We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to relax and enjoy the sea and the exelent food”
Review of Hotel Villa Romana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Romana
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pedasi
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
“a place to relax and enjoy the sea and the exelent food”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Villa Romana is a beautiful B&B hotel with a great vew over the Pasific ocean and great climate. It's a cozy house with very confortable rooms and an exelent italian and mediterranean food. and its owners make you feel at home with their great hospitality, It is a pleace to relax and enjoy the sea since it's also a fishing resort .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilviaVolpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    93
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
101
138
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2010

With an outstanding ocean view, Villa Romana is one of the best places to stay while in Pedasi. Friendly environment, great staff and awesome local food made my trip very special and very memorable!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatrizB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Beautiful setting, comfortable rooms, very attentive staff, perfect for a 2-3 days relax trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FILEMON7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Spectacular Ocean Views, excellent food and wines. This is one of the best places i have ever been where I could share my time with nature. Friendly Staff they take care of everything. I would love to come back and stay forever! my children enjoyed all the activities!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GATAEVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

A magical place in an improbable setting... For once the real thing was better tha we expected! Charming, romantic, beautiful hotel. Our Suite had all the comforts of home and the ocean view from our terrace was out of this world with dolphins ans wales! Absolutely recommended for the greatest food we have ever had in Panama!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cony99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Ok so maybe the diamond is a bit rough and under construction but it is well on its way to being absolutely awesome. We did have some issues with the AC and it was very hot and uncomfortable, but the owner Hans is in the process of upgrading the electrical to correct the issue. His wife Andrea is very sweet and acomadating, not to mention very beautiful, as is daughter Sofia.
We stayed with our daughter in one of the suites, which is spacious, has refrigerator, large bathroom, tile shower and is beautifully decorated. The view is out of this world, overlooking the Pacific, complete with crashing waves, numerous birds, and gekos.
The gardens are a work in progress but beautiful even in the dry season.
To top it all off is Stephan. He is the resident 6 star chef...now I know there is no such thing as a 6 star chef, but if there ever was one, He would be the one. Let me tell you this guy can flat out cook. We had the best salads, filet mignon, fish, shasimi, pastries, you name it....out of this world...He is french and cooking is in his blood...thank you Stephan for an incredible culinary experiance. So in short, I hope we are able to return many times over.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viejo_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
316 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

This was our first trip to the Villa Romana. We chose this B&B in Pedesi based on a friends recommendation and the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

My wife and I have now lived in Panama for over 2 years. We live an hour west of the city in the mountains in the town of Sora. It is exactly 280 KM from our house to the B&B. For us, the trip would normally take 4 to 4 ½ hours. We had my wife’s parents with us. The trip is not bad. We were on the 4 lane Panamerica highway for 2 hours and then on the two lane highway to Pedesi. That is the slow portion of the trip.

There are Super 99 stores in Penonome and in Chitre to stop at for bathroom breaks and there is a McDonalds by the Super 99 in Chitre as well. We made it to Pedesi by 12:30 and had lunch at the Isle Iguana restaurant. It is on the left after you have left Pedesi. The food and service were excellent. The four of us ate for under $20. Some things are more like the jumbo shrimp. The rice with chicken is very good and only $3.50.

Following the directions on the Villa Romana web site gets you to the B&B easily. Many have complained about the dirt road. Having lived in Panama for 2 years the road is a typical off the main path road. A standard car can make it in the dry season and I would think it would be able to make it in the rainy season. SUV’s are nice in Panama but you can get through without one. It is the last 1 mile / 1.7 km that is the roughest but then the road is no worse than the high end town of Coronado. In summary, from our stand point, getting to the B&B is easy and not that difficult.

At this time, there is a lot of construction going on. They are adding 3 new units down by the Master Suites and right next to Master Suite 1. They start work at 7 am sharp and work till about 5 pm. Yes there is some noise and it would be worse in the Master Suite. They are also adding a bigger kitchen which was just finishing up on our departure. They are also putting in a rock wall in the circle in the drive way.

Check-in was fast and efficient. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Hans and his lovely wife were not there so we did not meet them until latter. We booked the Junior Suites, room number 3 and 4. The rooms measure approximately 15’ x 15’ with two very comfortable twin beds. They are comfortable… I am 6’ 1” and they are a little short for me but that did not matter. I adjusted the pillows and slept well.

The rooms have nice storage drawers (3) for cloths. A rack for hanging clothes and there were 4 hangers in room 3. There is a shelf above the hangers for additional storage. The room has a nice flat screen TV and satellite TV and a small refrigerator. It came with 2 bottles of water. We could fit 2 – 2 liter jugs of soda and 2 bottles of wine and several 20oz bottles of water. Worked great for us. There was on glass in the room but we always bring plastic cups just in case. I’m sure that they would give you one or two or three to use.

We looked in at the master suites (1 & 2) and the suites (5 & 6). They are bigger with a couches and bigger, private verandas but with all the seating around the property we were more than happy with the junior suites. If the B&B is full, the suites would give you a private area to set and watch the world go by.

The main room has a little bar area where we checked in. They had a large covered area out side of it that seats 6 and a swing that hangs in that area. Very nice. There were additional tables that they had set outside because the weather was so nice and it is the dry season at this time. If it is raining they can place the tables inside the bar area. There is a set of stairs that leads to the second level. Take advantage of that area. There are 8 padded chairs (seat and backs) and three wooden chairs with pillows along with a grand hammock. It is very comfortable, protected and there is a nice breeze there.

The grounds are small but still nice. I love the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks 80 feet below. The pool is small and I would bet if the B&B were full and there are children that it would not be fun in the pool. Since it was just the 6 of us, we had private access to the pool. It was refreshing after a day on the move about the peninsula.

Okay, here is a little secret. Stephan, the chief, and yes he is a chief not a cook, he is on the witness protection program from the USA…. Has to be… There is no way someone with his talent could be cooking here. No offense to Hans. Actually Hans must be a saint for taking in a witness protection person this way…. Okay, so that probably isn’t totally true… The truth is Stephan is a TRUE chief…… First night we had a choice of paella, chicken, or salmon. Three of us had the paella and the other had the chicken. OMG was it great. First, the salad was a true American style salad and was almost big enough for a meal… Hmmmm. The paella was not so much Latin American style as it was French gourmet. Hmmmmm. The calamari was cooked perfect. Now don’t thumb your nose at me if you don’t like calamari. My wife doesn’t either and she loved it. When it is cooked perfect, it is heaven. The rice was creamy and the shrimp were excellent. The chicken was perfect as well and was served with a very delicious carrot side and a huge cup of rise. Desert was a wonderful soft brownie with ice cream… Yummm. We all gave the first night 3 thumbs up each. I don’t know where we found the extra thumb but we gave it a thumbs up as well…

The great part is that Hans and Stephan check by to make sure you are doing well and everything is excellent. They truly care that you are enjoying your meal but they wait to check in between courses. Stephan asked us if the salad was good. Pam said NO. The look on Stephan’s face was priceless. Pam then said it was excellent which it was… Stephan puts his hand on his heart and says with a big smile “you got me…”. The other wait staff who serve the dishes and pickup are excellent, friendly and efficient.

Breakfast the following morning was fine and is typical of what we have had at other B&B’s in Panama. They have fresh fruit, the toast was fair with butter and jams, there were cereals, milks, and yogurt. They had hot tea, coffee, and orange juice to drink. You then choose from cooked eggs, omelets, or pancakes. They also brought around a plate of sweet cakes the first morning. We all had omelets for the hot dish. We all had plenty to eat and at lunch only ate lightly.

For lunch there are several good places in Pedesi. We ate at Dulcerias Yely just as you come into town from the B&B. There is a two story yellow house and a sign that points down the street. It is on the left. They have very reasonably priced sandwiches ($1.75) and a large selection of deserts (0.50 to $1). It was tasty and got us through the day to Stephan’s dinner (Did I mention he is on the witness protection plan…).

As a side note they do have good wireless access in the public areas. The antenna is upstairs in that commons area but you can get it in the dinning area and by the pool.

The second night’s dinner consisted of a salad, Filet Minion skewer with potatoes and a vegetable dish and desert was bananas flambé. It was not what Stephan was hoping for but the fish wasn’t good so he didn’t buy that and went with this. It was excellent.

Our third day was nice however we experienced a joy of Panama. The electricity went out around 7:30ish and didn’t come back until 5:30ish that evening. It was the entire district. Pedesi didn’t have power either so no getting gas or diesel fuel. One good suggestion, when you tank is half full, fill it. Yesterday, the gas stations didn’t have diesel and today they had it but couldn’t pump it. Because I started checking at ½ tank I wasn’t in a panic. Yes this IS a very, very common occurrence in Panama (the gas issues and the electrical issues). Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise…

We are hoping that the tuna is good. Stephan is waiting to see how it goes. We spent most to the going to the local beaches walking and looking for sea shells. We then went to Pedesi for lunch at Café Ric’s on the square by the church in Pedesi. Then we went to Baba’s House to look for shell necklaces and other items. He didn’t have much due to being wiped out from Carnival. It is off the beaten path from the Accell Gas station and a block down from the Fire Station.

We spent the afternoon at the pool and upstairs reading and relaxing until it was dinner time.

Dinner was excellent again. A caprese salad, yellow fin tuna, rice and veggies for the main course and apple pie for desert. It was another excellent meal.

Check out was easy and accurate. We paid with our MasterCard.

Summary: The staff is very efficient and friendly. They all want to make sure you are happy and enjoying your stay. Internet was good and there was plenty of room when we were there to read and relax. The food was incredible and for $15 a person a bargain for the quality and portion. The wines were priced fairly. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable.

A few things. They are still in the construction stage with 3 new building (4 units) and working on the circle in the drive. All are close to the rooms. You will have noise from 7 am till about 5 pm for the next 2 to 5 months. Just understand that. Take a flash light. Good to have. Also, if your gas tank is about half full, look to keep it filled. Finally, Stephan isn’t on the witness protection program. He is an excellent chef. Take time to talk with Hans, his wife and Stephan. They are wonderful.

Enjoy your stay and go with the flow. It is a lovely area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargazerm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
9.0 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
213 reviews
9.1 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
73 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Playita Resort
La Playita Resort
#4 of 4 in Playa Venao
73 reviews
8.8 mi away
Selina Playa Venao
Selina Playa Venao
#2 of 4 in Playa Venao
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Romana

Property: Hotel Villa Romana
Address: Camino a Puerto Escondido | Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Romana is an oceanfront hotel in Puerto Escondido (Pedasi), Panama. It features 21 ocean view suites with air-conditioning, Satellite TV and minibar. The 180 degree ocean view from the main terrace is spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Romana Panama/Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing