We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - A Real Find”
Review of Hotel Mohrenwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mohrenwirt
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Fuschl am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We met someone last year in Italy who recommended this hotel to us. We are both interested in cycling and triathlon and we were told that this was an ideal hotel for us. We weren’t disappointed. All the staff at the hotel made us very welcome and the owner Jakob assisted us in getting our weeks cycling underway by taking us on a tour of the local countryside on the first day. If you enjoy cycling then this is a great place to visit. The road surfaces are very good and fast, there are many quiet roads and spectacular scenery while you are riding. Most of the terrain is around lakes and up and over a few climbs to the next stunning view. We didn’t get the best of weather while we stayed but it didn’t spoil our week. There are loads of mountain biking routes, well laid out walking and running paths and we had free access to the local pool as part of the offer from the hotel. We also were swimming in the lake that was simply beautiful. The hotel food was first class. Each evening we were served a five course dinner, the local wines were amazing too. The hotel is family owned and everyone is friendly and helpful. They have a range of both road bikes and mountain bikes to hire. If you enjoy road cycling then you will know it is unusual to find hotels that offer road cycle hire so this was a huge plus for us. We have cycled in loads of places and stayed in many different hotels and I have to say this whole trip was up there with the best.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StuartPScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed in Fuschl in mid June for a week. Our first impression of the resort was really good as the place is beautiful. There is so much to do in the area and there is a bus right outside the front door to Salzburg and the other lakes so the area is very accessible. We would definitely go back .
We enjoyed staying at the hotel, although our room, whilst it was very clean and adequately comfortable was a bit old fashioned and the woodwork a bit worn out. We'd requested a room with a bath for our little boy, which we paid extra for, so we got one on the top floor which looked a bit late 70's. It did, however, have a nice balcony and the staff had very kindly arranged a cot which our son found very comfortable. He slept better in it than his own one which was good. The room was also cleaned every day by the maid though so that was a bonus. I also have to say that the staff and management are very friendly and helpful and the packed lunch is a really nice extra to get and handy if you are out and about. We also enjoyed the meals at the hotel, although being a vegetarian, the options weren't fantastic. Still, what was on offer was very tasty, and we enjoyed the themed meals. The staff are very accommodating too with any requests.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back to the same hotel, provided an upgraded room was on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozzy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

A welcoming hotel to enjoy what the Austrian alps have to offer, both summer and winter.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsGWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Very disappointed with quality of evening meals - beef full of gristle , processed/reconstituted (not fresh)chicken breast , grey,slimy monk fish ,pork schnitzel oozing with grease , tough venison etc. Not a lot to commend! Was on half board basis but had to eat out on occasions.Hotel regularly caters for coach parties which seemed to impact on poor quality of food/service.Brochure referred to "special personal service" of Schmidlechner family - we saw only fleeting glimpses of them and they never communicated with us.The roof top leisure area consists of small balcony at rear of building(north facing) with 2 sun loungers ,rest of leisure area (sauna/Turkish bath) is indoors.Not at all inviting.Some areas esp.lift +Internet cupboard need refurbished to get rid of stale dark shaggy pile carpet from walls/roof. Room fine. Bar friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Deesiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I totally agree with the previous reviews! The added unexpected bonuses were the sauna and steam room on the top floor (perfect after my husband had to swim in Lake Fuschl am See) and free computer use in the lobby for guests. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The proximity to Salzburg was also a plus - only a 15 minute drive.
The breakfast buffet (included in the price) featured a bounty of hot and cold food.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPZip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Hotel very welcoming, comfortable and quiet. Half-board arrangement delivered enough variety and quality of food to keep us happy for the week. Packed lunch supplied FOC too. Complimentary teas/coffees in afternoon also nice touch. Staff helpful and friendly. Owner has cute little dog which was a bonus! Fuschl was charming and quiet. Most evenings there was a small musical performance outdoors at the local school which you could visit for free if you liked. Redbull global HQ is on edge of village which is an attractive building - and much evidence of sponsorship throughout the area - done tastefully though. Many photos in hotel of race teams etc. Hotel manager very enthusiastic. Village on bus route so you can take local bus to Wolfgangsee, Salzburg etc. Can walk around the Fuschl lake from village - very pleasant. Hotel & area recommended by us for those wishing to have a quiet rural base but with good transport links.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mature_Holidayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Room - The room was nice, clean. It was rather warm when we were there, and there is no a/c, so we kept the windows open at night - but we were facing the street and there was a surprising amount of traffic. The back side of the hotel has a stream running right by it, so if we had been on the back we would have heard the rushing water all night rather than traffic.

Location - Fuschl is a quaint, pretty little town. It's on a lovely lake, and they even have a private beach. (The hotel is NOT on the lake...their private beach is up the road next to their sister hotel - the Seerose) Unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there, so we didn't get to take advantage of it. There is a bus stop right outside the front door of the hotel with a bus that goes to Salzburg about once an hour. We bought tickets on the bus and had no problem getting there and back.

Service - Lovely! Very friendly. All the staff was helpful and nice.

Breakfast - it was delicious :)

Oh, and don't make the same mistake I did. Apparently we had booked the "half-board", and I had it in my mind that "half-board" just meant breakfast. To me, "full-board" would be breakfast and dinner. Well half-board included dinner, and we did not eat dinner there either night because we didn't realize it was included :( Live and learn!

Overall - nice hotel, great staff, highly recommended! (just ask for a room on the back side of the hotel if you are a light sleeper) Would have liked to have WiFi available in the room. You could get it free in the lobby, though.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliesun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuschl am See
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hotel Jagdhof
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hote...
#2 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seewinkel
Hotel Seewinkel
#2 of 12 in Fuschl am See
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schuetzenhof
Hotel Schuetzenhof
#5 of 12 in Fuschl am See
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fuschlsee-Salzburg
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fus...
#1 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seerose
Hotel Seerose
#3 of 12 in Fuschl am See
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stefanihof
Hotel Stefanihof
#8 of 12 in Fuschl am See
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mohrenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mohrenwirt

Address: Dorfplatz 3, Fuschl am See 5330, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Fuschl am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fuschl am See
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuschl am See
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fuschl am See
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fuschl am See
#5 Family Hotel in Fuschl am See
Price Range: $105 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mohrenwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mohrenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohrenwirt Hotel Fuschl Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing