We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 3 nights we spent in our summer vacation”
Review of Pension Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Edelweiss
Ranked #3 of 26 Heiligenblut B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best 3 nights we spent in our summer vacation”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The family running the place is doing a great job ! Their hospitality is heartwarming. Breakfast is all you expect from a hotel of this budget. Our room and the entire facilities are extremely clean. Each day I could hear the vacuum cleaner working even in the garage. The location amazing, you can hear the water on the river from the melting glacier. The view was much better than what we expected. Taking into account that we got the national park pass free of charge because we stayed for 3 nights the value of this place is great! We hope we visit again! The camping restaurant close by is great for dinner.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our skiing holidays. The location is excellent, because the free shuttle bus stop is right in front of the house and returning back from the ski lift is easy (walking and skiing)even if one misses the shuttle bus. Skis are stored in a garage and ski boots are heated and stored on the ground floor. The family running this pension is very kind, the rooms are clean and cosy and the view is overwhelming. The breakfast is very good as well. There is a free wireless internet available. A small disadvantage is that grocery shopps are about 1km away. But it is still a walk distance and we do not mind really.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molibden42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Pension Edelweiss provided a lovely room near a small river with an amazing view of Grossglockner from a tranquil balcony. Included was a very nice breakfast. As others have mentioned, the inn is locate a short, if uphill, walk to the heart of the village. Despite a visit during the relatively quiet season in early May, we enjoyed a nice meal and a few beers in the village. We had driven over the Grossglocknerstrasse that afternoon. Simply spectacular! We hope to visit Heiligenblut again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Grossglockner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianinnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Pension Edelweiss is a quiet guesthouse run by a couple with limited English (this did not pose problems though). The inn is beside the river and not in the town, but a short walk up a very steep path leads you right past the church and into the town. The inn was very clean with a decent breakfast, and our rooms shared an enormous porch with views of the town and the valley all the way to Grossglockner. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay while visiting Hohe Tauern, especially given the very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with front or side porch access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Ilinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We again found this on our own and what a jewel it was
A must stay if you are in Heiligenblut
Great View of the Grossglockner and right next to a river with a bridge if you want to walk up the hill to the main part of town

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Pension Edelweiss is stunning accommodation nested in a valley directly below the main town of Heiligenblut. Although it's 2km by road to town, directly opposite the pension is a footpath that leads directly into town so it's an easy 5 minute stroll to restaurants and information centres.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a huge bathroom, bed, TV and plenty of storage room. As a bonus there is also a balcony. Our room had picturesque views directly to the Grossglockner - so enjoy amazing sunrises and sunsets.

The breakfast room is also very quaint and the breakfast includes a mix of cereals, breads, cheese, meats and fruit - a great start to the day. The hosts are also lovely and helpful.

Heiligenblut was one of the hidden gems of our five-week Europe trip - the drive in on the Grossglockner Road itself and this amazing little town makes this a must-see and Pension Edelweiss is the ideal accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heiligenblut hotels
0.2 mi away
Nationalpark Lodge Grossglockner
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaerntnerhof
Hotel Kaerntnerhof
#3 of 8 in Heiligenblut
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Senger
Chalet Hotel Senger
#1 of 8 in Heiligenblut
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laerchenhof
Hotel Laerchenhof
#2 of 8 in Heiligenblut
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
#5 of 8 in Heiligenblut
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Heiligenblut
Hunguest Hotel Heiligenblut
#8 of 8 in Heiligenblut
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Edelweiss

Property: Pension Edelweiss
Address: Hadergasse 17, Heiligenblut 9844, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Heiligenblut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Heiligenblut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing