We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Hotel Villa Romana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Romana
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pedasi
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We live in Panama and I never have high expectations for lodging here, but Villa Romana was a surprise. Bravo to owners for not compromising the quality! The rooms are constructed in the way that they stay cool even during the day: we hardly used any AC. The mattresses are very comfortable, the room and bathroom are beautifully designed and furnished, and then the details: french doors, curtains, the hammock on the deck... And THE view. We have a early-rising toddler, so the restaurant hours didn't fit us too well (they open around 9 for breakfast and only after 7pm for dinner) and we had to snack a lot, which was not ideal. Luckily, there was a mini-fridge to store our supplies in. The pool is great and made of concrete, which meant that our child didn't slip on it like he would've on tile. The nearby beach may appear not suitable for swimming, but we noted a sandy place during low tide and returned during high tide and had a blast playing in shallow waves.

Room Tip: We stayed in No.7 and it was big, with two bed and a futon, private and cool. I'd recommend it f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    96
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
101
140
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama, Panama
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my first trip to Pedasi ever and I am panamanian. Wasn't sure what to expect but was happily surprised to arrive to a place that made me feel somewhere in Tuscany but in Panama!!!
The staff was friendly, attentive and amicable. The food AMAIZING!!! The view OUT OF THIS WORLD a mixture of Tuscany and Big Sur, CA. They did all they could to please us as much as possible. How could I resist saying no to Villa Romana? It is simple IMPOSSIBLE!!!
My regards to the owners who were super special with all their guests.
I recommend everyone to check out playita resort beach which was a gem for sunbathing, snorkeling, scuba, or just swimming. THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: If you are tall make sure you ask for a queen size bed!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania_L_12188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were a little worried we wouldn't find the place, especially when we were on the last bit of road that almost requires a 4-wheel drive. We were glad our small suv had good clearance that's for sure. Once we arrived we thought it was all worth it. Beautiful views, nice clean and air conditioned cabana, great meals and wonderful staff. The owners were so friendly and very willing to spend their time with us to share all the information that we needed to learn about the area. We are travelling through Panama and found this the best stop after 2 months on the road. In fact, we stayed 2 nights beyond what we had planned for. The only reason we don't rate this hotel/B&B at a 5 is because of the road in and because the toilet fkusher needs some repair. We would highly recommend this property to any of our friends and family, and hope to return again soon.

Mike and Janet from Canada

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panamatravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Came here after getting a coupon through Oferta Simple. Was not sure what to expect. After arriving the staff there were very pleasant and the room was better than I expected. It is a very modern little cabina we stayed in with a wonderful view of the sea. We spent the afternoon on the local beach which was a 20 minute walk away. In the evening we enjoyed a three course dinner which was better than what you expect in most five star restaurants. The cost was under $40 for two which was great as well. The only downside during our trip was the outage of power in the middle of the night and the location as it really is in the middle of know where and you need a car to go anywhere. If you want a relaxing get-away and not planning to leave the place then this is your place.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything was really cool, we ate in a delicious way, the view is beyond----the service very kind, and the structure reminds me Toscana, i recommend it to go with family or couple, you will enjoy a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Although you have to drive a little while, it's worth every mile! We loved the relaxing spirit and the view over the sea. Great breakfast and courteous service! Especially the restaurant is recommendable, a french cook and owner finds a perfect match of fresh ingredients and excellent preparation.
We always would come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Breathtaking site and scenery.Impecable in every sense....Staff was friendly, courteous and genuinely interested in making your stay as pleasant as possible! Even though the concept of "cocina de autor" is welcome, some hints on the menu to be offered would be appreciated.Great experience, great value....!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
9.1 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
9.0 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
218 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
6.4 mi away
Casa Lajagua
Casa Lajagua
#1 of 19 in Pedasi
372 reviews
8.8 mi away
Selina Playa Venao
Selina Playa Venao
#2 of 4 in Playa Venao
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Romana

Property: Hotel Villa Romana
Address: Camino a Puerto Escondido | Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Romana is an oceanfront hotel in Puerto Escondido (Pedasi), Panama. It features 21 ocean view suites with air-conditioning, Satellite TV and minibar. The 180 degree ocean view from the main terrace is spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Romana Panama/Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing