We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hangout - good food, live music, excellent drinks, superb service”

Restaurante Smiley's
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Pedasi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: American/Panamanian Cuisine in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. Beer, Wine and Liquor. Live Music on Tuesday and Friday nights. If you're a musician feel free to contact us ahead of time and we'll fit you into our venue. Our signature dishes include Slow Smoked Fallin' Off The Bone Ribs, Seared Blackened Tuna, Red Snapper Filet, Smoked Pork Sandwiches and much, much more. We are open everyday except Monday, 12 noon until late. Hope to see you soon. Even if you're not hungry stop by to catch up on the latest information for Pedasi and surrounding areas.
Pedasi, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Hangout - good food, live music, excellent drinks, superb service”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you want the whole package, stop in at Smiley's for a meal, live music on Tuesdays and Fridays (and if you play, join in!), drink specials and a well trained staff that provides a level of service not generally found in Panama. Everything is prepared fresh and comes out nicely presented. NFL games, Basketball, Baseball, Olympics, Soccer, and other sporting events on two TV's. Cold beer, wine, pitchers of Sangria and drink specials. Yes, it is a Gringo hangout but also gets lots of locals, visiting Panamanians and tourist from around the world. Consistently good is the word at Smiley's, be sure to say Hola to John, the owner, let him know that saw this review.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PedasiPundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    176
    59
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canmore
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Seemed to be the place everyone goes”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Once again if you are looking for something from home (North America) you will find it here. This is not typical Panamanian cuisine. Although we did start with the ceviche which was very good we wanted to wait to order our main. The restaurant filled up quickly (lots of English being spoken) as there is live music on Fridays. We had a feeling the kitchen was going to get backed up so we decided to order main courses. We had the ribs and the pulled pork sandwich which were both very good. The music took forever to get started so we ended up not staying for it. Seemed like a very popular spot. The outdoor patio had plenty of seating away from the hustle and bustle inside. The parrots outside also provided us with some entertainment. If you order the "house wine" be sure to check the menu. They have two levels and of course will serve you the more expensive ($2.00 more per glass) if you don't specify. Worth a stop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canmorebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva Gorgona, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great music! Great food!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Good hangout for local expat and visitors. Food is tasty, good selection. Live music two nights a week. It's a favorite for locals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smiley truly makes you smile”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our second trip to Pedasi with travel friends and were very happy to see Smiley's was prospering and better than ever. The variety of food offers something for everyone and our best meals were the smoked ribs and the excellent tuna, even the hamburger was very good. Drinks are mixed well and are inexpensive, two things you rarely find. Our last night in Pedasi was our friend's 65th birthday and John and Smiley were very accommodating to help us hang a banner and allowed us to decorate some tables for a surprise celebration. The band played, providing fun entertainment, and we had Smiley's "birthday flan", which was even better than we remembered (and my husband ranks as the best in the world) A very fun and memorable last night in Pedasi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naples42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheat ridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "Cheers" of Panama”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a fantastic little place. Very local...both expats and locals were at this fun bar during the days we spent in Pedasi. The Michigan connection is alive and well in all parts of the world...including Pedasi, Paname. Go Blue! Music night is a must at this place. Thanks, John, for a welcoming place to enjoy many cervesas!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Smiley's also viewed

Pedasi, Los Santos Province
 
Pedasi, Los Santos Province
Playa Venao, Pedasi
 
Pedasi, Los Santos Province
Playa Venao, Pedasi
 

Been to Restaurante Smiley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing