We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is true!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Senger
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in late September 2012. I had never seen such a positive rating on Tripadvisor when I booked the Senger. I didn’t believe it but it is true. The location and ambiance are great but the owners put it over the top; so organized and attentive to guests. Great food. As many others have stated, we should have stayed longer. Tip: Check if there is still a promotion on at many Heligenblut hotels including the Senger. If you stay 2 nights you receive a pass for the Grossglockner and the national park. The promotion is great value but the road is recommended even if you have pay the toll yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LnCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 269 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights--not enough!--here in September. We wanted to stay within the Hohe Tauern National Park and after looking at a detailed map we started investigating what the tiny town of Heiligenblut had to offer. All of the 5-star reviews on Tripadvisor are completely deserved; we couldn't have chosen better. First of all, the setting is jaw-droppingly stunning--the mountains, the clear sky, the village nestled below with its beautiful church spire, the frequent distant sound of church bells. And the hotel abounds in real charm and warm hospitality. As almost all reviewers mention, Andreas sets the tone from the moment you arrive, with his hearty welcome and warmth. Our room--it was actually more of an apartment, with a sitting room, small but complete kitchen, comfortable bedroom, and big, modern bathroom--was tastefully rustic and serene, really lovely. And what views from the balcony! The dining room and bar were very nice, and there are a number of wonderful sitting rooms as well. Andreas's parents--his father was an Olympic skier and later the coach of the Austrian National Ski Team--started the inn, and I would have to say that Andreas has brought it to an almost-perfect state. The village is so very pretty, but very small. The mountains--especially the Grossglockner and the road up to it-- are the reason to come to this part of Austria--and next time we will be sure to stay longer so that we can take advantage of the many hiking opportunities.

Room Tip: We booked through Booking.com which booked us into an enormous suite. When we arrived Andreas was su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I picked Chalet Hotel Senger from the Tripadvisor ratings and it didn't disappoint, in fact it was better than its excellent reviews! We spent two nights here is early September to explore the Grossglockner and surrounding area. Andreas greeted us on our arrival and assisted us in getting booked for horseback riding, which was on my wish list of things to do in Heiligenblut. The chalet has a warm eclectic feel with its Moroccan like lanterns hanging in the bar area, yet has tons of Austrian charm. Food was excellent and we enjoyed two breakfasts and two dinners here. After dinner we relaxed by the bar and listened to Andreas groovy 'Chillout' music. Andreas and my husband have similar music interests and spent an evening sharing tunes. Felt like we were hanging out with an old friend. Our room was large with an outdoor balcony and a great mountain view. I feel so fortunate to have spent our time here on our vacation and will definitely be returning in the future! Thanks Andreas, for a great visit! See you again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Perfect location to get an early start on the ( or at the finish of) Grossglockner road. If our schedule permitted, I would have liked to stay another night. The hotel is a 2 minute drive from the center of the town. Room was very comfortable with rustic furnishings and very modern bathroom. Room had balcony with spectacular view. Hotel has a quite and relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was very good and there were cooked to order eggs offered. Hotel has an elevator (lift).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RawinderK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I can't begin to describe just how incredible this place is. The food was great, service was top notch. The owner, Andreas was very friendly and very interested in making our stay a great one. I had read one review on another site how the only bad thing to this hotel was that it wasn't in the center of town. While this is true, I would hardly call it a bad thing. The town seemed to have concerts every night. If you stayed in the center of town it would be very loud. At the hotel it was just distant noise. Plus if you want to go to town, it's only a 3 minute drive (or walkable if you don't mind walking on a steep road).

Stay at this place! You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfsleepyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

4 of us recently took a motorcycle trip through parts of Europe with 3 days in the Alps. Our first night we stayed at Chalet Hotel Senger. We got in later than we planned and the sun was setting fast, but Andreas ran out to where we were parking our bikes to let us know that, no, we would park in their garage instead! That was the start of our fabulous, but too brief, stay.

The views from our apartment balcony (which easily held 2 couples, but could have held 2 or 3 more people easily) were incredible. The apartment was clean and included a full kitchen, though why you would eat in your room when the restaurant downstairs is so incredibly good, I don't know!

We had to leave too early in the morning before we could really enjoy the surrounding area. We really do want to make it back!

Room Tip: There are apartments available, worth it if there are more than 2 of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A must stay place.

A truly great place to stay with the added bonus that the location is simply outstanding and ideal for many activities or simply relaxing. For us it was the perfect base for the Alpine Road and Grossglockner.

The hosts work very hard to ensure you have a great stay and were very helpful with local recommendations - although the '10 minute' walk to the waterfall turned out to be an hour as we misunderstood where to park.

The tourist card you get for staying 2 nights or more gives you a free ride on the local chair lift which takes you right up the mountain for great views and walks - when we visited in August the last ride up was 4pm and only to the middle station so watch for that if you leave it until the afternoon, we did it anyway as it was free and then came back the following day to do the rest.

There is a Spar in the local village which also opens on a Sunday.

Food was excellent, varied and the service very friendly and very helpful. We were able to prepare some ham rolls for lunch at breakfast and when the children wanted to share a main course in the evening everything was provided to help them.

The room we had was extremely big and very very comfortable, it was also spotless and refreshed well - we had some questions before we arrived, particularly about dogs as one of our children has a significant fear of dogs and the Senger was extremely helpful, we need not have worried - Andreas even checked on our first night that our child was okay.

If you are heading anywhere near here, save yourself the time looking at other place to stay and just book the Senger.

Tip for the Alpine Road - if you wake up and it's sunny, head for the road to beat the coaches and drive to the highest point to enjoy the peace and tranquility before the masses arrive. Stay for 2 nights or more and you are sent a voucher in advance for a free pass for the road.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel about what you are looking for in advance - we did and the recommendation was abso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notasmadasafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiligenblut
0.3 mi away
Nationalpark Lodge Grossglockner
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaerntnerhof
Hotel Kaerntnerhof
#2 of 8 in Heiligenblut
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
#5 of 8 in Heiligenblut
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Laerchenhof
Hotel Laerchenhof
#3 of 8 in Heiligenblut
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Heiligenblut
Hunguest Hotel Heiligenblut
#7 of 8 in Heiligenblut
53 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Holunderhof
Hotel Holunderhof
#3 of 9 in Lienz
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Senger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Senger

Address: Hof 23, Heiligenblut 9844, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Heiligenblut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Price Range: $189 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Hotel Senger 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Chalet Hotel in the Nationalpark 'Hohe Tauern'right on the bottom of the highest mountain in Austria (Großglockner 3798 m). Best place for Austrian mountain holiday feeling. Stunning nature, hikes in the National Park, waterfalls - Großglockner Hochalpenstrasse - panoramic road. In winter skiing. Heaps of snow. Fireplaces and all around cozy atmosphere. Rooms, Suites and Appartemtnst with beautiful mountainview. Small restaurant with excellent Austrian food. Hideway to stay ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet Hotel Senger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing