We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night from hell!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Rosa de Los Vientos
Ranked #6 of 21 Pedasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A night from hell!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We arrived just after 3pm and the owners were not even there.We were given a key from a gal who knew nothing about the place. The room was average with no air conditioning. The website brags about the breezes. We were told to close the patio door due to bugs and the ineffective screen. We were very uncomfortable.The owners didn"t introduce themselves or show us around. We didn't feel welcome. At 2am i went to the washroom only to find a big ugly frog in the toilet. I tried to flush him down with no success. i had to wake up the owner for help. He was very angry and threw the '[--] out, he said it's Panama what do you expect .We are building in the same area and have never had this happen before. I guess it can happen but the rudeness was uncalled for.
We left the next morning and stayed at The Casa De Campo. Fantastic stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3uvero, Owner at La Rosa de Los Vientos, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We do value the opinion of our guests and appreciate their time and effort in reviewing their stay with us. Feedback, good or bad, is of great value to us as it helps us improve our services.
We really feel sorry about the way you felt about your visit. We realize that the “frog incident” was very unpleasant. We do everything possible to avoid this type of incident, but our location, in the middle of nature in a tropical setting, after a week of heavy rain, makes it sometimes difficult. It is a rare occasion but is part of our ecosystem.
Although we try to be always present to greet our guests, we do have sometimes an obligation that takes us away for a few hours. On these occasions there is always a staff member on site to receive our clients. Unfortunately we could not greet you personally at the time of your arrival, but I did meet you once we got back home that same afternoon, and again during breakfast the next morning.
Making all our guests welcome and comfortable is our utmost goal.
We built our house in the beautiful Azuero country side and want to share its still pristine natural setting with our guests.
Again we regret deeply when they leave with such a disappointed feeling.
Isabelle S. Owner Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    22
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
72
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this B&B. The breakfast was great. The room was very clean. We were a bit disappointed with the surf beaches in the neighbourhood, but on the whole our stay in Pedasi was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa5r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights, best benefit/cost place in Pedasi. It is near Toro beach and you can see it from your room. Isabelle and Robert are very friendly and they help you to take tours as Isla Canas to see the turtles, Playa Venao and Isla Iguana. Breakfast is great.
I recommend this place.
Will & Tats

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shimi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here two nights in July 2013. The B&B is located on five acres looking across a field and then off to the Pacific Ocean. Playa El Toro is an easy ten minute walk down the paved road, which passes by some more fields and a small scenic pond. Isabelle and Robert are gracious hosts. Shortly after we arrived, we were sitting on the patio when Robert spotted a humpback whale breaching in the ocean off in the distance and loaned me his binoculars. Again, rooms simple but clean, full breakfast, firm beds, hot water shower worked well. No problems whatsoever using the wifi for our laptops (we had the room closest to the main part of the house) A nice touch was that Isabelle covered the outdoor mirrors of our vehicle with plastic bags when we arrived so the birds wouldn't peck at them and poop on them. And boy did we see and hear lots of birds! The only thing that caused me to rate this "very good" instead of excellent is that, during our stay there was no breeze to speak of (until the morning we left). For us, the ceiling fan in the room was insufficient to keep us cool. We opened the sliding doors to the patio (screened) but could not leave the front door to the room open because it was not screened and it would let the bugs in (I'm highly sensitive to mosquito bites). Had it been screened, I would have had no hesitation to open both doors to allow for some cross ventilation - security did not seem to be a concern at all. Isabelle told me that six months out of the year the north winds blow nonstop, but they were nowhere to be found the nights we were there. I don't think AC is necessary (and if they had it, it would jack up the very reasonable cost of the room), but perhaps they could keep and offer to guests an extra floor fan for those hot nights. But all in all an excellent value and a very nice location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room closest to the main living quarters of the house and had excellent wi fi recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed only 1 night at this small hotel which is located between the Pedasi center (3 min) and the playa del torro (or the bull beach) (3 min). It is possibly the best among the neighboring hotels which I visited just to have a look. It was surely a very short stay but I really liked it. The room/bathroom were simple but very clean, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very homy. I really loved the home made jam and the coffee! The Swiss hotel owners Isabelle and Robert are very friendly hosts and give good advice about the area. The hotel has a good air and positive energy.

Room Tip: All rooms have a patio with very peaceful green landscape around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erjan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed two days at La Rosa de Los Vientos. Robert and Isabelle are the perfect hosts. They a!)re extremely friendly, helpful and full of information about the town of Pedasi and the outlying area. Our room was clean and comfortable with cross breezes from the Pacific, and although there is no air conditioning, as others have pointed out in these reviews, it is really not necessary. The ceiling fan and the breezes are sufficient for a good night's sleep. They serve an absolutely wonderful breakfast with homemade whole wheat bread and homemade jam that is to die for. Play del Torro (Bull Beach) is a ten minute walk away and offers some beautiful scenery. Our hosts pointed out Smiley's Restaurant--owned by an American--where bands play on the weekends (and they are really good bands!). Another evening, we went to Pizza Libra, a great restaurant owned by a young couple from Italy who shipped their oven all the way from Italy. La Rosa de Los Vientos is one of the best places to stay in the entire area and it is very affordable. You will not want to miss this one!

Room Tip: If you are using a wireless connection for the internet, ask for a room close to the office. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danno612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Clean rooms, extremely comfortable beds, view of the ocean and a 5 minute walk to the beach. Add to this hospitable, amicable and helpful hosts and lovely breakfasts of fresh fruit, juice, eggs, toast and the best coffee I had while in Panama. No air-conditioning which you won't miss and no TV which you also will not care about. Imagine drinking your morning coffee on the porch outside your room watching a variety of exotic birds just beyond with the ocean and the newly risen sun as the backdrop. Heavenly.

Room Tip: Only three rooms, our party used two and each was equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambridgevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
6.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#2 of 7 in Pedasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
14.2 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
14.3 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
14.0 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Lajagua
Casa Lajagua
#1 of 21 in Pedasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rosa de Los Vientos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rosa de Los Vientos

Property: La Rosa de Los Vientos
Address: Camino Playa El Toro, Pedasi, Panama
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rosa de Los Vientos (the Rose Wind), is a bed & breakfast located 1 mile from the charming village of Pedasi, and within walking distance to the beach (Playa El Toro). The building, inspired by the area's Spanish colonial style, is set in a beautiful tropical garden. Its 3 spacious rooms have stunning ocean views and open to the covered porch where guests can relax in hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Rosa de Los Vientos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De Los Vientos Hotel Pedasi
La Rosa De Los Vientos Panama/Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing