We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Senger
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Magical hotel”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here on part of our 2week holiday, couldn't fault it. The room we were given was like apartment with a little kitchen, separate bathroom and toilet and large bedroom with table, chairs and settees. The large balcony looked over the lovely gardens and mountains. The public areas were very relaxing and traditionally furnished. We ate at hotel on both nights and food was excellent. The owners and staff are very welcoming and helpful. There's plenty to see and do nearby as well as the Grosslockner pass (which is why we chose the hotel). can't imagine anyone not loving this peaceful and relaxing hotel, didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: we had room 33, would be great for family as had mezzanine and little kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieq217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
112
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Andreas and Rosemary made us feel right at home and the hotel lobby was less of a lobby as it was a living room. The service is great, excellent food and a warm and inviting feel that fits right in with the area. Since I was traveling with family this was a welcome stay that we won't forget.

Room Tip: Corner suite combined two rooms and had a common area. Great for allowing space for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved this hotel from beginning to end. It was a very short encounter having only spent one night due to our hectic travel schedule. We wished we had stayed longer! We will be back.

We were greeted with a smile and assistance with our luggage up to our room by Andy, following his brief run through of the room we were told a table awaited us for dinner. We had brilliant table service and my girlfriends challenging food allergies were catered to perfectly, I on the other hand thoroughly enjoyed a traditional local dish meat fondue (my first experience) which was delicious!!!
In the morning we thought we had missed breakfast, but noooo. Andy the owner and manager of the hotel called our room to ask if we would be making breakfast, he told us it was very yummy and not to be missed, so we came down and were not surprised. They kindly kept the breakfast feast open so we did not miss it before a long drive ahead of us.

The room was large and the temperature was warm which was nice as it was cold outside, we had a cosy balcony with two chairs which was great to take in the picturesque mountain view. A large bathroom with all available amenities.

Free parking for our car was great and easy access to reception. Free wifi (Fast connection)

This was located on the fringe of the GroBlockner national park. The hotel offered lots of activities however as we hadn't planned on taking that up I cannot comment on this service.

END RESULT: GREAT PRICE, GREAT FOOD, AWESOME STAFF, GREAT LOCATION!
**HIGHLY RECOMMENDED**

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesUster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Beautiful rooms with large balconies that catch the sun all day, the hotel is in a fantastic location and serves excellent food, both breakfast and dinner. Andreas is a great host and is funny and helpful, the staff can't do enough for you and you certainly will enjoy your stay here, we even had a discounted ticket for the Grossglockner pass emailed to us before we arrived, highly recommend that you stay here

Room Tip: Go for a romantik room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to this hotel for our honeymoon. It was perfect. There was no noise and the staff was so helpful. The breakfast was amazing and the dinner, though a bit pricey, was worth every cent. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to experience the beauty of the alps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

There is nothing bad i can say about my stay at Chalet Hotel Senger. The place was meticulous decorated with a cosy ambient. The Restaurant was fantastic with it's Austrian flavour. In addition, apart from a mountain greeting the entrance of this beautiful home, the staff warm and lovely nature is what made the stay unforgettable. This is place where one can find a personal touch, i would highly recommend anyone who wish to be rejuvenated and have sweet dreams.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janekohbaoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at Chalet Hotel Senger when I had a free night during a business trip. I picked the location by chance, but picked the hotel based on the ratings. I was really very happy with the choice; the hotel is comfortable and cozy, and the owners are terrific; they are very attentive and friendly and the entire stay was excellent. The restaurant is warm and comfortable with a great fireplace, and the food was excellent as well. At checkout I found that I'd stayed on their first night open for the summer season; you would think that there would have been some issues, or mustiness, but it was really a great choice to have stayed there. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the valley! Great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnB_RaleighNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiligenblut
0.3 mi away
Nationalpark Lodge Grossglockner
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaerntnerhof
Hotel Kaerntnerhof
#3 of 8 in Heiligenblut
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Heiligenblut
Hunguest Hotel Heiligenblut
#8 of 8 in Heiligenblut
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
#5 of 8 in Heiligenblut
57 reviews
22.1 mi away
Almwellness-Resort Tuffbad
Almwellness-Resort Tuffbad
#1 of 1 in St.Lorenzen
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gasthof Sonnblick
Gasthof Sonnblick
#6 of 8 in Heiligenblut
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Senger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Senger

Property: Chalet Hotel Senger
Address: Hof 23, Heiligenblut 9844, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Heiligenblut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Hotel Senger 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Chalet Hotel in the Nationalpark 'Hohe Tauern'right on the bottom of the highest mountain in Austria (Großglockner 3798 m). Best place for Austrian mountain holiday feeling. Stunning nature, hikes in the National Park, waterfalls - Großglockner Hochalpenstrasse - panoramic road. In winter skiing. Heaps of snow. Fireplaces and all around cozy atmosphere. Rooms, Suites and Appartemtnst with beautiful mountainview. Small restaurant with excellent Austrian food. Hideway to stay ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Hotel Senger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing