We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning location and wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Villa Romana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Romana
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pedasi
Certificate of Excellence
Provence
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A stunning location and wonderful staff”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were looking forward to visiting Pedasi having read so much hype about this area on what is now referred to as the Gold Coast of the Azuero Peninsular. Like much of Panama it will be great once the road, a 4-lane highway, is finished but at the moment it is one contra-flow after another.We were somewhat underwhelmed by Pedasi itself which is often referred to as the quaintest village in Panama.

All this was forgotten once we arrived at Villla Pedasi, which stands high up on a bluff with spectacular 180 degree sea views. Even when it is hot there is always a refreshing sea breeze and the situation of the restaurant and bar takes maximum advantage of this.

Unfortunately, the pool was out of service - they were trying hard to sort the problem out but the water kept going a browny-green. We have yet to swim in a pool in Panama - in all the hotels they seem to have problems keeping the water clear and sparkling.

We ate the first night in the restaurant and were recommended a very nice Chilean chardonnay called "120" which we have been buying subsequently in the wine stores.

We stayed 2 nights and spent one day touring the area - there are lots of uncompleted housing developments here but the boom seems to have stopped in its tracks for the time-being.

When we came to check out we were told that there would be no charge for the meal we had taken in compensation for the problems with the pool and were also told we could have a free night any time we care to come back. Considering we had not made any complaint at all this was totally unexpected and proof of the incredible hospitality you will find at this hotel.

Room Tip: Whilst the rooms nearest the sea have the best views and a nice breeze, the noise from the crashing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    96
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
101
140
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Rented a Villa there first weekend of April, 2013, and we decided to stay one more night; glad they were able to arrange that for us. Went there with my best friend and this was such a wonderful experience. Nice place to relax, and disconnect for a while . We truly enjoy the sound of waves, the beautifl landscape and amazing beaches. Service was excellent, Lilian (the person in charge of the kitchen) even cooked for us, meal that were not on the menu, staff was more than willing to make us happy, very friendly people (Algil, Jaime, etc). I heard about the road conditions, before getting there; but even if we were prepare, bit hard to drive if you dont have a 4x4 :(, will be great if they can get it fixed, but it was worth it.. Owner-Manager Hans was very friendly and willing to mingle with guests. Thanks for the Wine :). Panama is beautiful, and we panamanias should be proud of it. If you are looking for a place to disconnect, relax, and enjoy the beach at the same time, i truly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ocean views room, to the right of the main house (restaurant /deck)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xeni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

From 6 to 8 April 2013, I rented three villas (all of them direct ocean-front) to accommodate my family, especially our grandson. (We had attempted to book Villa Camilla, but understood that toddlers are not welcome). Having reviewed TripAdvisor beforehand, I knew I had to brace myself for the horrible road and leaves in the pool (none were found). The road from Panama to Las Tablas is a highway, in excellent condition, and so is the road that leads to Pedasí and beyond. However, about a mile from the hotel, you make a turn on an unpaved road. With an SUV, and a minimum sense of adventure, this is perfectly manageable and well worth the effort. If that road is good enough for the Prince of Liechtenstein who lives further down, it's good enough for me. Anyway, this lovely boutique hotel is well worth the small sacrifice. The service was very friendly and the food was good. Most notably the pasta, but it's a small wonder since Hans, the owner, is Italian. I had the good fortune to meet him and ask him about his name, which is not typically Italian (I invite you to ask him too, if you have the chance!). If you need more variety, Pedasí is about 20 minutes away. If you enjoy espresso, the bar is equipped with an Italian espresso machine, something I did not expect. The (surfing) waves were crashing right in front of our villas, all equipped with a porch and a hammock, and the view is as amazing as you would expect, framed by palm trees. To access the beach, you need to walk just a few hundred yards and there you have it: all to yourself. The rooms were very nice, fresh and clean. Satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. A small caveat: cell phone service is only available via Movistar, but if you carry a laptop or an iPad, you can obviously use Skype for example.

Room Tip: Get a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panamawise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The location is awesome, the sound of the waves and the ocean views from the villages are incredible. There are walking distance beaches and beautiful landscapes around. The place is very original and fits well with the surroundings. The Staff is friendly and enough for a small place. This is not an ordinary resort, this a small private boutique hotel for people who love the ocean and has style. Looking foward to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birding-Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torres Novas, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We chose this hotel as we wanted to discover the Pedasi area. The views were breathtaking and the rooms were ok but with the road in the unmade state that it is we did not feel safe in venturing out at night. If we had a 4 x 4 maybe we would have chanced it. If the menu at the restaurant had been more varied it may have not been a problem.After nearly 5 hours travel from Farallon we decided to eat there on our first night. The second night after a day sightseeing the menu was exactly the same. So that meant we had our main meal out lunchtime and thanks to the lovely Bakery in Pedasi had nibbles in the evening.The pool was always full of leaves, which we usually cleared out.There was far too much chlorine in it and made swimming uncomfortable. Pool towels after the first 2 days had to be begged for. The fridge in the room never worked, which also restricted what we could bring back, even though we reported it twice and that ended up with a jiggle of the wires and working for 10 minutes.The only thing that helped was Jaime the night manager and Julie the new waitress. Both were excellent and a breath of fresh air. But 10 days was was too much. You can`t just rely on the view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loose2Boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torres Novas, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I so wish I could give this place a good review. The setting is stunning and truly looks like a piece of paradise. First the good things, the views and setting, our room was spacious and had a hammock on the terrace, the beds are comfortable, the beaches are truly wonderful. However, the pool was always full of leaves which we cleared out ourselves every time we got in and it is over chlorinated. Pool towels were out and ready for the first few days but after that became non existent and had to almost be begged for. Dinner was the same every night and with such a limited menu was monotonous (fine if you're only there for 2 nights max), and on the last 2 nights there was no chef at all and we were the only guests in the whole hotel (should have known something was up as even the geckos moved out of our room by then). The fridge didn't work for the whole 10 days (and yes we did inform them). The road to the hotel is truly awful and we live in a country that does not have a good road system, it made it virtually impossible to go out at night as this had to be negotiated and we did not have a 4 x 4. Breakfast was erratic to say the least and on the penultimate morning (only us in the hotel), the staff ate most of the stuff, so one cereal, 1 piece of bread each, no jam or butter. On the last night in our room my partner went to the bar to get some drinks (nothing else to do), the young man on duty insisted on bringing them to our room and then apologised for all the problems we had had (even ended up with no hot water for shower the night before as gas ran out (he did change it as soon as told in the dark, but he was really the only member of staff who really seemed to care that we were paying (and paying a lot) for this hotel. He said he would talk to the owner and see if he could get the few meals we had eaten there taken off our bill in compensation, and said that when we left next morning the hotel was closing to finish the building works and sort out problems (too late for us). I would like to thank Jaime for his efforts over the 10 days, he is a credit to the place and also Julie who was a new young waitress for a week of our stay and had enthusiasm and infectious fun. These two young people made our stay bearable, without them we would have walked away. I really hope that when this place opens again it has sorted out all the problems and gets back on track, because this could actually be paradise if it does, I don't think I will be going back again anytime soon though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank linedanceangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Upon Gdriving through the gate we were amazed by the spectacular views. Road in from main drag was a bit of a challenge, but well worth it. Rooms were clean, well laid out, food was very good and staff very pleasant and knowledgable.

Room Tip: All casitas had a view of the water and were very clean and well maintained. Would not hesitate to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
9.1 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
9.0 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
218 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
6.4 mi away
Casa Lajagua
Casa Lajagua
#1 of 19 in Pedasi
372 reviews
8.8 mi away
Selina Playa Venao
Selina Playa Venao
#2 of 4 in Playa Venao
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Romana

Property: Hotel Villa Romana
Address: Camino a Puerto Escondido | Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Romana is an oceanfront hotel in Puerto Escondido (Pedasi), Panama. It features 21 ocean view suites with air-conditioning, Satellite TV and minibar. The 180 degree ocean view from the main terrace is spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Romana Panama/Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing