We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located near the lift and slopes, very good kids club, and food is super.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rennweg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a very good holiday, our daughter loved kids club she stayed there after skiing till closing. very nice spa area, with different activities "infusion". Also food is very good, if special request they will make it specially so best place for a nice relaxing holiday with kids.

Room Tip: we were in room 71 whcih was very good not much view out of window but only slept in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueEllenSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 330 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

I have visited this hotel often over the last few years and I have to say I have never been disappointed. In fact, if anything it gets better. I have used the hotel as an individual and as a guest of a package tour company and found no difference to the warm welcome or the quality of service. Arriving last week at the peak of a Saturday change over period we were checked into our rooms within 10 minutes of our arrival with friendly smiles.
Welcome drinks were provided on the first evening with our dinner after individual personal greeting by the Hotel Manager or the restaurant Manager.
The restraurant is split into many smaller areas, enabling differing family types to be accomodated.
The hotel is perfectly sited for all levels of skier on the slope with its own ski hire and ski school, it has child care facility for those who need it with a seperate smaller child pool etc. for their sole use.
Having read the previous reviews anything else I write would only in the main be duplication.
In short I would recommend this hotel for may reasons and find it hard to be critical. In fact I am going back again in a months time.

Room Tip: The annexed rooms are only served by stairs, but then the price reflects this slight inconvenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redleader2skipatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Hotel is placed on the slopes, which are more then appropriate for beginners, intermediates and children.

Accordingly the hotel is nicely orientated towards the families - playrooms, entertainment rooms (well, they should fix broken arcade games for the next season), special pool for kids (which will soon need some renovation, as is looked a bit neglected), babysitting service - all with attention to the details.

But the best part of the hotel is the attention to the 'separation' of families with kids and those without:
-in the restaurant they give special attention to the sitting order, so that little kids don't annoy DINKy (double income, no kids) guests,
-food in restaurant is suitable for finest of the tastes, but special buffet (and a quality one) is also available for kids
-separate pool for kids and another pool for adults, where kids have to leave by 18h.


If you are wondering which of the two Falkensteiner hotels in Katschberg to choose, I would suggest Cristalo if you are here with family, as its position is closer to ski schools and to the easier slopes.

And since more and more hotel managers are reading these reviews, here are two issues that should be corrected:
-the reception desk should be extended on Saturdays, as existing amount of receptionists cannot handle the traffic
-the back wall of the bar should be covered with matte cover, in order to obstruct the otherwise direct view to the sauna pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg_293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Originally we planned to stay 7 nights but we had such a great time we stayed one more night. We travelled with two little kids, 5 months-old and 2,5-years-old.

Hotel:
We had a family room: two bedrooms and one living room. Spacious bathroom. You can slide all doors so you can decide how many rooms you want to have and it was really useful with 2 small kids. Room clean, bathrobe for the kids, too. Big balcony.
Garage places quite small so be careful when parking. You can access the garage area from the hotel by lift.

Food:
We were on full board. Ate much during the holiday because food was really delicious and there were always a lot to choose from. Sometimes you have to order in advance for the following night and waiters serve the main course.

Children amenities:
There were lots of other children in the hotel. Children's pool with slide was perfect for us. There is a children's playground outside and an inside playroom called Falky-land. Animations available but for older children (3+) so we could not try these.
Buggy free of charge at the reception.

Wellness area:
Inside pool is OK, not too big but fine. Sauna area is great, 3 types of saunas. It would have been nice if the wellness area had been open until 10 pm. They close at 8 pm unfortunately so I had no chance to go downstairs to relax after putting our children into bed.

Staff:
Really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank panna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Even though this hotel is intended for winter holiday makers it is just as fit for the summer. Rates are of course much cheaper during the summer, so the added bargain makes choosing this hotel more attractive.

Well this is the second time we've stayed at a Falkensteiner family hotel and herefore we knew we were expecting a stay with superior expectations. Of course we were not let down. The level of service, particularly to the restaurant staff is outstanding. Communicating in English language is somehow difficult or challenging but with a bit of 'ger-ital-glish' everything worked out fine.

The rooms we were given 'Royal Rooms' were ok eventhough furniture has passed its better days! Even the bathroom has lost its spark although impeccably clean. I think some rooms have or are being refurbished - so anyone considering Hotel Cristallo might want to take note.

Food was perfect and excellent everytime.

Some minor negative points that in my opinion the management should look into -

1. Beverage prices in the reastaurant are exhorbitant. I mean, come on paying EUR 35 for a bottle of cheap wine is too much. Not to mention the price for bottled mineral water!! Tip if you want water just ask for a jug of water its free and as good as the bottled one, practically everyone was doing that anyway!

2. The opening hours for the restaurant (18:30-20:00) are a bit awkward. At least they should be extended.

3. Evening entertainment is poor considering there's nothing to do or go nearby in the evening. It was only on one occasion that there was live entertainment in the bar by a local resident dj/ singer. By the way he was absolutely fantastic - pity I cannot remember the name. The pools close at 2000hrs, at least they should remain open till 22.00hrs.

Barr the above, all -in-all this hotel is an ideal family place, set in a wonderful surrounding and which comes with all the bells that one would expect from a 4 star hotel. Recommended.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank GOH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Nice hotel, partly renewed. We took upgrade to better rooms and thanks to fact that we stayed there at low season we got upgrade for free. Altought i have to say that old, not so trendy room was bigger, new ones (i think cristallo rooms) have separeted "living" room. We stayed on forth flour so our babyphone had even signal in gym on fifht floor, good to know. Btw gym is quite ok and from running bell you can watch slope and skiing.
Food - a lot, really a lot. What is great that for dinner you have special kids corner. except of french fries you can always find there also something little bit more heatlhty.
Hotel is great mainly for kids - two playing rooms (including nany), special swimming pool, kids sauna, even you can rent troley, segway etc. And the best way is also the skiing all around the hotel you can find kids slopes with figurines and other funny stuff. Its hard to find any cons - maybe only that there is not much around and advanced skiers could be bored after one day. Also parking is paid, even there is no other chance where to park. No reasonable internet in hotel. But if you have kids there its hard to find better place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute as our original hotel cancelled due to early closure. Very convenient from Salzburg Airport, about 1 hour 20 min straight motorway until the last 6 miles up the mountain. Spacious modern rooms but would advise you to book the Royal Rooms in the main building as the Classic Rooms are in an annexe and apparently quite old fashioned and dark. Ski hire and ski school very convenient in building. Slopes accross the road. Unfortunately we came at the end of the season and the snow was not very good anymore but apparently they had very little snowfall this winter anyhow.Normally beginning of April is apprently still good. Fantastic pool and spa area although view to beautiful landscape is obstructed by hideaously ugly apartment blocks!! Food very good. A negative is that we found the staff to be quite inpersonal and unfriendly. We have always stayed in family owned hotels on skiing holidays in Austria and the staff is a lot friendlier. Especailly the restaurant staff was quite unfriendly. One very irritating thing was that the plate was taken away from you as soon as you put your cutley down, before the others at the table had finished their meal which is not correct.
Very good for skiiers but as there is no village there is not much to do if you are accompanying and don't ski. No internet access in the rooms which is unusual for this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rennweg
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg
22.9 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#5 of 36 in Bad Gastein
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Familienhotel Hinteregger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Katschberghof
Katschberghof
#4 of 4 in Rennweg
42 reviews
18.6 mi away
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
#7 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
367 reviews
23.9 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo

Address: Katschberghoehe 6, Rennweg 9863, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Rennweg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rennweg
Price Range: $183 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel Rennweg
Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo Austria/Rennweg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing