We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday at Haus Spencer!”
Review of Haus Spencer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filzmoos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haus Spencer
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another great holiday at Haus Spencer!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just returned home from another family holiday at Haus Spencer. This has been our second visit. Rob & Bev are great hosts. Bread service is really helpful. The village is friendly and the scenery never stops amazing us! Weather was lovely. Lots of local family things to do. Good walking and cycling country. Thanks again for having us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Haus Spencer for three days in July 2011. I really don't know what to add to the previous comments, as they perfectly reflect our experience.

We were so warmly welcomed after a 12-hour trip and immediately felt at home. The apartment is very spacious, everything you could possibly need is on hand and it was immaculately clean. As a previous commenter said, the photo's of the rooms really don't reflect the great state the apartment is in.

Rob and Bev are perfect hosts; on arrival we found a bottle of red wine and delicious Mozart kugeln (chocolates) in our apartment and Rob came by to check if the temperature in the apartment was all right. We had a very enjoyable evening chatting with Rob on our balcony, which reflects just how nice they are.

We would love to come back and would recommend Haus Spencer to everyone. We can honestly say Haus Spencer is the greatest accomodation we've ever stayed at and we wish we stayed much longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloorH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Recently returned from an unexpectedly damp (for January!) week’s skiing in Filzmoos. However, Haus Spencer and our truly lovely hosts Bev and Rob ensured we had a fantastic time despite the weather. Haus Spencer is located in a quiet road literally minutes (ok, slightly longer if wearing ski boots and dragging a child on a sleigh!) from the centre of town and certainly within easy reach of the local, well-supplied MPreis supermarket. For skiers the most challenging runs in Filzmoos are but 5 minutes walk (via the Papageno lift) and also allow you to ski easily to the nursery slopes supported by the excellent Bögei ski school.

Much has already been related about the quality of accommodation and I wish to reiterate that we were hugely impressed by the space and quality of our ‘Bischofmutze’ apartment: the open plan living/dining room was airy, light and spacious with an excellently equipped modern kitchen area alongside. We appreciated the CD and DVD players and the two sofas in the evening too. The 2 bedrooms, with their high ceilings under the eaves, were lovely, with comfortable beds and lots of storage space. The bathroom (shower with 2 sinks) and separate toilet were absolutely fine and spotlessly clean but it is an indication of Bev and Rob’s commitment to improving the accommodation at Haus Spencer that they plan to refresh these in due course. Personally I could not fault the apartment and considered it absolutely outstanding value for money.

A basement drying room offered a location for damp clothes, skis and boots and, for those so inclined, a superb no-expense-spared gym facility complete with treadmill was on offer at a small extra fee per day. I reckoned this was possibly a job creation scheme by Rob because he just happens to be qualified sports therapist and physio offering a range of treatments in an adjoining room! Useful to know ;-)

However, I wish to reserve my real praise for Bev and Rob themselves. Throughout one’s stay it is clear that nothing is too much trouble. They are consummate hosts, right from the welcoming email a week before your visit offering to pick up groceries 'at cost' from the supermarket (as we were arriving on the Sunday when it would be closed) to the fine conversation on the way back to the airport in the huge VW van using their transfer service. I could mention the superbly useful daily bread deliveries that can be arranged. I could refer to the offer of CDs and DVDs and the free-Wi-Fi. I could talk about the appearance of the absolutely incredible Sacher torte one evening and even the offer to join them on their ski-trips to the Amadé ski area outside of the village – as, for good skiers, Filzmoos has its limitations alas. But I won’t. I’ll let you experience these and other things yourselves. The Spencers deserve everything previous reviewers have said and I have no hesitation in recommending Haus Spencer. For a quiet retreat in one of the loveliest villages in Austria, at whatever time of year, I’m certain you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazzaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Yet again we were far from disappointed by our wonderful unforgetable holiday at Haus Spencer. Rob and Bev took so much trouble to make sure that we had a memorable Austrian Christmas. Our very well-appointed apartment was a home-from-home with a welcoming Christmas Tree, plenty of space for four adults and beautifully warm. The skiing was excellent, a ski instructor was arranged by Rob who also made arrangements for our magical sleigh ride up the valley to our Christmas Dinner. All in all, a Christmas that we will not forget.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolkboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We chose Haus Spencer after reading the reviews and because the owners offered a good value Airport pick up service as we did not want to drive in the snow
Rob and Bev, the owners, made us feel very welcome and the apartments were roomy well equipped and spotless. The location is an easy walk to the main ski lift so we didnt need a car all week. The resort itself is beautiful and everything is close to hand. One day we did decide to ski further a field and took advantage of the "in house" ski resort taxi service that Rob offers at reasonable cost. A nice surprise was to find that Rob is a fully trained Sports Masseur . He offers a range of massage options, which saved the holiday for us on day two, when my calf muscles gave up after skiing ( I am so unfit ) - Rob got them going again and the rest of the holiday was fantastic. The Apartments have their own Gym - but frankly I never got to use it as we were so tired after skiing - but if you are the sporty type it looks well equipped. We would certainly visit again and would recommend to friends. If you are looking for a great location close to the lifts in a pretty resort it will be hard to beat Haus Spencer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Townsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Rob & Bev really looked after us. The accomodation was clean, big & good value. We all enjoyed our stay. Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This was our second visit to Filzmoos after coming last year and as an intermediate beginner skier, Filzmoos is just the perfect place to learn - the nursery slope is big and very quiet even with the ski-schools throughout the day! We loved Filzmoos so much we had to bring some friends back this year and booked to stay at Haus Spencer which is a great central location. Upon arriving we were warmly greeted by Rob and Bev - they took us up to the apartment which made my jaw-drop with the size of the place! The photos definitely do not do it justice! Last year we stayed a little out of town and whilst it was lovely, the size of the apartment was no where near the size of Haus Spencer's so I was absolutely delighted from the beginning. The two bed apartment had two large balconies at the front which were a real suntrap after a hard day on the slopes, great to chill on and listen to some music with beer in hand watching the world go by!
Rob and Bev took time out to come and meet me and my friend on the slopes and gave us some great pointers on how to improve our ski-ing, really helpful as by mid week we were flying down those blue runs!! Well not quite..
The hospitality of Rob and Bev was great. Bev is a great cook - her red wine and chocolate cake is to die for! They were really attentive and had great local knowledge of where to eat, drink, ski - you name it they knew it ,or would find out for you if they didn't. We felt nothing was too much trouble.
We are defintely looking at coming back to Filzmoos next year and would recommend Haus Spencer to anyone looking for a great value, great location and great apartment.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Filzmoos hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel ...mein Neubergerhof
0.6 mi away
Hotel Unterhof
Hotel Unterhof
#6 of 13 in Filzmoos
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenkrone
Hotel Alpenkrone
#2 of 13 in Filzmoos
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hubertus
Hotel Hubertus
#8 of 13 in Filzmoos
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bischofsmutze
Hotel Bischofsmutze
#3 of 13 in Filzmoos
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dachstein
Hotel Dachstein
#4 of 13 in Filzmoos
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Spencer

Property: Haus Spencer
Address: Filzmoos 185, Filzmoos 5532, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Filzmoos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Filzmoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haus-Spencer occupies a lovely position near the centre of the village of Filzmoos. The ski chalet consists of two beautifully appointed self catering apartments; ‘Bischofsműtze’ and ‘Dachstein.’ Filzmoos is an attractive, traditional Austrian village set amidst magnificent scenery at the foot of the Bischofsműtze Mountain and Dachstein glacier, conveniently located only 45 minutes from the beautiful city of Salzburg and in the heart of the “ski amade region”, Austria’s largest interlinked skiing area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing