We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable clean and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Dona Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Dona Maria
Ranked #9 of 20 Pedasi B&B and Inns
Okanagan, British Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in November. We were greeted warmly by the owner. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, served on an outdoor patio. The hostal is right in Pedasi and convenient to everything. We found the staff to be friendly and accommodating . Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawmill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
24
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hostal Dona Maria is a great place to stay in Pedasi. While the rooms are typical of a hostal, they are extremely clean and there are wonderful common seating areas all over the property. Their staff is excellent, friendly, helpful, and even willing to give Spanish lessons to those of us who are challenged! Breakfast is included, and not just a continental breakfast, but sit down and be served your choice of about seven or eight different full breakfast choices. A great value, and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westerly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived to Pedasi, we inquired about a few rooms, the owner was more than happy to show us the room and gave us a good price then happily wave as we walked away to check out a few more places. She was right, we would be back.. We stayed for 4 nights in this quaint place. The owner treated us like family inviting us in to her living room showing us her photographs of sons that had served, etc. The garden in the back was great, with a grill, and table , hammocks, etc. We mat great friends from Sapin, that we planned excursion to Isla Iguana and had an amazing time. We all cooked out that night and it was magic. Great food, Great friends, safe place, wonderful host..the only place I would stay in Pedasi.. The owner told me to call her Tia from now on, (Auntie in Spanish) which was super sweet. Clean, Ac, Hot shower, let us borrow dishes , knives, etc. for our bbq with friends. would def. return. I am half Panamanian, half American, live in Florida, definately the only place to stay in Pedasi!! xoxo Dona Maria

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelakaCoralSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice place ... Comfortable, adequate room, large - open air comfortable sitting/balcony area. Decent price. Breakfast not included, but would have been nice if at least coffee was included. Well located on the towns main street.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from Panama in which we spent 3 nights in Pedasi at Hostal Dona Maria. The room was small but very clean and cozy, breakfast was great, and the site was exceptional. On our second night the power had gone out all over Pedasi and as we sat outside the host was kind enough to light candles and lanterns for us as we enjoyed a few Panama's! The hosts were very sweet and could not have asked for a better place to stay during our visit to beautiful Pedasi which is one of the nicest places I have ever visited clean, friendly, small, and beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for 4 nights this month. Very clean and so helpful. If you just want to hang out and read you have four very nice patios to choose from including hammocks. The air conditioning worked very well in our room #1. Breakfast is served on the downstairs patio and you have a menu choice of seven items. All include fresh juice, coffe or tea, large serving of fresh fruit and toast. When sight seeing everyday, what more can you ask for? It is located in the middle of this quiant town and you can walk everywhere and feel very safe. All of the restaurants we tried were very good.
We would book again when we return. Only complaint they don't have a pool, but we did go to the beach often.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobalou19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had our room reserved at a price, but it was $10 more per night when we were paying our bill at the end of our stay. The room was great and we were the only ones staying in our section which gave us a lot of privacy but we had to go over to the other building for wi-fi to work. The people who owned and worked at the place were so nice we never said anything and they put together an Isla Iguana boat trip with a responsible guy.
If you do the Isla Iguana trip make sure you go at least 3 hours after low tide or it is very difficult to get out to snorkel past the shallows.
I have to say their included breakfast at Donia Maria's was the worst we had in 4 weeks in Panama'. I hate to say it because they really make an effort, but we tried everything they offered and none was satisfying.
The refrigerator for guest use did not work so we couldn't put beer or soda or water in which is kind of important to us.
The Bed and Breakfast is centrally located in the middle of town but $75 per night was too much for what we got.

Room Tip: Reconfirm price of room while checking in even if you have been quoted a rate by email. I think we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#2 of 7 in Pedasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
13.1 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
0.4 mi away
Casa Lajagua
Casa Lajagua
#1 of 20 in Pedasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dim's Hostal
Dim's Hostal
#4 of 20 in Pedasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
13.1 mi away
Selina Playa Venao
Selina Playa Venao
#2 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Campo Pedasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dona Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Maria

Property: Hostal Dona Maria
Address: Avenida Central | In front of Caja de Ahorros Bank, Pedasi, Panama
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Dona Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Main Street in Pedasi, in the province of Los Santos in the Republic of Panama in front of the Caja de Ahorros Bank. We offer 6 rooms with private bathroom, hot water, air conditioning, tv, and option of a queen size or full size beds in every room. There are two balconies located in the front and rear with a lovely view of the town. Secured parking is available in the back. Optional breakfast served and WI-FI internet access is available. We speak Spanish and English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Dona Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Dona Maria Panama/Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing