nights and whilst looking at the menu you think oh god, it was always beautifully presented and always exceptionally tasty.
The room was always immaculately clean and I agree it always coincided with being at breakfast which again was always top quality. Only complaint was that they need to get a new toatser as it always took about 10 minutes to do two slices of toast. The location was fantastic with a lakeside terrace looking straight down the lake, this offered exceptional meals in a spectacular setting with breathtaking sunsets while we were there.
It was handy for all amenities not that there are many in fuschl itself, the hotel offered free use of the new lakeside leisure facilties in place of the private beach which is now the site of the family home which will alow them to offer more rooms in the future. It also offered free use of bicyles and nordic walking sticks. Exceptional walks were nearby,not all for the couch potato and quite challenging but worth the views. Two gala dinners with five courses and two lakeside dances completed a fantastic stay. I would go back next week if I could.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank STJOHNSTONE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We arrived in pouring rain to find ourselves in a lovely room, with a balcony, and a full lake view. Thankfully theweather improved so that we could make the most of the fantastic view on offer from our room and also explore the surrounding countryside.
The staff were friendly and attentive, our room was always cleaned promptly and the desk dealt with any problems promptly.
The service in the restaurant was excellent and our only minor complaint was that the choice of desserts was not very inspiring.
All of the guests were friendly and i'm sure that we will return in the future to enjoy more of the hospitality offered by this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

I stayed here with my wife for 10 days in July 2008, in a room with a balcony and full lake view. And it is a great view. The hotel is positioned not far from the centre of the village, but right at the top of the lake, so the best rooms have a view straight down the full length of the lake. There is also a terrace bar in front of the hotel, on the lakefront, although it only seems to be open when the weather was kind.

The room was cleaned to perfection every day, usually magically timed to occur while we enjoyed breakfast.

The staff where always very friendly and helpful, and every morning there was a little slip of paper on the breakfast table suggesting activities that were on that day in the village, and some hints about the expected weather. What a great idea.

The food is fairly Austrian (don't expect many vegetables, but there is a salad bar), but very nice indeed, and always beautifully presented.

If there was anything that could be improved then it would be the mattresses - they where very firm indeed.

We really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickS_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

I have recently returned from a week skiing in Austria. I travel with a group of 50 people by coach from Cornwall, and have stayed at this hotel every year for the last 15 years. As soon as I arrive it feels like home, the family who own and run the hotel are quite exceptional, and welcome us with open arms. The whole place is spotless, and the food is delicious. The hotel is situated on the edge of the lake, which is often frozen in the winter. The village of Fuschl is primarily a summer resort, but I have only ever stayed in the winter, with the ski slopes just a short bus ride away. I can't wait for next January, when, hopefully, I shall return.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daftada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

Fuschl am See in winter? Fantastic
30/01/2008
We stayed at this hotel for two nights on the 19/20th December, as part of a ten day tour through Germeny, Austria, and Italy. The setting for this hotel, right on Lake Fuschl is absolutly stunning. There had just been a snowfall, so everything was snow white. Coming from Australia, this was something we had never seen before. It'a s small family run hotel, and the feeling was homely. The staff were very helpful and attentive . We found the meals ok,although there was not a big selection. You could not fault the rooms, except the shower was a little small. A big person would have difficulty getting in and out.All in all, we thought the hotel was excellent for the price, the staff friendly, and the setting exceptional. We would stay there again, and would reccomend it to anyone wanting a small botique type hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WillieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

The Service from this family run hotel is fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is great and if you want a special request they will do it for you.

The hotel is perfectly located for the resort of Fuschl am See, just around the corner from the shops/restaurants and right on the lake front.

The private beach area is approx 4/5 mins walk and is a bit wierd to begin with but once first been there it is very quaint, private and again welcoming.

Would recommend Austraia, Fuschl am See and the Hotel Schutzenhof.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hmj2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuschl am See
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mohrenwirt
Hotel Mohrenwirt
#4 of 12 in Fuschl am See
171 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Seerose
Hotel Seerose
#3 of 12 in Fuschl am See
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seewinkel
Hotel Seewinkel
#2 of 12 in Fuschl am See
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
#10 of 12 in Fuschl am See
21 reviews
4.8 mi away
Schlosshotel Mondsee
Schlosshotel Mondsee
#2 of 11 in Mondsee
149 reviews
2.5 mi away
Landhotel Hochlackenhof
Landhotel Hochlackenhof
#6 of 12 in Fuschl am See
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schuetzenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schuetzenhof

Address: Dorfstrasse 14, Fuschl am See 5330, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Fuschl am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fuschl am See
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fuschl am See
Price Range: $113 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schuetzenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Schuetzenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Schutzenhof
Schutzenhof Hotel Fuschl Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing