We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and Music”

Restaurante Smiley's
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Pedasi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: American/Panamanian Cuisine in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. Beer, Wine and Liquor. Live Music on Tuesday and Friday nights. If you're a musician feel free to contact us ahead of time and we'll fit you into our venue. Our signature dishes include Slow Smoked Fallin' Off The Bone Ribs, Seared Blackened Tuna, Red Snapper Filet, Smoked Pork Sandwiches and much, much more. We are open everyday except Monday, 12 noon until late. Hope to see you soon. Even if you're not hungry stop by to catch up on the latest information for Pedasi and surrounding areas.
Fort Meade, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food and Music”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

When we ate there the town was experience some power issues so the only thing you could order was Chicken Fingers - they were good chicken fingers but not usually a menu item I would pick. They had a cool band playing that night and the service was freindly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KimRozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    168
    58
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
des moines
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best Ribs of my 60 years on the planet”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This guy, John, I think is his name, has the best ribs on the planet. We go to KC regularly and eat at Gates' or Aurthur Bryant's every time. We go to the Carolinas once per year and eat Bar-B-Q there as well as Memphis. This character at Smiley's bought his cooker and attached smoker from the Amish in Lancaster Pa. and had it shipped to Pedasi, Panama!
We have at least 50 Bar-B-Q joints in the city where I live and I NEVER order ribs because they ruin them by having them too lean like baby backs, or half of them use mesquite to smoke them like they do in Texas. The quickest way to ruin meat is by letting mesquite near it. This man uses Panama' hardwoods and some fruit wood that does not leave that sticky gunk that dries out meat.
The ribs themselves are very fatty, not like the hormone saturated tasteless, pork that we are now stuck with in the U.S.
My Mississippi grandma raised her own hogs, had her own smokehouse, and hickory was the wood mostly used for smoking. This is the closest thing I've tasted since.
Smiley's uses a commercial seasoning, cooks-smokes the ribs for about 8-10 hours, and the final product is otherworldly. We actually only stopped for a sandwich but he gave us a sample of ribs and then we reordered and made pigs of ourselves.
I would not normally eat or recommend meat in a seafood town but I have to tell the truth, these ribs rocked!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Big portions delicious food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I like the fish! Go for the red snapper. They bring it fresh and nice. Service is fast, people are friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mustafa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Happy place”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very good food, american owner, interesting live music on one occasion. Service could be a bit faster. Good choices for seating, can be outside and somewhat secluded.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torres Novas, Portugal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Went for lunch one day to make up for disappointment at Villa Romana. The food was good and they were going to have music in the evening which, unfortunately due to the awful road to the hotel we would not be able to attend, which was a great shame. Would go again if in Pedasi

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linedanceangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Smiley's also viewed

Pedasi, Los Santos Province
Pedasi, Los Santos Province
 
Playa Venao, Pedasi
 

Been to Restaurante Smiley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing