We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nice hotel, clean! Need a larger area for breakfast. The pull out couch was more like a cot, which was not good for our group. If we traveled here again, I would stay at this facility. We were unable to use the pool, but it looked nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LeslieJ04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn and appreciate you writing a review. We hope you're able to come back to the Black Hills and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 521 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice hotel in a fun town. Everything clean and rooms cleaned quickly each day. Pool and hot tub heater not working 1st day called to let us know working the next day. Nice miniature golf across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobRisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your vacation to the Black Hills. Thank you for writing a review, and we hope you can stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was very clean. Did not like how the room is set up, bathtub and toilet are in a tight space if your a big person it would be extremely hard for you to get in and out the space. I also did not like the location of their pool. The breakfast where very good. People working there also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you're able to come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Custer. We spent the first night at a comparable motel chain that had received better reviews on a travel web-site, and then moved to Best Western because our first-choice motel was booked for those nights. Best Western surpassed the higher rated motel in every way. The higher rated motel was dated and depressing, with a terrible breakfast. The Best Western was clean and comfortable, with cheerful rooms and a much better than average motel breakfast. I'm glad the other motel didn't have room for us!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Macquesten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We are so glad you chose to stay with us at the Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn and that we were able to exceed your expectations! We hope you are able to come back again and stay with us! We appreciate you writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Check in process takes forever. Staff not very friendly. The breakfast is cheap, little tiny biscuits, little tiny peices of ham rolled up in a little bit of egg. Poor layout not much seating. Couldn't even get to the coffee or front desk for people standing in line. The room was okay but overall it was just an okay stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Buzzard069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and let us know what we need to work on. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wasn't awesome, but was adequate for our trip. Price was reasonable. Room seemed clean enough, but we had a little trouble with our A/C unit, as it spit out a bunch of dust and debris when we first turned it on.

The WiFi internet connection didn't work hardly at all. It was slow when we connected, but mostly knocked our devices off every few minutes and we'd have to retry over and over to get back on, only to get knocked off again. We eventually just stayed on our cell phones and used cell signal data instead. Minor frustration.

Staff was accommodating, but foreign and somewhat hard to understand. Breakfast was fine, and our kids loved being able to "take what you want, but eat what you take." I thought it could've been a little higher quality, but it was acceptable.

Spider or moth here and there in the room, but it's Custer, SD, and it's a motel, so that is to be expected.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us when you were on vacation in Custer, SD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, but the room had an odor and was very stuff even with the air conditioner on. I took for granted there would be a microwave and refrigerator, which there wasn't, so was disappointed. There was a collection of dead flies in the bathroom vanity light; there was a smoke detector, but had no battery or cover, so it was non-functioning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lineka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We'll look into the issues you mentioned and get them corrected right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.4 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn

Address: 310 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Price Range: $106 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Hotel Custer
Best Western Custer
Custer Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing