We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dim's Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dim's Hostal
Ranked #4 of 20 Pedasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is really cosy. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. It has a huge garden with hammocks. At night it is beautiful illuminated. The breakfast is very good and the rooms are comfortable. There is a warm water shower and a tv. I would definitely recommend this hostel if you're searching a peacefull and remote place to relax.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaffeegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    41
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
42
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

A great place to go on a fishing trip. I felt at home at Dims bed and breakfast. A quiet, safe place to stay. Great food and restaurants in walking distance with grocery store across the street. Reminds me of Buras, Louisiana, where i grew up 30 years ago. A great place to raise children. Can' t wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms. Air conditioning was excellent and water heaters that actually worked.
Great breakfast, included.
Centrally located.
Mirna (sp?) was simply amazing, spoke very good English and was so helpful!
Safe parking if you have a car.
Cheapest laundry service in Central America.
Hard to find because there was no sign- just ask around, well worth the search.
Wished we would have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieLHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Not a lot of tourists when I was there in March 2012, so it all seemed kinda sleepy both in town and at the hostel. But the hostel is very pleasant with a large and comfortable yard in back of the hostel with lots of seats and hammocks for guests. The room was decent sized, clean and had a good en suite bathroom. Paid around 30usd a night. The beach is about a 40 minute walk down a dusty road from town. The hostal has bikes but they were in such ragged condition that they were really of no use (I took one to the beach on the first day only to have the pedal fall off halfway back). Pedasi, from my experience, is not where the "action" is if that matters, but I was at the tail end of my trip and I just wanted some sun and sand (it rained for the better part of five days was in Bocas earlier). Dim's was a great place to chill while not at the beach and there's a store with simple foods just down the street so if you're doing it on the cheap, cooking meals at the hostal is no effort. When I was there the English of the staff was pretty limited, but the owner (and I gather, usual proprietor) wasn't around for most of the time I was staying there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikio44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a good location to see the area. Buses are available right outside, if you want to go further south or west. Buses drop you off. If you are driving a vehicle, parking is secure for your car.
Fishing is close by. Restaurants are within walking distance, as is laundry to drop off you load.
The grocery store is just across the street. If you want something better (more luxurious) you can pay 3 to 6 times as much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stantiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Dims hotel is a nice option if you are traveling alone or on a budget. The room was nice and clean with A/C, tv with cable, open wifi on the restaurant area. Bathroom was also nice and clean. nice open gardens and super cool rancho with a tree on the middle holding the roof
The Hostal is not fancy but that you received is great for the rate you are paying specially is you compare it with other options around

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Unfortunately, when I stayed here there was no one else staying there at all, or so it seemed. And the whole town seemed dead (it was mid-week) so that affected my impression of Pedasi somewhat as a bit boring. Pretty, but boring.

However, I can't fault the hostal for that really. It does have a great outdoor area, with undercover tables and hammocks, perfect for hanging out. The rooms are a decent size, clean, AC, hot water showers, there's free wi-fi and cable tv in the rooms. And the older guy who seemed to be running it was friendly and helpful.

Am not sure if i'd stay there again as it seemed a bit overpriced to me, $30 for a single

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#2 of 7 in Pedasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
12.8 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
12.9 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Casa Lajagua
Casa Lajagua
#1 of 20 in Pedasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
12.8 mi away
Selina Playa Venao
Selina Playa Venao
#2 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dim's Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dim's Hostal

Property: Dim's Hostal
Address: Central Avenue (Avenida Central), Pedasi, Panama
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dim's Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dim's Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dim`s Hostal Hotel Pedasi
Dim's Hostal Panama/Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing