We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Hotel Schuetzenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Schuetzenhof
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Fuschl am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

have just nicely returned from a 10 day holiday in Austria. Fuschl is so pretty and easy to get about. It is very quite at night so if you are looking for nightlife Dont come here. The hotel is just lovely, we had a lake view with large balconey. The room was spacious, clean and plenty of cupboard and storage space. Now the food was something else, i am suprised to find others saying it was hit and miss because we just found it superb. It was always well presented and plenty of variety. As we travelled with Inghams, who were fantastic, we had halfboard option. You did have your own table for the entire stay and it i dont think you had the option to eat outside but you could always finish your meal and sit and have a drink outside.
Everybody at the hotel were very nice not over friendly but i think that is there way. Overall we had good service, enjoyed our holiday immensly. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Schitzenhof in August 2012 and booked through Thomsons/Crystal (who provided an excellent service). We had our 1 year old son with us and booked into a room with a lakeside view half-board. There were some good things about this hotel and some bad:

The good:
- Location is excellent - right in the centre of Fuschl which is an excellent place to stay
- The view from the balcony is excellent over the lake - very relaxing
- The rooms were big
- Staff were mostly friendly

The not so good:
- Food was hit and miss - some courses were good and some were really not good. The food tended to be really salty. The breakfasts were not great. No food offered for our toddler - he shared ours.
- The restaurant was really hot with no air conditioning and, as a half-board guest, you have no option but to eat inside (in the heat and, in our case, with no lake view). NB - you have to sit at the same table throughout your stay and they are not keen to move you if you request this.
- The owner had rather an unfortunate manner and wasn't very helpful to us.
- Bedrooms not air conditioned

All in all we would not particularly recommend this hotel, especially if you have young children but Fuschl itself was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Johnny_dm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for one week at the end of June and were very impressed with the standard of this hotel. The room was spotless, food excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Public transport is good and very close to the hotel, so trips to Salzburg and St Gilgen are easy.
The hotel has free bike hire and there are some lovely cycle tracks in the area, walking is also very good.
All together a great holiday, we would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: We had a side room with a lake view- lovely- but the mosquitoes came in at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isobel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel fifteen times in total for ski-ing nearby and every time it is better that the last time. The family Vogl who own the hotel are wonderful people who are more like family - we come in a large group of over 100 people and every night all our meals are presented beautifully, always hot (no mean task for over 100 people) and very tasty.

It's easy to get the bus into Saltzburg which costs 9.80 euros but be careful, the single ticket is the same price as the return so make sure you ask for a return ticket. i didn't ask for a return ticket but the bus driver on the return visit was happy to let me on the bus because I'd paid the same as my travelling partners who did get return tickets.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thewillows3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

this is the best hotel ever. lovely staff,lots of things to do at the hotel....like the spa,gym,consevetry and the bar and lots more. i go to this hotel every year and i always bring back good memorys. The food is gorgous as well. personally i think it is a 5 star hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to famillys, couples,friends,buisness and solo travalers because everyone gets a great experience!!!! its a great place to relaxes and to just have fun . to me it is number 1# for best hotel in fuchl

Room Tip: every room has a great view and evey room is great quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful hotel in September. The hotel is spotlessly clean the staff are very friendly and efficient. The food and service was first class, served in the restaurant overlooking the lake. The bus stop two minutes away is very handy for trips to Salzburg, St. Gilgen and Bad Ischl. We hope to stay at this hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jollywalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

lake fuschl is perfect, total tranquillity hotal schutzenhof is very good, the staff go out of their way for you. the view from your balcony is stunning you must pay the extra for lake view room, the food was very good, not always to my taste, but good. the presentation of the food is outstanding hotel very clean. the public transport is spot on & cheap you can visit st gilgin & st wolfgang on the other lakes which is busier than lake fuschl we will return

Room Tip: lake view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eivetsrednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuschl am See
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mohrenwirt
Hotel Mohrenwirt
#4 of 12 in Fuschl am See
171 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Seerose
Hotel Seerose
#3 of 12 in Fuschl am See
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seewinkel
Hotel Seewinkel
#2 of 12 in Fuschl am See
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
#10 of 12 in Fuschl am See
21 reviews
4.8 mi away
Schlosshotel Mondsee
Schlosshotel Mondsee
#2 of 11 in Mondsee
149 reviews
2.5 mi away
Landhotel Hochlackenhof
Landhotel Hochlackenhof
#6 of 12 in Fuschl am See
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schuetzenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schuetzenhof

Address: Dorfstrasse 14, Fuschl am See 5330, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Fuschl am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fuschl am See
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fuschl am See
Price Range: $112 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schuetzenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Schuetzenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Schutzenhof
Schutzenhof Hotel Fuschl Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing