We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“where not to stay in Custer unless its not biker time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Custer
aspen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“where not to stay in Custer unless its not biker time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I asked for a quiet room, the biker fest was on, the bikers left at 6:45 am. The Wi Fi was slow and when I asked they said they would call me back I'm still waiting. The breakfast was average to serving Biscuits and Gravy. The sausage and eggs on the first day was ok, but the sausage was swimming in grease. they charge extra for bike week, Why? isn't that why they are there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank skiaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Sorry about the noise, but with 500,000 + bikers in the Black Hills during that week it tends to be a little noisy. Also, sorry the breakfast was not up to your standards. That is something we can work on, we appreciate your concerns. Hope to see you again while visiting the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    134
    112
    35
    16
See reviews for
172
155
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very clean!! Only complaint no elevator for second floor. Pool was great and staff friendly. Need microwave for breakfast area because water not hot enough for oatmeal. Loved location and rooms were big :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy you enjoyed your spacious and clean room. Sorry about the elevator. Thank you for your input on the microwave, makes sense. Hope to see you again while visiting the Custer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knox, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 3 days. I'll agree that the rooms are a bit outdated & over used. When we checked in on 7-13-13 Clay was @ the desk. He was very nice and had soooo many demands on him, such as cable tv issues in the different rooms, running towels, and other ammenities, people checking-in, others waiting to ask their ?'s. He was the ONLY one we saw! He was awesome!!! It seems its a lot of motel to handle by one person. Whew!! As stated in other reviews, it is very easy to access all the surrounding sites, caves, scenic routes (even better on a HD trike). Best wishes to Clay on going into the Reserves! Proud to be an American! Also liked the chairs outside. Happy traveling! Sincerely, ELK

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Earlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our Hotel. We were a bit short handed that evening, and happy to here that Clay was doing his best. Hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, AZ, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is dated. It is like a 1950's motel. The breakfast is pretty bad. The eggs were watery and the eating area in the lobby was unattractive. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. It is a short ride to Custer State Park, the Crazy Horse Monument and Mount Rushmore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Sorry to hear that your stay was not up to standards. Also, sorry that our breakfast did not meet your needs. We will strive to correct these problems as take pride in our property. Again, sorry for the unpleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Hills, IL, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were very comfortable in the Best Western in Custer. The rooms were smaller than other rooms we've had, and it is now unusual to have a hotel that opens to the outside (motel) much anymore. I was not unhappy with the experience, I thought the rooms in Rochester were a better value for the money, being a bit cheaper per night. But I am aware that the Custer area can get very crowded. If we had not had a mix up on the days we were staying in our cabin, we would not have needed a room for the night of July 25th at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy that you had a comfortable stay with us. Again, thanks and we hope to see you the next time you visit the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Not the newest appearing hotel, but the room was pleasant and the beds were comfortable and very convenient for our trip planning of the Black Hill area.Very pleasant experience except taking time to look up my reward points. Rushed as others came in at same time. The breakfast was very well organized and a lot of people were accommodated at the same time. We always enjoy a Best Western Stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer. And thank you for being a loyal Best Western traveler. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, happy we were able to help you with your reward points. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property and we hope the see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYNDON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Overall a good experience. If you don't get into the "main" building, your drive-up entrance is on a fairly steep slope, so be ready for it. Not much variety of items at breakfast, but it was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank dromine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will try to bring a little more variety to our breakfast, but do have to follow Best Western guidelines also. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn
Address: 310 W Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730-1938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Hotel Custer
Best Western Custer
Custer Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing