We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is this not rated 5 star ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ebner's Waldhof am See
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fuschl am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This was our second visit but we will return again & again. To echo a previous review, we have also stayed at many hotels around the world but particularly in Austria & this hotel stands head & shoulders above the rest. The Ebners family are the outstanding & you genuinely feel that you are their 'special' guests & that nothing is too much trouble.
How often do you stay at a hotel & have a great experience, only to return & find that things aren't quite as good as you remember first time round ? Not here ! If anything, the experience is even better.
To top it off, at the end of our stay, Mr Ebner himself drove us to the airport for our flight home. What other hotel of this size would do that.
A massive thank you to the Ebner family & all their staff - they are a credit to the hotel industry & to their country.

Room Tip: Massages are not for the faint hearted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 283 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

We've been visiting Fuschl and staying at Ebner's Waldhof for a very long time and it's our favourite place in the World. We travel a lot with business and have stayed at some very swish places but this is where we can relax from the moment we arrive as it's like visiting family with the warmth and kindness of the Ebners and staff.

I didn't intend to write a review because it's 'our special place' but I couldn't understand the one negative review at all because it's so unlike any other review for one and nothing like our experience. The place is very clean - we wouldn't return if not - and the staff helpful. You have to remember English is their second (possibly third) language so it's hard sometimes for them to pick up on our accents and 'pet' English. So just give everyone a bit more time to tune in and it works a treat. I know their English is much better than my non-existent German!

We introduced our family to the place and everyone loves it - my Mum (who is 91) especially as they treat her so well. What more can you ask for? As for the Ebners - they are some of the most caring people we have ever met - anywhere in the World.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We've spent 4 days at the Ebner Waldhof, and enjoyed every single minute we had. The hotel keeps a warm alpine feeling, although it has been expanded to become a true resort. Unlike many other places of its kind, it won't make you feel isolated from its surroundings, but will rather encourage you to take advantage of everything lake Fuschl can offer, by organizing activities such as hiking and sports (with equipment for winter sports free to borrow at no cost), and by providing a complete information about the local area, both at the reception and in the rooms.
Then, after a healthy stroll around the lake (there are paths for all levels), the attractions inside the hotel will do the rest.
The spa area is magnificent, with lots of different features, mostly relying on herbs and alpine salt: both heathy and relaxing. The area is clean and very well kept. The same can be said about the swimming pools, which definitely don't lack variety, and the basic but complete fitness center.
Our room was nice and clean, the main building has seen a lot of years and you can tell that, but nevertheless it doesn't look old and there's no trace of dust to be found.
We tried two restaurants (the third was à la carte), and found that both the food and the service in the Gütl Stube was far superior than those in the main house. The food was good, but it's clear that typical austrian dishes like schmarrn or knodeln are a better choice, since foreign "touches" like risotto don't result quite as tasty. At least not to a native of that particular cousine. Overall, food gets from average to excellent. The afternoon buffet was also good, and allows you to stay out without worrying about arriving late for lunch, as it remains in the restaurant until 5 or 6pm, I don't remember.
Breakfast was, on the other hand, simply great. It was the first time I ever saw honeycombs used to serve honey . Also, eggs and speck cooked at your order surpasses even luxury hotels where those are served in the buffet.
We've stayed in the first days of december, just before the peak season, thus the pools, saunas and relax areas were mostly empty and fre for us to use. I can't say how they would look like when all the rooms are occupied. All I know is I would recommend this place hands down to anyone willing to "recharge the batteries".

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dauntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The area is beautiful and the view from our room was fantastic. However, these are the only positive points I have about our stay here. On arrival we quickly decide to try out the "spa" for a bit of relaxation. We tried the large number of different pools to quickly discvoer they were all cold except one which was being used as a toddler pools and full of screaming children. The steaming outdoor pools advertised were certainly not that and the indoor pools were not much warmer. Also traces of rust and mould were to be seen around the pool edge. Deciding to warm up we headed for the saunas- well aware that there was a seperate nudist and non-nudist sauna area, beign conservative Brits we headed for the latter. However, what we failed to realise was that this meant only that clothes were optional and having finally found a space where we were not directly confronted by the seeming all male fellow guest, we were soon informed we were being unhygenic by remaining in our swimwear. We quickly left this setion. After having briefly trying one of the quiet "relaxtion" area which also proved to be full of loud young children we escaped back to out room. There were no staff supervising the pool and spa areas. By this time we were very cold and we disappointed to find we had not control over the heating in our room and not even the facilites to make a cup of tea.
While reading the info we had been given huddled under blankets we realised that only one of the hotels restaurants was open that evening offering only the set menu. This would not have been a problem exept my partner has a few allergies that can be avoided on a standard menu, but when there are three choices it get tricky. We were in no way informed about this before our stay. The meal itself was grotesque and some of the worst food I have tasted, the meatballs were hideous, the steak so tough it was inedible and even the spinach lasagne was too dry to dig out of the dish it was served in. To top it all the drinks were so expensive we couldn't afford them. This resulted in us wandering the nearby streets and finally finding a nice cafe/bar where we got some chips and a drink. Returning to the room later it was now boiling hot. Breakfast the next morning was acceptable. Throughout our stay the staff did not concern themselves with whether we were enjoying our stay and when we openly expressed displeasure no apology was offered. It was a relief to leave.
This hotel struck me as dirty, out of date and atrocious value for money.
Finally, having mistakenly left an item in our room in our haste to leave, we have had no response to out polite request to arrange for it to be returned.
I would have had a more relaxing weekend burning money than spending it here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovelylaura66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This was our fourth trip to the excellent Waldhof. The previous three visits had involved just two of us but this year we were joined by my wife's son with his wife and two daughters (aged 12 and 14 - that is the daughters rather than the wife). We realised that on previous occasions, while we had considered the hotel to be a little expensive but very good value for money, we had not benefited from all it has to offer. This year, the children took advantage of lake - based and sports hall based activities as well as making friends with Herr Ebner through visits to the outdoor family fun activities. This remains an excellent hotel that is continually striving to get even better. All that with the backdrop of Fuschlsee (the lake) and the wonderful city of Salzburg just 12 miles away. It's a little taste of paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian_COLCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

A tremendous family run hotel - the owner even picked us up from Salzburg airport and makes a pont of speaking to all of the guests every day. Such is the confidence of the product.

Our room was a double 'Fibling' and overlooked the lake - perfect. We were on the superior half board package which entitles you to the lunchtime snack buffet and an afternoon cake buffet - all this before a 5 course dinner! Food was exceptional, good variety and buffet style starters (one cold, one hot course) with soup, and the main course freshly cooked and served at the table. Dessert also served at the table and cheese available at the buffet. Breakfast buffet style but eggs freshly cooked. We only managed the lunchtime and cake buffet once during our stay - all our meals were excellent. There are 3 restaurants (one alacarte) which we did not try. The weather was so nice we sat in the main terrace restaurant most evening.

Room was excellent - the only small thing to note was that there was no tea/coffee making facility. Beds were very comfortable and after a full day walking and a lovely meal there was no trouble in sleeping.

Staff were excellent and spoke good english. Majority of the clientle were german, and there were a few americans and other english people. The hotel does not feature in any english tour brochures so we booked direct (we saw this as a big plus point!) There are other hotels in the village that caters for the english tourist trade.

Staff were very helpful and gave good advice re trips etc. Boats on the lake, cycles, sauna, guided walks etc are all included in the room price and they even provide rucksacks and umberellas in the rooms!

The village Fuschl am see was delightful, small and non-touristy. Local bus services were excellent - spotless and efficient.

All in all a wonderful place to relax - or to be active. Perfect - we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

One of the best 4*+ star Hotels we've been to right on the lake with fantastic views.
Family run, charming & personal, lovely staff (one tiny snag was the service in the Stammhaus-Restaurant which "lacked" behind the Gütl - that they ran out of one wine which was recommended on the menu list for one evenings' dinner, didn't bring the water/other drinks till reminded again & again).
Everything on offer (& there is a lot to keep the guests busy and/or entertained) is great & we loved the Chef's daily choice of a specific herb & what was created with same & the use of some Riedel glasses (good wine glasses are important to us as we're ardent wine drinkers). The informative daily programme sheet showing the days' activieties, menus, weather, trips & what's on in the Spa was a nice touch and helpful too.
The Spa facilities (large & spread out with lots of quiet places) are super, the warm pools all very nice & there's always space around the very well kept areas offering water/juices/fruit all day (and no bar serving alcohol which we liked).

We would have liked to use the nice looking 9-hole golf course but the weather wasn't good enough.

We will recommend this place to our friends/family & hope to be back in 2011.
Thank you to the Ebner family.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFRScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuschl am See
2.2 mi away
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fuschlsee-Salzburg
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fus...
#1 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mohrenwirt
Hotel Mohrenwirt
#4 of 12 in Fuschl am See
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seewinkel
Hotel Seewinkel
#2 of 12 in Fuschl am See
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hotel Jagdhof
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hote...
#2 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schuetzenhof
Hotel Schuetzenhof
#5 of 12 in Fuschl am See
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
#10 of 12 in Fuschl am See
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ebner's Waldhof am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ebner's Waldhof am See

Address: Seestrasse 30, Fuschl am See 5330, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Fuschl am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fuschl am See
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fuschl am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Fuschl am See
#2 Family Hotel in Fuschl am See
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fuschl am See
Price Range: $263 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ebner's Waldhof am See 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Alpine Spa and Wellness Hotel at the gates to Salzburg City The 4-star superior hotel Ebner’s Waldhof am See is a luxury resort on the bank of Lake Fuschl set in the Salzkammergut region. The idyllic lake region offers a great variety of activities all year round. During the summer months, hotel guests can make use of the hotel’s own beach and take advantage of the opportunity to rent various water sports equipment ranging from rowing boats to stand up paddles. The hotel also has its own tennis court. Overall the surrounding area provides the perfect conditions for hiking enthusiasts and there are various mountain bike as well as e-bike trails to be enjoyed by all. The Waldhof Alm is home to the golf club house and also serves as a skiing cottage. The hotel has its own 9-hole golf course with PAR 62 and its own golf school. In addition, a further 10 golf courses are located nearby. The Waldhof Winter World experience includes activities like snow tubing or skiing. In the surrounding area there are also countless first-class skiing areas as well as cross-country ski trails. The city of Salzburg can be reached within 20 km and serves as the perfect opportunity for shopping and cultural enrichment. Waldhof time means wellness time! In the wellness area, which extends across 4000m2, there are numerous different types of saunas, a sole steam bath, a brine grotto as well as a number of relaxing zones and in- and outdoor pools on offer for our guests. A wide range of exclusive treatments and relaxing massages for both men and women are offered in the beauty area. Guests can also enjoy their workouts in the fully equipped fitness center, featuring a perfect lake panorama, free of charge. The food on offer at the hotel has been awarded several times and is rated among the best in the country. The gourmet package includes a great breakfast buffet, a lunch-snack-buffet, a cake and snack buffet and a daily alternating 5-course dinner menu. Guests are able to choose from three different restaurants at the resort. Children and teenagers alike have many opportunities on offer to play and to have fun, for example at the horse stable with ponies or on the archery course. The hotel’s child care service also offers entertaining programs for young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ebner's Waldhof am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebners Waldhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing