We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to date”
Review of Seehotel Schlick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seehotel Schlick
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fuschl am See
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This cosy ***hotel in the lovely town of Fuschl would need updating in many respects. Though it is clean and the people being very friendly, it seems to be stuck in time some decades ago. There is no bad weather option inside the place such as a pool or a playroom for children and the rooms are simple and not too spacious. If the sun is shining, this is not a problem, but if the weather is foul and you are stuck inside, it is easy to get bored.

Breakfast buffet consists of cold items, but lacks warm food such as scrambled eggs, ham, sausage etc. On request you can get a boiled egg. Coffee is limited to two cups. Dinner consists of a choice of normal or vegetarian food, but the cooking is old fashioned and to my taste rather tasteless and very plain.

Ultimately this place would be ok if the price would be accordingly, but for what the hotel is offering, the price is too high.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Seehotel Schlick as part of a Coach Party in February 2013. At our request, we had a Lake View room on the top floor, which was very peaceful. The stairs were a bit of a bind, but not a real problem.
The Idinger Family were excellent hosts. Frau Idinger was kind, polite, attentive and very efficient, and (we think it was) her Son operating the Bar introduced us to the local brews & wines. We saw little of Herr Idinger, but his prowess as a chef was evident every evening at Dinner. We enjoyed our breakfasts and evening meals, as well as gossiping with our fellow coach-party members.
Fuschl am See was an excellent base for the many visits we made. A small and quiet village - it nonetheless has shops, bank with cash machine, and a most excellent bar/café in Café Flora just up the road from the hotel.
Our first "Winter Wonderland" holiday provided plenty of snow, and interesting visits, and we would happily return to Seehotel Schlick.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avro-vulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we stayed june 2012. room at the back. for a fortnight. good breakfast. spacious bedroom. dining room is nice but corridors leading to bedrooms look dark and dated. limited options for vegetarians for evening meals. lovely location and easy access to neighbouring lake wolfgangsee/ st gilgen by bus. can also access bad ischl and Salzburg by bus. not able to access lake mondsee by bus due to limited route/time schedule. you can access hallstatt via bad ischl by train. lake fuschl very pretty and local sports centre / swimming complex lovely location to have lunch over looking the lake.

Room Tip: rooms at the back have nice views over farm and mountains. there are mosquitos from the lake even f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2_explorers6166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent location, helpful staff, free wifi in tiny lobby, single room with a large shared balcony with side view of lake. The food was lovely. Despite me being alone I felt secure both in the hotel and resort. Several English speaking people, but also lots of locals enjoying things like the free brass band concert and the dancing on the lake front as the sun went down. I practised some very rusty German. A lovely German couple from Frankfurt also asked me to join them one evening. The international motorcycling club was there and wow, there were some older adults who had driven all the way from Britain on a motorcycle- I was well in awe of them! Easy bus service to St Gilgen, St Wolfgang and Salzburg. Lake walk lovely - but beware early morning stroll as some pensioners seem to enjoy skinny dipping! Overall, a lovely place to visit, with some great walks. Oh, and the summer toboggan run exciting too. I would willingly go back to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Czabae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent stay and food at SeeHotel Schlick. My husband and I have just returned from a coach holiday during which we stayed for 5 nights at the SeeHotel Schlick in Fushl am See, Austria. The hotel is owned and run by the Idinger family. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and quiet; with a good sized ensuite with double shower. We had a pretty view over the front of the hotel and part of the lake. The room and hotel was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay.
The family and staff were all friendly, pleasant, polite and very helpful. Frau Idinger seemed to be everywhere at once and nothing was too much trouble, she spoke excellent English and was happy to answer any questions. Herr Idinger is the very talented chef, the food was superb, with melt in the mouth meats, a range of traditional Austrian soups, light cakes and the best smoked salmon I have ever eaten. Each evening there was a salad bar, soup, a choice of main meal, and desert, followed by tea/coffee. Members of our group with dietary problems were well looked after with tasty alternatives. Breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of cheese, meats, jams, rolls, cereals, fruit and yoghurt.
Free wi-fi was available, although the signal was strongest in the hotel lobby.
We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor at the front with partial view of lake. Some rooms were available with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caterpillar162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I had just celebrated our Diamond (60years) wedding anniversary and wanted a short holiday to remind us of previous holidays in Austria. This really was a 'Winter Wonderland' the hotel sits on the shore of Fuschlsee, and is surrounded by mountains. The hotel was very welcoming, the food was excellent and our room was warm and comfortable. The staff were always helpful and obligeing.....who could ask for more? Unfortunately there isn't a lift (although I believe there is to be one installed shortly). This was a holiday we shall remember. Keith N.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I recently visited the Seehotel Schlick with my boyfriend and although the setting was perfect and we had a lovely view of the lake there were a number of things which we thought other visitors should know.
The hotel continuously smelt of cooking oil as the kitchen was open to the rest of the hotel so you always smelt of fried food!! We were not made aware that a cooked breakfast was available and only noted when a guest has one served, when we then asked we didn't receive the most hospitable response!
We asked about the many advised activities such as fishing/kayaking but we told that these were not available and not by anyone else in the village, however when we wondered to the Seewinkel they were only too kind to offer the use of their equipment.
The rooms were cleaned daily but we also asked for the many mosquito bodies to be removed from the walls but for the duration of our stay we had to looks at blood stained walls!
Wifi was never available so we had a to wonder to other hotels/coffee shops to use.
Having seen a number of other hotels on offer I would recommend to look around than stay at the Schlick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mandi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuschl am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mohrenwirt
Hotel Mohrenwirt
#4 of 12 in Fuschl am See
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seewinkel
Hotel Seewinkel
#2 of 12 in Fuschl am See
126 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Stefanihof
Hotel Stefanihof
#8 of 12 in Fuschl am See
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seerose
Hotel Seerose
#3 of 12 in Fuschl am See
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
#10 of 12 in Fuschl am See
21 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Schuetzenhof
Hotel Schuetzenhof
#5 of 12 in Fuschl am See
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Schlick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Schlick

Address: Seestrasse 12, Fuschl am See 5330, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Fuschl am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fuschl am See
Price Range: $116 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seehotel Schlick 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seehotel Schlick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing