We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Tauernalm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof Tauernalm
Ranked #5 of 25 Heiligenblut B&B and Inns
Sutton, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a great place to stay near the Grossglockner! We had a room with the balcony facing the mountains and the views were spectacular down to the valley and up to the mountains. When we woke up in the morning and went out on the balcony we saw a sight that you don't see very often - we were looking down at a rainbow! The owner could not have made us feel more welcome and he was anxious to make our stay as good as possible. We had scrambled eggs at breakfast which was a real treat from the usual breakfast we had on our trip. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The wifi was very good and we hope at some time to be able to visit again. Please see the photo for the view from the balcony.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjk727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banglamung
Level Contributor
173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a nice place; only a Gasthof (guesthouse) but in a perfect location with nice rooms with mountain view, good food and on top the charming owners who gave us the feeling of being part of the family. A bit out of town but with a car no problem but for sure the best place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baia Mare, Maramures, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The owner was extremely friendly. Good food, breakfast was good. He offered a a 3 course dinner for a great price. He speaks German, English, Italian and French. He offered us advice and recomendation for hicking and sightseeing. The hotel was very clean. The location, next to the toll station in Heiligenblut is the best place for starting hickes and trips in the grossglockner area. It is also a good place for skiers since there is a T-lift 50 meters from the hotel and a cabin 300 meters away. It is an excelent location offering great value for your money. To reach the city center of Heiligenblut you can take a 5-10 minutes drive or a 30-45 minutes walk. Parking in front of hotel was free. Internet access was possible and free. Accepts all creditcards (mastercard, maestro, visa). We would definitely recommend and return to this hotel

Room Tip: all rooms are great and have a balcony. half of them have a view towards the grossglockner mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very friendly and helpful people, calling back to confirm late arrival. Room clean, stylish, with 2 beds option for kids. Breakfast served professionally, nice choice. Morning view to Grossglockner from the balcony can be good motivation for Alpstrasse trip. Great place for few days stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rider_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel's location is just incredible! The family-run Gasthof is located at 1680 metres above sea level and offers direct mountain views. The hotel is just at the beginning of the Grossglocknerhochalpenstrasse, a few meters from the route toll point. The room was really spacious and clean, with a balcony and a large bathroom. The host was one of the friendlliest we've met. The food was home-cooked-style and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SissyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiligenblut
0.6 mi away
Hotel Glocknerhof
Hotel Glocknerhof
#3 of 8 in Heiligenblut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laerchenhof
Hotel Laerchenhof
#2 of 8 in Heiligenblut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Senger
Chalet Hotel Senger
#1 of 8 in Heiligenblut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Lampenhaeusl
Hotel Lampenhaeusl
#1 of 5 in Fusch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
Landhotel Post Heiligenblut
#6 of 8 in Heiligenblut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.9 mi away
Berggasthof Wallackhaus
Berggasthof Wallackhaus
#2 of 25 in Heiligenblut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Tauernalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Tauernalm

Property: Gasthof Tauernalm
Address: Untertauern 30, Heiligenblut 9844, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Heiligenblut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Heiligenblut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthof Tauernalm 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gasthof Tauernalm is situated in front of the paystationfrom the grossglockner road. In Winter we are in the nearof the skilift Tauernalm.friendly service and a good kitchen you can find here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gasthof Tauernalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing