We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great spring holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Familienhotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Familienhotel Post
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Millstatt
w
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great spring holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The three of us went to Familienhotel Post in Millstatt at Easter and had a great time. We have been to a couple of other Kinderhotels and this one is my personal favourite (my son's opinion is different because another hotel had a waterslide but he also really liked Familienhotel Post).

The service and friendliness were the strongest bits. Peter is the owner's son- and he is friendly and warm. When our arrival dates overlapped with a period the hotel was closed for renovation, he booked us into a nearby hotel for the first days of our holiday and arranged transport for us back and forth. He suggested loads of activities for us to try and personally leads mountain bike treks, fishing trips, etc. He also popped by to check in with us at least once a day- not in an obtrusive way, but in a friendly, personable way. He makes you feel more like a friend and house guest rather than a client. You can tell this approach is working as many of the guests have been coming every year for years and years.Tthere were a lot of families with teenagers who have been coming since the children were babies.

The building is nice- a classic hotel but updated with lots of amenities. The pool itself is really special, with huge windows and the pool itself is stainless steel- very striking and modern looking. There's lots of outdoor space too- there's a brook out back next to a sandpit which was great for building lakes and dams. There's also a pedal-cart track and a big lawn for playing. The building is very nice and although it's in the town it feels like it's an outdoor holiday when you're there.

The food was really nice too, not quite as 'gourmet' focused as some other kinder hotels but good quality and in generous amounts. The alcohol was good and reasonably priced too, There's even a cocktail bar with mocktails for the kids.

We had initially planned to ski while there but due to the warm spring we ended up having a spring holiday instead. There are lots of activities around- local tennis courts, the lake, horse riding, a nearby climbing wall. I can't vouch for the skiing (the one day on the slopes I had was decent as far as late season skiing goes) but I heard that the resort is being expanded and redeveloped this year.

The only less positive comments I would make are not really around the hotel itself and are more about us: we came with a 5-year old and the reality is that the space and activities are probably a bit more suitable for older children. The hotel itself is more 'adult' in decor than other kinderhotels as well- which we enjoyed but I could see this being a place we go back to once our son is a few years older. The other point is that the regulars at this hotel are primarily German speakers- so while they are all very friendly it might be a little tough for English-speaking children to make friends. Our son is pretty outgoing so didn't have a problem but this might be an issue for others.

Room Tip: There's some newly renovated rooms- we didn't stay in one but they looked really nice from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weybridge_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great style and comfort, excellent food and service and lots of amenities for families with kids. Great programs and very well run. Loved the location by the rushing stream I could hear all night if I wanted to . And the location in this charming village that offers a rich culture going back centuries and filled with great history as well as access to nature, the lake and great vistas. I highly recommend this place for a rich experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a view of the lake , this on the west allow you to hear the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

i spent a week at this hotel. the room was great (bed, linen, shower). The staff was very friendly and always ready to halp. the city is small and beautiful and the ski station is near.
i`d love to go back again and stay at the same place.
very recomended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tha_csf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Hotel has many many Good Things And a few Bad Things. So lets Start with the Good Things. The Hotel has many Great activities including Golf, Nordic walking, Yoga, And many more. It includes 4 Pools (Baby Pool, Kids Pool, another Baby Pool, And a small indoor Pool) it also has a go cart Track, Bungee Castle, Beach Volley Ball, football(Soccer), And a Basketball Field Out of Grass. One of the negative Points is The Food Because theres barely any Food Kids like( wich is quite dissapointing for a Family Hotel) so i recommend that you should go to peppinos Pizzeria (which is 5 Mins away from The Hotel.
I strongly recommend you to go to The Bonsai Museum nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgehead4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
167 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Friendly staff with a solid, hospitable attitude. A good choice for families with small children as concept is based on familiy friendly facilities and activities. However, facilities are not necessarily 4 stars: Pool is fine but pool area packed during sunny days as the surrounding area is very small. Connected changing/shower facilities are very poor and urgently needs renovation. "Football playing field" is a small grass lane, not maintained. Gocart facilities OK.

Huge restaurant with nice outdoor terrace, good atmosphere. Food is plenty, solid and high quality - Austrian rural cuisine - with friendly and (with some variations) competent service. We stayed in a family room with town view. Size OK but a bit dull with thick carpet, could need some updating. In general there are thick carpets all over the hotel, leaving a somewhat dusty impression. Staying at the hotel gives access to sister hotel Postillon at the lake (10 min walk) with excellent swimming options. For daytrips try the nearby Lammersdorfer Hütte (mountain views and hiking routes) and the small artistic and medieval town of Gmünd.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millstatt
0.2 mi away
See-Villa Hotel
See-Villa Hotel
#1 of 16 in Millstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am See - Die Forelle
Hotel am See - Die Forelle
#8 of 16 in Millstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Trattlerhof
Hotel Trattlerhof
#2 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alexanderhof
Hotel Alexanderhof
#5 of 16 in Millstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
10.1 mi away
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
#6 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Brennseehof
Hotel Brennseehof
#1 of 3 in Feld am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Familienhotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familienhotel Post

Property: Familienhotel Post
Address: Mirnockstrasse 38, Millstatt 9872, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Millstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Millstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Familienhotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familienhotel Post is a family hotel with up to 8 professional, loving child minders. In front of the house: a lovely sun terrace, and for the little one’s first attempts on skis there are caring nannies to make sure the experience is just perfect. Everything close by: 9 fantastic ski resorts - 1 ski pass, sleigh rides, sledding, ice skating on the lakes, curling, winter hikes, cross country skiing, snowshoeing with your hostess, getting to know the ski tours with guide, and rustic ski lodges ... Indoor water world: a panoramic indoor pool, a children's pool (34 °C), a youth gaming room, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, mountain water grotto, fitness room and palm rest room, solarium, massage, beauty treatments, a private fitness trainer, children's playroom and baby pavilion. Just 500m from the hotel you will discover a beautiful private beach at the hotel Postillion Lake with 120 m of sandy beach (lake temperature up to 27 °), a romantic lakeside sauna, 20% discount on green fees at the local golf course Millstatt, private fishing water in the lake, guided fishing trips, boats, etc. Outdoor water empire: A heated pool area with paddling pool and lots of sand, a flower terrac ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Familienhotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing