We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of Hotel Laerchenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laerchenhof
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

With views to Heiligenblut and up the valley toward the Grossglockner this is a superbly located traditional style hotel with all the modern comforts. Great balcony, sitting area in room, free wifi. Terrace to eat on. It has got it all. Family run with a great welcome. Travel pass for the Grossglockner as we were staying two nights which saved us 31 Euros. Originally we were on a bed and breakfasr tarif but we decided to eat in the restaurant on the first night and had the set menu. They set a table on the terrace for us as it was such a beautiful evening. The next night we did the same as the food and ambiance were so good. On check out they changed our tariff to half board which saved us money and was very generous. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We loved the place. They made us an early breakfast on departure as we had a long trip across Austria and Switzerland to do. This is a fun place to stay and superbly located for the Grossglockner. Good parking on site.

Room Tip: A balcony room with a view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 82 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

When in Austria, I had previously rarely ventured outside of Vienna. People in Vienna, like in other European capitals, can sometimes seem a little too smug, or even unfriendly. In the Alpine regions of Austria, it is just the contrary. Some of the warmest, nicest people you will ever find. This is also true about the family who runs the Hotel Lärchenhof.

The Hotel is located in Heiligenblut, at the end of the Grossglockner Hochalpenstrasse - a breathtaking mountain road leading around the Austria's highest peak. The hotel is built on a mountain slope, and the rooms facing the valley have beautiful views. If someone told me that Heiligenblut was the prettiest village in all of Alps, I would be inclined to believe them. The morning view of the sunlit valley is priceless.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable, with a generously large room. Like in many hotels in Austria, the bathroom and toilet are separated, which can be a time-saver. Perhaps the only thing I missed was some kind of a guide to the hotel facilities.

The parking space is large and easily accessible via an elevator, with a separate protected space for motorcycles - as a biker I liked seeing that.

The hotel is good value for money, and we were offered a small discount without asking for it (possibly due to low season). We were also offered a free pass to the Grossglockner road (worth EUR 29), if we stayed an extra night. And last but not least, we were provided an internet-connected iPad, free of charge. Great! I wish all the hotels did that.

We were sorry not to have had a dinner in the hotel, as the possibilities in Heiligenblut are not so abundant. We did at least have an evening drink in the hotel bar, which is decorated with wood and very pleasant. It has a fireplace and quite a substantial reading area with books (I presume) about the region. Unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to try out the sauna / small spa.

The breakfast was very good, served until sufficiently late. The family who runs the hotel was always there, dressed in traditional costume - even their little daughter. A very nice touch.

The check out was quick and efficient. We felt genuinely sad we had to leave.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1000B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying herewith my boyfriend. The receptionist/ owner was very pleasant and accommodating. We had a room with a wonderful view of the balcony, I requested for the heater in the room to be on as I was feeling cold, but not only was the heater switched on for our comfort but the heater in the bathroom was too. The room and bathroom was very large, clean and hospitable. The breakfast and dinner served complimentary of our stay was excellent and 5 star.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the town centre and has a forest besides it, that has very nice trails to wander in. In the afternoon, one can glimpse the deers grazing nearby from the bedroom.

I loved the hotel and hope to stay here again. The owner and his wife are very pleasant and so helpful. My boyfriend and I just LOVED it and recommend it very highly. Not a sigle fault can be found for this enchanting place !!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhashani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Erker Panorama Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanca_spiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer mit Talblick sind traumhaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddyannies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tolle Ecksuiten!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kaspar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heiligenblut hotels
0.2 mi away
Nationalpark Lodge Grossglockner
0.1 mi away
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
#6 of 8 in Heiligenblut
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Senger
Chalet Hotel Senger
#1 of 8 in Heiligenblut
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaerntnerhof
Hotel Kaerntnerhof
#2 of 8 in Heiligenblut
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Heiligenblut
Hunguest Hotel Heiligenblut
#7 of 8 in Heiligenblut
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gletscherblick
Gletscherblick
#5 of 8 in Heiligenblut
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laerchenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laerchenhof

Address: Hof 70, Heiligenblut 9844, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Heiligenblut
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Price Range: $151 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laerchenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Laerchenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing