We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filzmoos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naturhotel Hammerhof
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My late wife and I have had over forty holidays abroad of which 22 were touring holidays by car, staying one night here and several nights elsewhere, which depended on the quality of the hotel and the attractions of the area. The Hammerhof is simply one of the best of the 100 or more in which we have stayed from north of the Arctic Circle in Norway to Southern Italy. The hotel is family owned and fellow guests agreed with me that if we wanted to criticise we could not. Everything was spot on. The rooms were well appointed with balconies and looked out on wonderful mountain scenery. The meals were excellent and one high spot is Opa's (grandfather's ) carriage ride into the mountains. Not to be missed.
The Ingham's rep described Fitzmoos as a spot of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: The hotel is half a mile from the village, so there is no problem with noise. I would happily have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hammerhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Looking forward to our first Christmas in Filzmoos this year back with Christine, Matthias and the Ebner family at the Hammerhof. Having been going to Filzmoos for over twelve years, summer and winter, it's like going home to the Hammerhof and it will be great to catch up with all our friends in the village. Circumstances have meant that we have not been able to go recently and have missed the friendly welcome of both the village and the family.
Cannot rate both highly enough and cannot wait to get back there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryB559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent a fantastic week in Filzmoos at Hotel Hammerhof's apartment house, just next to the hotel building. New, fresh and cosy apartment in top standard including all possible comfort: sauna, luxurious rooms and bed linen, new TV+DVD and everything you can think of. The staff downstairs helped us with everything, ordered fresh bread every morning etc. We had a number of excellent dinners at Hotel Hammerhof and the staff was very patient with our group of 4 adults and 4 small children. Filzmoos and Hotel Hammerhof is really Austria at its best!! We will come back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here as part of an Ingams ski package. The hoilday could have been a disaster due to the lack of decent snow, but the hotel made up for any failings in the white stuff. The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They even arranged a free sleigh ride for us, even though the brochure stated free rides weren't available until mid Feb.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at the Hammerhof as part of a package with Inghams this September.

The resort, Filzmoos, is a pleasant, quiet village which is an excellent location for a walking holiday. The local buses enable you to get quickly and easily to a tremendous variety of walks, and there are many others starting from the village itself. The chairlift allows east access to the higher slopes. Filzmoos is less than an hour from Salzburg airport.

It is difficult to fault the Hotel Hammerhof - we chose it in part on the strength of the reviews already posted on Trip-advisor, and we were not disappointed.

The location is great, set on it's own in a meadow on the edge of the village, with many walks on the doorstep, yet still only a couple of minutes walk from the village centre. A very quiet location with ample car parking if you need it.

The rooms were clean and well appointed, our twin had a south facing balcony, was spacious with a seating area, separate toilet and bath / shower room.

Meals were top quality - a tremendous breakfast with everything you could want, including all the usual continental options and bacon and eggs! Evening meals consisted of soup, followed by a good salad buffet, then a choice of three main courses (pre selected at breakfast), and then a good quality sweet. Drinks were good value, we had beers and the house wine, which were very reasonably priced. We enjoyed all of our meals during our one week stay.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly and could not do enough for you. They wore traditional dress which was a very nice touch. The hotel has a paddock in front and it's own horses. Our package included a horse drawn buggy ride up to the top of the valley and back. We were taken on the hotel's own buggy pulled by their own horse team. The friendly driver (again in traditional costume) handed round a bottle of schnapps as we wound our way gently up the valley in the sunshine - quite idyllic and great fun!

One other nice touch was the animals kept at the front side of the hotel, as well as the horses there was a donkey, goats, rabbits, ducks, pigs - you really felt like you were in the countryside, and your kids would love them.

This is a great hotel overall, well deserving of the excellent reviews it has already received from other visitors. If you like a quiet relaxed holiday you will like it here.

Room Tip: You can' go wrong with the rooms really, as all are quiet with great views. South facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned after spending a wonderful week at the Hammerhof. Ther hotel is faultless, the food is excellent, the staff are so friendly and the rooms immaculate. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and it was lovely to see the animals everyday.

The place place feels like home from home very well worth a visit.Highlight apart from the food was the free buggy ride.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlandspair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lovely small hotel in beautiful,peaceful setting on the edge of Fitzmoos . Excellent walking and everyone enjoyed the free buggy ride up the valley. The staff were helpful and friendly, the food excellent and the hotel was clean and inviting. Visiting the animals on our way out made a nice start to the walking day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluffy018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Filzmoos hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Unterhof
Hotel Unterhof
#5 of 13 in Filzmoos
94 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel ...mein Neubergerhof
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenkrone
Hotel Alpenkrone
#2 of 13 in Filzmoos
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Familienhotel Filzmooserhof
2.6 mi away
Pension Bergliebe
Pension Bergliebe
#2 of 28 in Filzmoos
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Krahlehenhof
Krahlehenhof
#11 of 26 in Filzmoos
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naturhotel Hammerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naturhotel Hammerhof

Address: Filzmoos 6, Filzmoos 5532, Austria (Formerly Hotel Hammerhof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Filzmoos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Filzmoos
Price Range: $73 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Naturhotel Hammerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing